We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing mountain retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Witches Falls Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here at the end of October for our anniversary and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The owners were very helpful and provided us with anything we needed but also left us well alone to enjoy our stay.
I always look for Stays that are private, self-contained and luxurious and Witches Falls didn't disappoint. The bathroom is gorgeous and makes you feel as though you're outside in the rainforest. The double spa bath is actually very spacious for two people and perfect with some music and complimentary port.
The are some lovely walks just across the road, a look out less than 100m away and three wineries within walking distance. There is also a great day spa just around the corner. You will never have to jump in your car during your stay.
The fresh cooked bread is great for breaky too. We indulged in a picnic hamper and cheese platter during our stay and they were very generous, enough to keep us loaded up on snacks for the three nights.
This is the perfect getaway, we will definitely go again.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked equally private and secluded. any room you choose will be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JyC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 281 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a lovely place and genuine hosts! Far from the plastered-on smiles that you can get at some city accommodation, this was an almost startling experience. Leave expectations of stiff formality at the door because you'll be greeted with a big smile! David knows the area, he isn't afraid to make recommendations about where to go for your walks (something I tend to like doing) and where to find that perfect sunset. I can say that this place will stand out for me as the best spot that my friend and I stayed and I can only wish that I lived closer so we could revisit it and bring more people to experience it.

Location, location, location. Witches Falls Cottages HAS it. You can retreat to your quiet cottage and relax or you can go the short distance (close enough to walk in most instances or drive if you so desire) to any number of places. Even better, if you're like me and want a slow start on your vacation, you have the experience of having delicious hampers full of breakfast delivered to the door of your cottage retreat. We tried just about one of everything (breakfast, BBQ breakfast, champagne breakfast) but I'll say the breakfast was my favourite. I don't think anyone who gets that one would be disappointed!

We were there for four nights so there was a good amount of hemming, hawing and research that went into our selection of Witches Falls Cottages. I have to say that it was the fellow travelers' photos that helped convince me that this place could be called home for a few brief but lovely evenings. That huge tub and that amazing shower with the sunlight pouring in? Believe it. I haven't spent so much time in a tub in years! :D

PS: Where do I find more of that lovely port that was waiting for us in the room?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamlinMarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a beautiful place! From the moment you get there, it is a fantastic experience. The hosts are so friendly and helpful! Nothing is too much trouble!! The day we were there was raining, and I think that made the whole experience even more enjoyable! The cottage was SO romantic and cosy. Nothing quite like a gorgeous cheese platter and bottle of wine in front of the fire in the rain! Loved the bathroom! Highly recommend the BBQ dinner basket, and the breakfast hamper.....delicious!
We have stayed at numerous cabins over the years, and I can honestly say I have never had such a wonderful experience!
LOVED IT!!!!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A few months ago, we stayed at Witches Falls Cottages with another couple. Our experience and theirs' was faultless. From the easy-going welcome, to the cottage layout, the outdoor shower, the private deck and BBQ, fireplace, complimentary port, and breakfast hamper - it was superb. Dining venues and walking tracks are a short drive - or across the road! The folks here have got the recipe just right, down to the smallest detail. Well done

Room Tip: Flick a coin - you can't lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were beyond words as we were shown into our gorgeous very private cottage for our wedding anniversary recently. I agree, David and Daniela are absolutely wonderful hosts who make you feel so at home and nothing is any trouble, and their advice and ideas for daily activities and restaurants (The Old Church especially) are honest, plentiful and so wide-ranging. A great highlight is the enormous breakfasts each day, YUM!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Exactly as advertised AND MORE! A perfect getaway in cosy cottages in a friendly mountain village. David & Daniela are perfect hosts and are happy to spoil their guests with special treats. Ideally situated - you can walk to National Parks, main street shops and wineries. Lots to do for our 3 days, did not want to leave. We will definitely be back again! E & B, Goondiwindi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EroyandBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Beautiful little cottages in Mt Tamborine. Close to wineries and restaurants. Fireplace in cottage as well as a massive spa! Breakfast hampers each morning as well. Highly recommend for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: All cottages are the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessa_l29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiefwizard, Owner at Witches Falls Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thanks for choosing Witches Falls Cottages for your getaway on Tamborine Mountain and for taking the time to write a review which we greatly appreciate.
We hope to see you again soon. Daniela & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
2.5 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
1.3 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamborine Gardens
Tamborine Gardens
#3 of 3 in North Tamborine
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witches Falls Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witches Falls Cottages

Address: Corner Hartley and Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range: $195 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witches Falls Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully different, intimate stone cottages tucked away on beautiful, tranquil Tamborine Mountain in the Gold Coast Hinterland, 30 minutes from the beach and less than an hour from Brisbane. Witches Falls Cottages is the ideal location for a romantic getaway or short break and for those wishing to explore the magnificent Tamborine National Park. The charming hand-built cottages are nestled in flowering scented gardens and towering rose gums –unwind, revive and rejuvenate the spirit and soul as you breathe fresh mountain air, sip champage and lie back in your glass-roofed spa to gaze at the stars on a clear night. By day, your spa experience becomes at-one with nature as the clear-glass walls blend inside with the forest outside. Witches Falls Cottages is situated right next door to Queensland’s oldest National Park where you find the rare Albert Lyrebirds. From your private cottage you can walk to three of the wineries, enjoy a relaxed lunch with a glass of wine, you can walk to antique shops and the village where you find shops and restaurants which are open in the evening for dinner. Points of interest ● Hand-crafted - each character cottage offers intimate split-level living with a stone gable, bullnose veranda, polished timber floors, cosy fireplace and a double spa, perfect for a romantic retreat. ● Splendid Breakfast - delight in hampers with deliciously fresh warm homemade bread and fresh fruit, delivered each morning to the privacy of your cottage. ● Romance - secluded, relaxing cottages, set in a magical location help set the scene for a romantic stay, where you can retreat from the world in total privacy or venture out when you choose. ● Exciting Packages - not just accommodation - many unique & special packages to select from - spoil & indulge yourself in style ● 10 Stars for Hospitality - nice, friendly, incredibly helpful and hospitable hosts, David & Daniela are always on hand to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Witches Falls Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing