We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Romantic Retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Witches Falls Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Witches Falls Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magical Romantic Retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary at Witches Falls Cottages. Our lovely hosts David and Daniela made us feel so welcome upon arrival and helped us settle into the gorgeous chalet. There is so much to do on Mount Tamborine and with our fantastic hosts suggestions we ended up doing a Hop on/Hop off tour, the beautiful Skywalk, the Glow Worm caves and lots of wine tasting at the various wineries scattered around the Mountain.

The chalet was really comfortable, with all the amenities required for a pleasurable stay. The bed was so nice it was difficult to get up of a morning, but the BBQ Breakfast hamper made it all worthwhile! The German sausages were to die for and the bacon mouth watering! The BBQ Breakfast hamper is a must have! And the spa bath was just heavenly...

Overall, we had a fantastic 2 night stay and it really made our anniversary so special. Highly recommended I cannot wait to go back! Thank you to David and Daniela- you guys rock!

Room Tip: Book early, or for mid week. Speak to the hosts who cannot do enough for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonehelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    21
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
217
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Excellent service & very comfortable, well appointed cottages. Plenty to do in the local vicinity. Great spot for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

I work away from home 3 out of 4 weeks and so I am very tired and grumpy when I do get home.
I booked a weekend at Witches Falls Cottages sight unseen and was not sure what to expect.
We were made very welcome on arrival and to say we had a relaxing time is an understatement, what with the spa and the fire to keep us warm we could not have asked for more.
A tip if the weather is fine do try the self cook barby breakfast with the fresh baked bread. We will be back thanks team!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

From the warm hearted, friendly hosts , through to the cosy rooms - ours full of character - and again to the wonderful scerenity that is Tambourine Mountain, our escape was nothing short of perfection. We WILL be back again!! Thank you so much David and Daniella, your bed and breakfast is the high point of our trip to Australia so far!

And as if that wasn't enough, to wake the next morning, nestled in the woods to the smell of fresh baked bread and an equally fresh and delicious breakfast, it was the little touches that made our experience that much more special! I could write forever, but I suggest that you are best to go find out for yourself!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarednKaitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Thank you David and Daniela for making our special occasion memorable.
Your cottages are cosy, hygenically clean, contain luxury beauty products to maintain your comfort. The fire place is romantic and the natural plants that surround the spa give it that special touch of being closer to the rainforest.
We hope to repeat our experience because there is so much to explore at Mt Tamborine.
The wineries, walks, gourmet food in a relaxed environment.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank loretta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We just spent two nights at Witches Falls Cottages and thanks to the setting, our hosts and glorious Tamborine Mountain, we feel recharged and ready to take on our busy lives again. David and Daniela are such genuine thoughtful hosts who clearly love the mountain and all it has to offer. They had lots of suggestions as to what we could do and experience but also reminded us that doing nothing has its merits as well! The fireplace, the spa and a good book certainly took care of that for a couple of hours. It's not the Sofitel, but then it doesn't pretend to be, which actually adds to its charm - entirely in keeping with the laid back, unpretentious character of Tamborine. Thanks to their referrals, we watched the sunset from just across the road, ate beautiful duck and pork belly dishes at The Old Church restaurant, had great coffee at The Kitchen Table (going back there for a picnic hamper & luxe desserts next time - beautifully styled interior) and did some cheese and wine tasting in the village. Even managed to get in a 3km rainforest walk which is a must after that enormous breakfast. Love, love, loved the bread (which was still warm). Thanks for a very special weekend. Will be telling everyone we know to book their next anniversary getaway with you.

Room Tip: All cottages are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banora Point,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We arrived to a welcoming cottage, with a fire ready to light and music playing softly. The mood was set. Our host gave us a brief explanation of how things worked, a guide to the local area and left us to it. The breakfast hamper arrived discreetly the next morning with the scent of fresh bread wafting invitingly. We included a wine tour in our package, which proved to be entertaining and educational. The whole experience was relaxing and refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootyecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
1.5 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.4 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#3 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witches Falls Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witches Falls Cottages

Property: Witches Falls Cottages
Address: Corner Hartley and Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witches Falls Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully different, intimate stone cottages tucked away on beautiful, tranquil Tamborine Mountain in the Gold Coast Hinterland, 30 minutes from the beach and less than an hour from Brisbane. Witches Falls Cottages is the ideal location for a romantic getaway or short break and for those wishing to explore the magnificent Tamborine National Park. The charming hand-built cottages are nestled in flowering scented gardens and towering rose gums –unwind, revive and rejuvenate the spirit and soul as you breathe fresh mountain air, sip champage and lie back in your glass-roofed spa to gaze at the stars on a clear night. By day, your spa experience becomes at-one with nature as the clear-glass walls blend inside with the forest outside. Witches Falls Cottages is situated right next door to Queensland’s oldest National Park where you find the rare Albert Lyrebirds. From your private cottage you can walk to three of the wineries, enjoy a relaxed lunch with a glass of wine, you can walk to antique shops and the village where you find shops and restaurants which are open in the evening for dinner. Points of interest ● Hand-crafted - each character cottage offers intimate split-level living with a stone gable, bullnose veranda, polished timber floors, cosy fireplace and a double spa, perfect for a romantic retreat. ● Splendid Breakfast - delight in hampers with deliciously fresh warm homemade bread and fresh fruit, delivered each morning to the privacy of your cottage. ● Romance - secluded, relaxing cottages, set in a magical location help set the scene for a romantic stay, where you can retreat from the world in total privacy or venture out when you choose. ● Exciting Packages - not just accommodation - many unique & special packages to select from - spoil & indulge yourself in style ● 10 Stars for Hospitality - nice, friendly, incredibly helpful and hospitable hosts, David & Daniela are always on hand to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Witches Falls Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing