We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Nambour, Australia
1 review
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had the most amazing stay. Richard and Cheryl were so warm and welcoming. It was so lovely to arrive with bubbly in our room, and have everything ready for us. We have no complaints at all. The stay was 5 star and we want to spread the good word. The room was so lovely, the views breathtaking! Breakfast was just so yummy and such great service. Would recommend to anyone! Thanks for such a lovely first two nights on our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
188
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful decor, not only in the rooms but in the rest of the house which you have full use of. DIY fires perfect for a winter getaway. Stunning views from the back deck overlooking the mountains, perfect to enjoy your gourmet purchases from the down the road at the many wineries. For a last minute booking it was a wonderful weekend getaway, thanks to the wonderful hosts, I hope we will be back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank louisa_dyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We just got married at Avocado Sunset. What a perfect location on the balcony with views over the scenic rim. Cheryl & Richard were amazing hosts and made our wedding day very special. We stayed in the Daintree room which was immaculate and had an incredible spa in the enormous bathroom. Waking up to the sounds of the birds with the fantastic views was incredible followed by an amazing breakfast.
We will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Meon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were attending a funeral on Mt Tamborine so not the happiest of circumstances. Cheryl and Richard managed to squeeze us in which was great because sometimes it is hard to just book a one night stay. We really appreciated that and the fact that on the day of our arrival we asked that our daughter stay with us too. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave us a put you up bed even though the room really only suited two. We thought that was very good of them. The views are fantastic, a lovely quiet position and plenty of birdsong to listen too. The fire was very welcoming in the sitting room and good selection of DVD's and reading material.Cheryl and Richard are definitely the sort of people you want as your hosts and we felt extremely comfortable. Our breakfast was of a high standard, loved the fresh fruit salad and bircher Muesli. Only disappointing thing was our evening meal, we ordered the Rogan Josh and i only had one cube of meat in the entire dish! I suspect this was an oversight though as overall the food was very good .at breakfast time.. I would definately recommend this establishment, if you can reserve the first two rooms with the view i reckon it is worth the extra expense. Cheryl and Richard were a pleasure and i would definitely go back. .

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is one of the very best bookings, we have ever made. We planned to stay in the area for 2 days, however, we ended up staying in Acocado Sunset for 5 days.
This is a “resort” with a special atmosphere. There is a magnificent view and a location near to numerous walks in the rainforest. Rooms and facilities were excellent. We had high expectations based upon the photos on the website and these were fulfilled. Besides all this we experienced an outstanding hospitality and friendliness from the hosts Richard and Cheryl.
Thanks for this memorable holiday stay.
Anne and Freddy, Copenhagen Denmark

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lippert_CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wizz54, Owner at Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you both for your wonderful review. I think Cheryl and I enjoyed your company as much as you enjoyed staying with us.
One of the best aspects of owning and running a B&B is meeting so many different people from all walks of life and from all around the world, we love it!!
We really hope to see you both this way again,down under, if not in your own country which we would love to visit in the future.
Richard and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

A My fiance and myself had a night in the Daintree Room - absolutely immaculate room, beautiful decor capturing the tranquility of the rainforest. A spacious ensuite with a huge spa was fantastic and the shower is invigorating. Very comfy bed with a private balcony to overlook the mountains and valley was special. (NB. all guests have use of the main lounge area which has the same spectacular view from the back deck.) We were fortunate to have the common lounge and dining area all to ourselves for a nightcap in front of the log fire - very cosy and romantic. Breaky was great and the owners attended to our every need. A lovely place just for relaxing and not doing much at all but just chilling. Were here 5 years ago - was great then and has been improved even more. We'd come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The African & the Daintree have their own private balcony at the back of the house whereas the D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinjAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

This b+b is a special place - I keep thinking about getting back there again - the only change I would ask for is seperate smaller tables for breakfast so I don't have to make conversation at breakfast

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
2.1 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
3.7 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#3 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Address: 186 Beacon Rd, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 60 minutes from Coolangatta Airport, (75 minutes from Brisbane), Avocado Sunset is surrounded by Queensland National Parks. Enjoy the cool summertime breezes and crisp clear winter sunshine while you snuggle beside your log fire. Each individually themed room has queen bed with en-suite and double spa baths, prices fully inclusive per room including traditional B&B hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing