We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheryl and Richard made you feel right at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheryl and Richard made you feel right at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

You couldn't hope for a more obliging B&B host and hostess. My mother and I visited Mt Tamborine to attend a family wedding. When I asked if I could have my cousins over for tea, Cheryl did not hesitate to say yes, and set out the tea and biscuits at no charge. My cousins were very pleased with the welcome, and Cheryl and Richard lingered long enough for friendly chats before unobtrusively leaving us to our chitter-chatter.

Cheryl's breakfasts include avocado, which comes from her garden (when in season). And the cooked eggs are from her free range chooks in the backyard (also when in season). Richard and Cheryl take pride in sourcing local ingredients, which are always of excellent quality – so very good and delicious.

Stayed October 2010
Helpful?
Thank datamarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
183
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Coast NSW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

I took my partner for a birthday treat and that it was. We stayed in the stunning Daintree Room, clean, bright and modern ajoining the balcony where you can enjoy a wine to watch the sun go down. David, his wife and their little girl were perfect hosts. They provided a delightful and substantial breakfast, a brief chat if you so desired and would then retire leaving us to our own devices. My partner and I have found a great little get away where we can relax and have time out. We will be sure to return. Much better value and atmosphere than a 5star hotel on the gold coast in our opinion and Mt Tamborine is certainly worth a visit!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed recently for a two night weekend. Everything you need to get away from it all. Your hostscare there to help, but in seperate quarters so you are left to yourself.

Private room and bathroom, where you will not be disturbed, plus your own deck to take in the tropical canopy and bird life, while being amazed at the distant view.

After a days sight seeing etc. Bring back a bottle of wine and some cheese to unwind and see the sun set. Magic.

Breakfast is a shared long table with a great selection from fruit salad to a full cooked affair with plenty of choice. Don't forget to try the Black Pudding!

We will be going back and have already recommended to other.

Thank you

Andrew & Josie

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wizz54, Owner at Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Dear Andrew and Josie
Thanks for your lovely comments, we really apreciate them. We hope to see you both again in the future, maybe try a different themed room next time!
Regards Richard and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

We had such an amazing time, thanks Cheryl and Richard for making us feel so welcome and waiting on us hand and foot! Great breakfast, beatiful room, breathtaking views and let's not forget the in-room dinner that was the perfect finishing touch to our day. We will definately be back again!

Simon and Sophie

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Avocado Sunset to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We had never been to a B&B before and hoped that our experience would be a positive one. Well, after having stayed with Richard and Cheryl in their gorgeous home, I must say that even 5 star hotels seem bland compared to the way we were spoiled at Avocado Sunset. The bar is very high now for future B&B's. The rooms was outsanding, large, clean and with every amenity (we stayed in the Daintree room), the bed was comfortable and the service was friendly. The breakfasts were a real treat, and the views were superb. We had such a great time, we really didn't want to leave. We can't recommend the Avocado Sunset highly enough. Thanks Richard and Cheryl for making memories of our weekend special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

What aq lovely place to stay we had all come over from scotland for my daughter wedding The rooms wher really all stunning as where the views .The couple who run this place put a lot of hard work and nothing was any trouble . they even cooked a lovely meal for us all the night before the wedding. Everything was so stress free as they mor e or less gave us the run of their house with the photographer and hair and make up people al over the place . Althought I do think they quite enjoyed seeing everyone in their kilts and could not do enough to make us all feel at ease. What a wonderful experience it was and no doubt we will be back again. from the NICOL AND PATERSON FAMILY SCOTLAND

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank broomlands10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

spent a romantic night away with hubby last night and absolutely loved everything about it. they had it all covered - from electric blankets to heated towel racks. we stayed in the daintree room and it was perfect. we could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lozgus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
2.1 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
21.3 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
1.6 mi away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Address: 186 Beacon Rd, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 60 minutes from Coolangatta Airport, (75 minutes from Brisbane), Avocado Sunset is surrounded by Queensland National Parks. Enjoy the cool summertime breezes and crisp clear winter sunshine while you snuggle beside your log fire. Each individually themed room has queen bed with en-suite and double spa baths, prices fully inclusive per room including traditional B&B hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing