We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Break Perfect Place”
Review of Camelot Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camelot Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in "Tamborine " one of the 3 cottages to celebrate our 47th wedding anniversary. The location is perfectly situated and the beautifully kept grounds are very restful and peaceful. The huge spa bath was magnificent complete with lovely soft bath robes to wear after the relaxing spa. The king sized bed and perfect pillows were so comfortable. The cottage is well equipped and decor tastefully done. Peter was the perfect host while his wife Janice was overseas visiting grandchildren when we stayed 4 nights mid week this month. Peter we hope that you enjoy your break in Singapore visiting grandchildren.

Room Tip: Special rates mid week
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hi David & M;
Thank you for your kind review that we feel very privileged to receive, after being advised of your experience in the hospitality industry - very high praise indeed.
It was also good to chat to you about the Australian rating systems and the dangers of 'self rating' too highly against the market norm - a problem facing much of the industry today which needs to rate in line with guest expectations and budgets.
Anyway - many thanks for your time in writing us up and we wish you safe travels.
J&P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Camelot Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 130 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our cottage, the 'Tamborine' was perfect for our 3 day stay. We stayed on the 'stay for 3 - pay for 2', deal.

Everything about this place was superb. The cottage was spotless, tidy, well maintained and great attention was given to detail, which made our stay very comfortable. There was a huge spa, king sized bed, full kitchen/eating area with dishwasher and fireplace. Beautiful trees all around the grounds made our stay a very pleasant one! Little extras like fresh fruit on the table and fresh flowers, added a homely touch. The cottage also had a reverse cycle air con/ heater as well as the fireplace.

Peter, the owner went out his way to acquaint us with the area, and show us how to use all the various extras.

We will certainly be back at some future time and will recommend highly it to others.

Room Tip: There are only 3 cottages but other room type accommodation is also available. All 3 cottages looke...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi Larry & J
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are glad you 'came South' to see our beautiful mountain.
Midweek is a great time to visit as our guests avoid the 'weekend day trippers' up from the coast and our special midweek deals (only available via our website) offer huge value. The National Park walks are also a lot quieter midweek and wildlife is a lot easier to find as there are fewer walkers disturbing the peace. Guests reported sighting two Albert Lyrebirds on Wednesday last week at Witches Falls - a rare sighting indeed and a giant skink plus a land mullet yesterday.

It was a pleasure to see you and we hope to see you again.
Safe travels
P&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Camelot Cottages for three nights and had a lovely time. The accommodation is in a good location and is quiet and very private. The cabin was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with nice touches like fresh flowers, fresh milk, ground coffee and fruit waiting for us on arrival. Peter, the owner, was really helpful, particularly with information on where to eat and which local walks were worthwhile. Would definitely go again and will recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hi Lyn;
Thank you for writing us up on TA. We are delighted to have helped you and pleased that you booked one of our TA advertised specials - shown only on TA and our own website. So many customers just jump onto one of the direct channels without seeing what the property has to offer first through our own website. - It saved you heaps!
Always a pleasure.
Safe travels
P&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My new wife and I had a couple of nights away to recover from our wedding and Camelot Cottages was a perfect choice. The cottages are immaculate and the surrounding grounds are beautifully kept and make a nice place to sit and enjoy the sounds of the birds and simply recharge.
The inside of our cottage was spotless, cozy but still spaciously designed to suit a couple.
Some of the most notable features:
His and Hers bathroom washtub and vanity
An amazingly comfortable king size bed
King size spa
The privacy
The kitchen, the bathroom, in fact the entire cottage felt clean. Not just given a clean out before the next occupants arrived but spotless.
Upon arrival we noted that there were complimentary chocolates, biscuits, fresh milk, tea and coffee as well as fruit waiting for us.
Peter, one of the owners of the cottages, is incredibly helpful with where to find the best places to eat and is an all round great host.
One of the cottages is designed for wheelchair access so Camelot Cottages would be a perfect place for a couple with mobility concerns to spend time enjoying Mount Tambourine.
My wife and I cannot thank Peter enough for a fantastic stay. I would happily recommend Camelot Cottages to anyone who is looking for a time out in a beautiful setting.
And call Peter for the best price BEFORE looking on-line.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hi S&J;
Thanks for taking the time to check out TA and write us up.
We love to take couples especially those, like yourselves, on honeymoon and it certainly sounds like you enjoyed our product.
You have raised an interesting issue about phoning for best prices. Whereas we work extensively with many direct booking websites and they provide a great 'shop front' for us, many travellers are aware of the large commission accommodation properties have to pay and negotiate within that expected commission range to phone and book at a better price directly. Private owners, like ourselves also put on 'specials' on our own website that cannot be put onto the direct booking channels and it always pays to look at properties own websites before you book with anyone else online. We know online is easier, if less personal, however its surprising what deals you can negotiate on the phone as we do when we go away!
Safe travels
P&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We loved our stay to Camelot the owners are just lovely and I must mention their generosity in offering their personal dvd library to their guests and the use of umbrellas. We had to purchase some whilst in Noosa and donated ours when we left Camelot. The weather was average during our stay which meant we got great use out of our fire place. The cottage is a bit like a granny flat converted to a cottage it would have a nicer feel if the safety rails in the toilet and shower were taken out otherwise the cottage if just lovely with a comfortable bed and couch with a kitchenette area and fire place. The cottages are opposite the polish place which has the most spectacular views I highly recommend going and having one of their decadent polish hot chocolates and take in the view

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krystal w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hi Krystal;
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write us up on TA. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our St Bernard cottage 'just lovely'.

To get planning permission for new cottages in our shire we had to have one out of three disabled compliant with a ramp, wheelchair access, a shower seat and grab rails. We cannot hide this from guests as we are open to council inspection at any time and we are delighted to receive disadvantaged clients from time to time who make full use of our set up. As most other cottage properties on the mountain are old they do not need to adhere to the new regulations and until recently we were proud to have the only disabled compliant facility on the mountain. Now as our colleague properties expand the council is insisting on a one Disabled Compliant in three rule for either rooms or cottages! Our other two cottages have no grab rails and are 'closed bathrooms' with the same huge spa bath. We allocate our customers in the order they book and we regularly get booked out. We love your term 'granny flat' but in reality you are still getting a superb product that is 'just lovely' in whichever cottage you get allocated.
With regard to the views across the road, most of our guests walk the 80 metres to enjoy the FREE sunset from the hang glider lookout - or as an addition we offer a 'fizz and blanket sunset' from the best vantage point on the mountain.
Let us know when you are coming again and we will see if you can better enjoy one of our other cottages.
Happy travels
Janice & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked a cottage for two nights and did not want to leave! The cottage was pristine clean as well as cosy and comfortable. The double spa bath was gorgeous and the king size bed was very comfortable. We had the best sleep we have had in ages and woke to brilliant birdsong. Peter and Janice are wonderful hosts and were extremely helpful (thanks for the avos Peter ;). We will definately be telling all our friends to come and stay and will be returning hopefully in the not too distant future. Thanks for a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GidgetBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi G;
Thanks for the fabulous review and we appreciate your comments. Being well off the road Camelot is much quieter than many of the roadside accommodation properties on the Mountain so its just the birds that wake you up. Also, have a look at our midweek specials for your next stay as shown on trip advisor - but you will have to call us directly as you wont find them advertised anywhere else.
Safe travels
P&J
PS: All our guests get free Avo's in season (June - January) so enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked two nights in a cottage. The cottage is spacious, with a couch perfect for relaxing, fire, kitchen, lovely bed and the biggest spa bath I've seen indoors. It's brilliantly clean and welcoming and perfectly located to check out all the delights of Mount Tamborine. Peter, one of the owners, is super friendly and gave lots of welcome advice and recommendations. Beautiful grounds and lots privacy. Loved this!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi Hayley;
Lovely to hear from you and delighted we were able to assist in your special arrangements.
Our spa baths get a lot of positive comments as does our cleanliness and we appreciate your positive comments in this regard. Privacy is subjective but we do take great care NOT to allow third parties or guests to have visitors on the premises while we have other guests staying with us. This ensures your security and privacy and we treat every guest as special!
See you soon and safe travels
J&P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Tamborine hotels
2.2 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
272 reviews
2.2 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
3.5 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Cottages

Address: 322 Main Western Rd, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range: $113 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camelot Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelot Cottages, with AAAT 4.5 stars, offers the finest certified accommodation and hospitality on the Mountain. Our three luxury cottages have been designed for privacy offering the utmost in comfort for couples to enjoy and reconnect. Huge spa baths, KS beds, log fire plus a leather chaise settee with LCD TV, DVD/VCR player and fully equipped kitchen.In a separate guest wing attached to our single storey farmhouse we offer the very best in 'Room only' accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Camelot Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing