We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Songbirds Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner on Sunday night. From the moment we walked in we were impressed, beautiful rainforest and beautiful decor, along with a beautiful smile from a lovely waitress. We had the 5 course degustation with matching wines, delicious food, impeccable presentation, perfectly matched wines that we hadn't tried before and all of this with a gorgeous soft cool breeze softly scented by the surrounding rainforest. Wonderful. Thankyou for the experience it was worth every cent.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RnRP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
How wonderful, many thanks for making time to write your review. We look so forward to having you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    27
    4
    9
    6
See reviews for
14
104
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Hi, my partner and I stayed at Songbirds for our honeymoon for 3 nights, we went straight their after our wedding reception and were treated to a special dinner as we didn't feel like like eating the 5 course meal and I wanted to still wear my wedding dress :). We spent alot of time relaxing in the double spa and used the fire the whole time we were their. On the next we went and had the 5 course meal and were not disappointed, the service excellent, the food beautiful and I loved the songbird cocktails yummy!!! On our last morning we enjoyed going for a walk up to the Vegie garden and as we were allowed to take some, we picked some lovely herbs,limes,lemons, chilli's and a big pumpkin which we used to make soup when we got home, delicious! Everything about our stay was excellent and I want to thank the songbird staff for making our time feel so special xo Ruth and Gavin Saunders

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepper4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
You were so gorgeous in your beautiful wedding gown. We love our guests to take some of the organic fruit, veggies, and herbs with them and it's lovely that they were put to good use. It was such a pleasure to have you both and we hope to see you again for your anniversary. Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toowoomba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have just spent 3 wonderful days winding down at Songbirds. Set in a private and beautiful rainforest setting, you start to relax the moment you enter your villa. They have a fabulous large tub to soak in whilst you listen to the birdsong all around. A stroll through the property reveals a well thought out and abundant vegetable garden. We ate here 2 of the nights and the food was faultless, 2 different degustation menus were on offer and each was a delicious adventure for the palate. The staff are very friendly and helpful, clearly enjoy a good team spirit and appreciate their surroundings. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It's always lovely to have guests that enjoy what we offer and we loved having you to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I have visited Songbirds for lunch on several occasions and love the stunning setting and superb food. Saturday April 5th was our wedding anniversary and where better to have a celebration lunch (or so we thought) than Songbirds?
The service was extremely poor, if not inadequate, and the waiting staff inexperienced. The two waiters on duty looked stressed and were clearly unable to cope with the number of diners, which included two large groups of people. We were surprised that given that given the large number of reservations more staff had not been deployed.
Poor service is not something we would expect at Songbirds.
However, much as the food (when it finally arrived) was delicious we will not be rushing back after this disappointing experience.

Room Tip: We did not stay here. Only ate in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 180Bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Yes we had a problem on Saturday unfortunately, while most guest were very happy we had a couple that service was not up to Songbirds standard. Being a destination restaurant we have very few well trained staff living close ,by and not many that are willing to drive 45 minutes each way especially just for a lunch or dinner service. We had one floor staff member on annual leave and one call in sick that day and yes our staff were under pressure and I am so sorry that your service was affected. Lessons learnt all around, hospitality is a tough industry as it requires perfection for a 3 hour period for lunch and again for dinner, guests are paying for it and deserve it ….
we certainly try to achieve this, 99% of the time we do, last Saturday 2 tables suffered and I'm very sorry that yours was one of them. I'm thrilled you were at least able to experience and enjoy the food and I so hope that you will try us again, as you say it's been good on past visits, and I'm sure this is just a one off and it will be great if you come and try us again. The ambience at Songbirds is always fabulous, give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had dinner at the Songbirds restaraunt last winter and were so delighted with everything, the food was absolutely delicious, service fantastic and a beautifully romantic environment. We stated at the time that we would love to come and stay there. It took us a little while but my partner surprised me with a night there for my 40th birthday in January. We could only stay one night as I had family from interstate visiting but it was wonderful, peaceful and relaxing. We dined in the restaraunt which as before was absolutely divine. The villa was amazing, a lovely spa, the bottle of wine on arrival is a nice touch. Nothing was too much trouble! We left saying to each other that we will need to come and spend the weekend. So I am very much looking forward to taking my partner there in April for our anniversary, can't wait to enjoy a relaxing weekend in a beautiful place.
Thankyou!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shireen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks so much for making time to do a lovely review for us. We'll look so forward to having you for the 2 night stay for your anniversary in April. The first morning the kookaburras can be a little deafening but by the second morning they're lovely as you're more used to listening to them - that's one of the benefits of a 2 night stay. There's lots to do on the mountain - we'll give you a map and brochures for some of our favourite places. We have the best little gallery up here that's also a bookshop and a coffee shop which you probably didn't have time to see when last in. Also our favourite winery is next door - you can order a bottle of red from them and a platter from the gallery and sit outside in the sun (hopefully) and enjoy both which is a lovely way to spend an afternoon. See you in April, Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Songbirds was so peaceful & relaxing. The accommodation was beautiful, set into the rainforest with only the birdlife & frogs for company. We dined in the restaurant on both nights and the food & service was excellent. I would recommend the property to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing break away from the hectic lifestyle we all live in.
Ian, the Duke & wife

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for making time to write such a lovely review after staying with us. I love that you dined both nights too. There's heaps of variety on the current menu so I'm sure you would have been able to try some of our favourites dishes. I hope you got up to the organic gardens to have a wonder around… there's plenty of limes at present falling on the ground so we encourage guests to take some home with them. Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We went to Songbirds for our anniversary and stayed just one night...We both wish we had stayed longer; or at least had arrived earlier in the day. it was beautiful, peaceful, restful, and romantic. Although you are in Mt Tamborine, once you drive down the drive through the front entrance shrouded in greenery, you could be anywhere. It is very private and tucked away from the touristy part of the mountain. It is clear when you hit the entrance to the restaurant and reception, that a great deal of time and energy went into the design and creation of this large property.
The rooms are quaint and have most everything you might need including spa bath for two, bathrobes and slippers, candles, a coffee plunger,and umbrellas. There was also a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived - a thoughtful touch from the owner.
The rooms also have character... If you are looking for the sterile 5 star resort experience, this place might not be for you.
There is a gorgeous walkway to the restaurant that is lit at night and you walk through a row of bamboo and assorted botanical wonders to the outdoor/indoor Port Douglas or Bali inspired restaurant. On the night we were there a fire was burning in the fireplace and we enjoyed a glass of Moet while we waiting for our table... magic.
The food has an Asian fusian theme (as others have mentioned) and is creative, delicious, light, and original. Many of the vegetables and herbs that go into the food come from their own garden - which you can view if you walk the property. We enjoyed several courses (including dessert), so much that we went for an evening walk afterwards.
The service was extremely personal but it was a Friday evening and pretty quiet. Our waiter had only been working there for 3 weeks but he was attentive, knowledgeable, and very professional.
Songbirds is really more of an experience than a destination. It is magic for the soul and a perfect escape from the busyness of day to day life.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
What a lovely review, many thanks for making the time to write it and for enjoying so much of what we try to offer our guests. I do hope we have the pleasure of having you back with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Tamborine hotels
1.1 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 8 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songbirds Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songbirds Rainforest Retreat

Property: Songbirds Rainforest Retreat
Address: Tamborine Mountain Road | P.O. Box 275, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Songbirds Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Songbirds Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing