We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great setting, ok food, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Songbirds Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great setting, ok food, poor service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Really nice setting but the service was not good.

1. Our waitress was really nice and sweet, but clearly had no training or knew almost nothing about the menu.

2. I ordered mid strength beer (because I was driving) and got served full strength beer...

3. There was a very long wait for drinks and coffee, at least 20 minutes to get an espresso after dinner...

4. The food used to have really nice presentation but today it was just like any other restaurant.

This used to be our "go to" restaurant that we took our parents/ friends to when they were visiting but it was not the same this time. I feel like Songbirds has lost its X factor and that sucks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonasmannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
While I do apologise deeply for you getting the wrong beer, you were given a great table but complained about the music and demanded it be turned down when all other guests were happy. You ordered 2 Stolli Vodka with a few drops of vermouth AND 2 Markers Mark WITH olives… ummm, saves paying for 2 Martinis. You also ordered only 2 entrees, one side salad, and 2 main meals between 5 adults - this is hardly enough to be able to comment - especially on us loosing our X factor. We had so many people that day come to our chef at the pass and comment that the food they've just eaten was some of the best they have ever had at Songbirds. I was in the restaurant on this night and we had, as always, so many very other really happy diners - sorry we will no longer be your "go-to" restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    28
    4
    9
    6
See reviews for
14
109
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Overnight was simply not long enough. The cabin was terrific. It was large, friendly and well equipped. A pleasure to stay in. There were some nice little touches that showed they cared about your stay. Had to be a little careful on the road up to the cabins but then my car is quite low to the ground. Great experience. Happy to recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisV1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks Louise, I'm thrilled you enjoyed your special time with us. Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Songbirds to celebrate my birthday and we had a wonderful lunch followed by amazing massages and then a delicious dinner. The staff were very professional and the food...each course was absolutely delicious. The luxury villa accommodation is very large in size and I loved the privacy. It is easy to see why Songbirds is a multi-award winning restaurant. Thank you to the staff at Songbirds ... totally enjoyable!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Though worth the trip, Songbirds restaurant is a bit of a trek from Brisbane or Gold Coast. Which is what makes staying at the resort all the more a treat. Didn't like having to wait until 9am for our breakfast basket but is was good once it arrived.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

great rooms, good food, lousy restaurant service. Don't buy wine by the glass, amounts are not a standard drink.

Contacted owner/manager re: service issues & comments were not accepted, basically accused of lying.
would never go here again, in fact have used other retreats in the area for company functions

Room Tip: don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeffRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We're thrilled you liked the villas and the food, but disappointed to hear that you had a problem with service in the restaurant. There is no official industry standard pour, however many 'pubs' pour 100ml, and many restaurants 120 -150mls. We ALWAYS pour 150ml for our red and white wine, 120ml for sparkling, and 100ml for sake.. I have talked with all staff after we received your review and none of them can remember a complaint being received re this issue, they've checked back and cannot find anyone staying with us with a similar name since 2007, maybe it was back then, or maybe you were booked under another name??? With larger glasses people sometimes think they are getting less wine poured for their money. Our glasses are lovely but are larger then maybe you are used to elsewhere. You put 150ml in a lovely larger glass and it can look half empty. 150ml is equivalent to 1.5 standard drinks and it would be irresponsible for us to pour more then this amount as many guests rely on driving and it would increase their consumption of alcohol. IF this is a genuine complaint please email me (bonnie@songbirds.com.au) and share with me when you complained and to whom so I can understand and deal with the issue in more depth. I'm very happy to shout you a glass of wine if you want to come down and discuss this directly so I can show you our pours. WE DO NOT POUR UNDER 150ml and this amount is very generous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it couldn't have been more perfect. To wake up to the sounds of birds as sunlight filters through the rainforest is totally awesome ! We stayed 3 nights - enjoyed a 5 star restaurant experience on Saturday evening with a very attentive and professional waiter, Luke, who couldn't have done more for us!!! It just doesn't get any better than this with the shops of Tamborine 5 minutes' away when you're ready for them! I've had the best peaceful sleep here!We will definitely return soon &
recommend this to friends, family and overseas visitors with total confidence!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for sharing you experience with us. We love having couples like you to look after and hope to have you back to stay again sometime. Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

were desperate to get away for night for some R&R! my friend had been telling me to visit songbirds for years. The accommodation is fairly expensive , however it is unique and so fair enough. i called a few different places on the mountain and to be honest they sounded quite rude. So decided to go ahead and spoil our selves at songbirds. We were met at reception by a genuine and lovely woman who told us about songbirds and gave us our keys. We had lunch in the restaurant and on arrival we were met by Bonnie, sat by the open fire and offered wine until we were ready to dine, it was a perfect welcome and well received! we had the 5 course menus and wine match. Over all the experience was excellent!!! The service from Luke was warm, professional and friendly and we had a few laughs with Him too. The food and wine selection was really excellent and garden setting was beautiful!!! The cabins were really well laid out, Well furnished and have a balcony, we actually sat outside and watched the super moon rise, listened to the wildlife while sipping on lovely wine! they have the BEST bed and linen set we have ever sleep in!!!! So comfy we slept in and nearly missed checkout! The complimentary wine, fire place and spa bath were great too.
Over all I highly rate songbirds, it's a great place to chill out and enjoy life :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
1.5 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
358 reviews
3.6 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#4 of 6 in North Tamborine
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songbirds Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songbirds Rainforest Retreat

Property: Songbirds Rainforest Retreat
Address: Tamborine Mountain Road | P.O. Box 275, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Songbirds Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Songbirds Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing