We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Tamborine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodleigh Homestead B & B
western australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Please be advised that much better and cheaper accommodation can be found on the mountain. On arrival extremely disappointed with this establishment as it sounded like a reasonable place to stay on the advertising material and on the website. The motel like room that we had looked like it had received no maintenance for years. Cobwebs were dangling from the cornices and the walls covered with dust. My wife and I spent at least 2 hours cleaning/disinfecting and making the place habitable before we could settle in. Many things were broken, some locks didn't work, doors were hanging off or didn't close properly. The gas "wood fire" didn't work. The electric oil heater supplied looked like it had seen much better days and gave off very little heat. There were holes in some of the walls. Shrubs were growing out of the gutters. Couldn't see out of the kitchen window because of dirt/cobwebs - looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for years. There was no telephone/hair dryer/washing machine or even a dish cloth. Tried to use the supplied vacuum cleaner to clean the bedroom but the smell that emanated from this machine was terrible. The units in the homestead itself look more like prison cells with security grills over the windows. One look tells you to forget about the pool or the barbeque. The only thing that can be recommended is the views to the valley below and to the gold coast however be aware that the valley is actually a defence training ground and you will most probably be woken early most mornings (as we were) to the sound of automatic gunfire or exploding munitions. Overall the best part about it was leaving. Be warned!

  • Liked — Views to the valley
  • Disliked — Dirty room/ Lack of cleaning/ maintainance
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niftynev_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    3
    10
    10
See reviews for
14
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

On arrival at 6.15 at night there was only a sign with our name and the room number - no welcome at all!

The "Suite" that we had booked online and paid full price - $150 per night - was nothing more than a grubby motel room underneath a wing of similar buildings. The romantic breakfast was a tray of sausages and bacon pre shrunk wrapped and some eggs and bread in the fridge. The cutlery draw had a dried up dead spider in it so we doubt that the room had been used recently. The jam and butter satchels had been eaten by something and there was a dirty old towel on the front verandah and an old chair frame jammed between the retaining wall and the wall of our room. "Shear luxury I hear you say!"

We tripped over all the dirty linen in bags ready for collection on the way out - what a disappointment!

We booked Woodleigh Homestead through Roamfree and didn't get a confirmation email - a bad omen! We didn't bother staying - it was a dump of a place and I wouldn't expect my wife to sleep there!

We didn't bother trying for a refund as the level of professionalism was non existent. We'll put this down to bad experience and I really should have checked Trip Advisor BEFORE booking! Never again!!!

  • Liked — zip
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanW-QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Tamborine hotels

Baden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2008

When we turned up at the place on Saturday afternoon they told us that unfortunately they had entered our booking for the wrong month and that they had no rooms available. They send us and our 9-months-old baby away, simply saying “we are sorry, an error like this never happened before, but we really have nothing else available, errors are human”. We didn’t even get any help to find us another place!! Obviously the mountain was full on Saturday and we could only find a dodgy, overpriced b&b for the night...

I strongly recommend to book another place. The easy-going and relaxed Australian style with “get over it” comments may be typical for Queensland, but it is no help to tourist who rely on their bookings.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2008

I totally agree with the other reviews! The location of Woodleigh was beautiful with views of the Gold Coast and surrounding mountains and valleys however... the standard of the room was disappointing. I specifically wanted a fireplace and a spa and I'm quite sure I was confirmed both on the phone alas, there was no fireplace and there was no plug for the spa!!! When I rang the manager for a spare plug they were 'not on site' and it was 'too late' to get one anyway. Pretty disappointing! I also wasn't impressed with the do-it-yourself breakfast and the crockery/cutlery was dirty and not fit for use. If a bit more effort was put into cleaning the rooms up and the service was stepped up a notch or two then the price would be suitable.

  • Liked — The views and bush setting
  • Disliked — The quality of the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

The descriptions sound great but you'll be dissappointed.
The whole place needs a clean and a spruce-up.
The pool was dirty, full of leaves, a no go area. The rooms are big and have all the amenities described but everything is dated and a bit dingy. We could hear the people above us especially when they got "intimate".
There was a big spider complete with an established nest under the bed. We left the "do it yourself breakfast" and just boiled the eggs and had toast. You have to clean up and dispose of any rubbish yourselves or you get fined.
We had bad weather whilst we were there so had no views whatssoever (something to bear in mind).
There was no one to greet us nor indeed was there anyone there reponsible while we were there. My 10 year old son said the best bit was leaving, oh yes and we were in a Luxury suite.
My wife compained by contacting a mobile contact no. only to be told he had not had any complaints before, umm.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank HoffCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I found the accommodation at the Woodleigh Homestead to be outdated, and in definite need of some upgrading and maintenance. At almost $150 per night, it was well overpriced for the standard of accommodation. The place also felt like it needed a good clean. There were hairs left in the mouldy bathroom, a used piece of soap left on the bedside table and overall it felt like it could do with a lick of paint and a good tidy up. The blinds across the front door were also missing panels, and needed replacing. I would've only expected to pay a maximum of $80 per night for the standard of accommodation that was provided.

That being said, it was in a lovely location.

Wouldn't recommend it as good value for money accommodation.

  • Liked — Nice views
  • Disliked — It was not clean!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
0.0 mi away
Aaronlee Retreat
Aaronlee Retreat
#2 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
217 reviews
5.3 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
260 reviews
2.2 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
3.4 mi away
The Castle on Tamborine
The Castle on Tamborine
#6 of 9 in North Tamborine
32 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodleigh Homestead B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodleigh Homestead B & B

Property: Woodleigh Homestead B & B
Address: 13 Munro Ct | Tamborine Mountain, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in North Tamborine
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing