We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Tamborine
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at the Bungunyah Manor Resort. The whole place was quite something. The rooms were cosy and very clean. Restaurant was lovely and food was extremely tasty. The continental breakfast was yummy too. On the Saturday night there was a lovely violinist "Frank" who was playing and I could of listened to him all night. Close to the Gallery Walk. All up a great weekend and would recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heslop89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 131 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family of four had a very comfortable night at Bungunyah Manor recently. We had a wedding to attend at a nearby winery and it proved to be a handy place to stay. Kerrie was very helpful in providing us with a trundle bed as well as the beautiful four poster bed and sofa bed which made our two adult children very happy! The suite was bigger than I expected. As well as the bedroom and lounge areas there was a well equipped bathroom with a spacious walk in wardrobe which was great for hanging up our wedding clothes. We enjoyed the continental buffet breakfast and will definitely return next time we are staying at Mt Tamborine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacificwoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like we were special guests. Our Christmas in July 7 course "Gold" meal was to die for, every mouthful a delight - We were very full at the end! You will never go hungry at Bungunyah Manor. The room was gorgeous, and everything exceptionally clean and tidy - and so quiet! The entertainment was a wonderful violinist called Frank. To our surprise he was absolutley fantastic - played everything from classical to Irish to pop, and engaged us all night. The continental breakfast the following morning was very pleasant. We thank Kerrie and all the very friendly and efficient staff for a wonderful weekend experience and we would recommend Bungunyah Manor to anyone wanting a really nice time on Tamborine Mountain. We will certainly be returning in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Spent two nights celebrating our wedding anniversary at Bungunyah and had a wonderful time. The food was fantastic and after 7 courses we were very full. The staff were great and the continental buffet breakfast was delightful. Rooms lovely and tidy. Close to Gallery Walk and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I booked a group of fourteen to stay with two extra persons for the Silver Dinner Menu at Bungunyah Manor Resort for Christmas in July. I can honestly say from the moment we booked in till the moment we left everyone of our group throughly enjoyed themselves.

The service was great, food extremely good and the entertainment was second to none. I would not hesitate to book again and have already made enquiries about another one of their weekends.

The accommodation was also very good and could find no fault whatsoever, had a fabulous weekend.

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in the Christmas Room, was a nice touch for Christmas in July.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPRICE1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Fawlty Towers Experience - A group of four, we decided to have the full 'Christmas in July' seven course dinner experience. Looking back on the experience, we all agree that the service was friendly and warm with an eclectic group of staff chatting to us throughout the night. We were also impressed with the effort the restaurant had undertaken to deliver a Christmas in July theme with the decorations, Christmas bon bons, santa hats and the themed menu. Unfortunately, the actual meal was horrible with each course progressively worse than the one preceding. The mulled wine just tasted like aniseed. The aniseed vapours felt like chemical burns in the throat when taking a sip of the hot drink. The ‘hot dinner rolls’ actually constituted of a (stale) loaf of bread which had been carved into smaller slabs and then put under the grill. The first entrée was the venison and mushroom pies. Let’s be honest here – they were party pies. No more, no less. The accompanying wild berry sauce was raspberry jam. I don’t eat pork, but I’m advised the smoked champagne ham course was not enjoyable. Apparently the asparagus in this dish was really woody (like the ends hadn’t been trimmed before placing in the dish) and the sauce tasted like it was straight out of the bottle. The next course was described as being ‘oven roasted breast of turkey’ however it came out in rectangular slabs so giving it the appearance of spam. The texture of the meat was similar to spam but the taste was not identifiable. The closest we could agree on was some kind of white meat which had been cured and processed. Even the sides of stuffing and roast vegetables had a pre-cooked the frozen taste and texture. The last course was a petit four style dish with slices of white Christmas, mini fruit mince pies and rum balls. This was the dish I had been waiting for the whole 7 courses as white Christmas is a childhood favourite. Unfortunately for me when I bit into the long awaited white Christmas I was greeted with a long hair. The funniest point of the night was letting the staff know there was a hair in the dessert. Their initial reaction was to ask what colour the hair was (does it matter?!) before asking if we would like to take a container of the slices home with us...sigh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zappo153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KERRIE G, General Manager at Bungunyah Manor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

This table of 4 dined with us on Saturday 20/7/2013 on our 7 Course Christmas in July
Menu. This Menu is.

1. Mulled wine (brewed by Chef on the day) and canapés freshly made by
the Chef on the day.
2. The first entrée is Venison & Mushroom tarlett served with with berry garnish
(not raspberry jam)
3. The second entrée is Seared plump bay roe on scallops with rosettes
of Tasmanian Smoked Salmon on a petit salad with raspberry reduction.
4. The third entree, is fresh smoked shaved leg ham off the bone with fresh
warm asparagus, lemon myrtle hollandaise sauce (not bottled sauce)
and cherry tomatoes
5. The Main course is over roasted Turkey breast (not processed turkey)
served with traditional stuffing, chestnuts, peaches, cranberry sauce
& turkey jus, fresh garden vegetables and roast potatoes
(not precooked or frozen)
6. The dessert is (freshly made at Bungunyah) traditional Christmas pudding
with cognac anglaise sauce & vanilla bean icecream.
7. After dinner, tea/coffee with white Christmas, Fruit Mince Pies and
Rum Balls (freshly made at Bungunyah)

The majority of salad and vegetables with all courses, are sourced from our
organic gardens.

The mulled wine has been that popular this Winter Christmas season, we have
Diners purchasing bottles to take home with them.

I am astonished that you endured seven “horrible” courses – with each course
progressively worse than the one preceding. Your table was attended by wait staff on
14 occasions to serve and take away 7 courses and additional attendances to be
served beverages. At no time did anyone at this table comment to the wait staff about
each “horrible” course.

Any complaint by any diner is taken seriously and we try and achieve a satisfactory
outcome for the diner. However, this is impossible to do when Diners such as
yourselves say nothing on the evening and we have therefore no opportunity to deal
with your complaint. You then choose to write a disparaging article (which can only
cause damage to our Restaurant business) for the general public to read.

Christmas in July at Bungunyah starts on 1 June, 2013 and winds up on 31 August,
2013, over 13 weeks, due to popular demand and return guests/functions/families, year
after year. We already have guests and families booking again for 2014.

Emails received from other guests dining with us that week and also that same night,
are as follows:

“I was fortunate enough to be a guest … congratulations to you, your wonderful chef and great staff …”

“On behalf of my group I would like to thank you for such a wonderful time .. it was faultless everybody enjoyed themselves”

“…the beautiful restaurant and bar area, our dinner (silver menu) was just beautiful great entertainment in the lounge

In closing, I would also refer you to recent other Reviews on Trip Advisor regarding our 7 Course Christmas in July Menus – as follows:

“…Our Christmas in July 7 Course Gold meal was to die for, every mouthful a delight”

“…The food was fantastic and after 7 courses we were very full”

These Reviews clearly do not support the criticism raised in your review.

Kerrie Guy
General Manager
Bungunyah Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Our 2nd time staying here and really looking forward to our 3rd we could not fault a thing , the rooms are spotless as are the grounds the beautiful restuarant and bar area .our dinner (silver menu) was just beautiful great entertainment in the lounge but without a doubt the whole experience is made a 1,000 times better by the most fantastic staff EVERY single one of them was an absolute delight from checking in to dinner to breakfast to check out every staff member was just brilliant , many thanks to Kerrie and all the great people of the manor for a terrific weekend

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdo04024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
2 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamborine Gardens
Tamborine Gardens
#3 of 3 in North Tamborine
13 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
11 mi away
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungunyah Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungunyah Manor Resort

Address: 160 Long Road | Mt. Tamborine, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Tamborine
Price Range: $107 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bungunyah Manor Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bungunyah Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing