We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Metropolitano
Ranked #12 of 22 Loja B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel on a good location (although it's noisy). Room was clean, shower was hot, Wifi was working (quite slow though, but that was because my room was located a bit far from the wifi access point).

$15 for a private room with bathroom.

Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

The best of the budget level options at $12 for a single. The place was pretty empty and feels weirdly prison-like when wandering through the open halls and you can see into empty rooms of five or six beds. A tad worn out but otherwise appears to have a business crowd. Hot water did not work in the morning the one night I stayed and wifi worked most of the time but did cut out occasionally. Luggage storage and check out at two is nice.

Staff was helpful with recommendations and directions, although the latter were often off enough to get quite lost for walking/bus locations. While I realize this happens a lot with tourists, they were a bit short and gruff, instantly saying no, when I realized my iPod had gotten stolen in Loja and asked them to check around the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Average. Nice with tv and your own bathroom but everything smells like cigarettes. It's a good location near the park. Though the staff seems to think that watching mixed martialarts championchip on tv is more important than attending guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthanna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Old style but fits the bill. Our room had good wifi connection and had cable. also we got a largerthan usual bathroom with alot of counter space.
Small rugs are placed in the floor so its nice not to get cold feet.
A desk and chairs were in our room as well.
It was very nice to have a socket that we can use that is euro style.
Will use this place again if needed.
12$ aperson for the double bed tho.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The room was $24 for matrimonial - all rooms have private baths. The room was big and clean with cable and wifi in the room. The shower was clean and seriously hot. The bed and bedding were old but clean. The staff was very friendly. After looking at the budget options we decided it was worth the extra money.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AnnekeAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We arrived without a reservation and took a double room for $24, unfortunately there was only an internal room available. It was clean, the water was hot and there was cable TV and internet. But there was noise from the next room's television and from the corridor. Also, at the top of the wall there were a few rows of glass bricks which meant that the light from the next room poured into ours. The hotel was close to the central plaza so it was easy to go out and eat/drink in the evening. Just over the road was a shop where we changed dollars into soles as we would be travelling to Peru the next day. Fine for one night.

Room Tip: If you do take an internal room and prefer to sleep well make sure it doesn't have any glass bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We did not have a reservation so we just went in and asked for a room. We don't really speak Spanish but it was very easy get the room. The lady spoke simple and easy-to-understand Spanish.

There is a hotel-like reception which is open 24 hours. The rooms are simple but big. We had a room with twin beds. The beds we quite hard but their size were huge - most places use this kind of beds as a double bed. Rooms have private bathroom which is clean, spacious and with hot water. Room also had a detail which is not very common in cheaper hostels/hotels in Ecuador: full-length mirror.

We stayed there just one night when we we going from Ecuador to Peru. It was a very pleasant stay although the lack of sound insulation could be a problem. Luckily the road next to hotel was quiet and we didn't hear any noisy customers. Value for money was excellent so we can recommend Hotel Metropolitano.

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms without windows. Remember to ask a room with window if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loja hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal Pucara
#11 of 14 in Loja
1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Loja
0.3 mi away
Zamorano Real Hotel
Zamorano Real Hotel
#4 of 14 in Loja
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Podocarpus
Hotel Podocarpus
#7 of 14 in Loja
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Los Lirios
Hostal Los Lirios
#1 of 22 in Loja
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Libertador
Hotel Libertador
#6 of 14 in Loja
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitano

Address: Calle 18 de Noviembre | Corner Colon & Jose Antonio Eguiguren, Loja 110150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Loja Province > Loja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Loja
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolitano is a family business that has been serving tourists for more than 45 years visiting our beautiful city, the hotel is located in the downtown area, close to restaurants, central market, banks, supermarkets, public institutions, gas stations And cafes. We offer: 40 double rooms with private bathroom, hot water, telephone, cable TV, internet wifi In addition: laundry service, parking and attention 24 hours, we make the special discount to our tourists, it will be a pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing