We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Praia Dourada
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Maragogi
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The beach is very nice. The level of service, etc, in Brazil can be sometimes not up to par with Hawaii or Caribbean places, so try and enjoy the local scenery, especially the natural swimming pools...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    718
    296
    81
    39
See reviews for
705
565
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel and after staying in Porto de Galinhas this hotel disappointed us very much. The pool is very nice however was dirty and the stools to the bar inside the pool were broken and rusted .... The rooms are very small and bathroom old, shower water or too cold or to hot and I got burnt during a shower. Food also that that good and not so many options. We noticed that there are not so many hotel options in Maragogi and thank God we had a rental car so we could enjoy beaches around the area. The city is really small and we were informed by local residents to take really good care cause people are constantly being robbed walking through the city

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and stay in the Salinas hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had no option for our vacation in Maragogi and despite the bad reviews we stayed at Praia Dourada. With low expectations, the hotel seemed just ok. The real sensation is the beach right in front of it. The water is calm and crystal clear and that is pretty much what you need to be happy in Maragogi. We had a nice porch. A good tip is to have a room with ocean view.
The bar in the pool is good. So, beach during the day, pool bar at night and you will be fine.
It is very important to know that locals provide services in the beach in little vending posts. There you may schedule a lunch at local restaurants, a better option than the hotel restaurant, and the boat trips to the natural pools of Maragogi, a must do!

Room Tip: Ocean view will certainly make your trip better. Apparently the rooms with view to the pool were ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Praia Dourada is one hotel to remember. I stayed there with my family and friends and I can't think now at a better place for birthday. I trevelled to celebrate my bithday for the second time there, I had a good time at the pool, I had a good meal and a good view. There the workers say "good morning, good evening and good nigth". I think the beach is one of the most beautyfull places i've been. The only complaint I have is about the rooms 'cause the beds are uncomfortable.

P.S: Sorry no photos on this pc

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Me and my boyfriend took a week of vacation, and before arrive there, we looked the photos from the hotel, and the location, looked great!
But...... As soon as we arrived we went to our room, and there came the first disapointment... The beds were not so good, and the shower the worst ever! The water was too hot or too cold, and it changed from one to another very quickly, it means that it was very easy to me burned by the hot water (and it happened to us), also the room in general was not good, didn't look like a 4 stars hotel room. Despite these things, the noisy was terrible, the loud music from the swimming pool was lasting until late of night, so we asked for another room, and then the things started to get better.The other room had view for the sea, and was very silent, no noise, and good shower, but even so, it didn't look like a 4stars hotel...
The second point is the swimming pool, despite it was big and beautiful, the ceramic tiles were without grout.
The staff was very nice, kind and polite, only the people from the reception were not. Also we got sick during our stay, and the hotel dind't have any medicines for the guests, it was late of night, and we had to ask strange people to help us with the medicines for fever, the staff from the reception didn't offer a taxi or something to go to a drugstore... We felt very bad treated, and like if we were in the end of the world, grounded, far from the civilization...
The third point was the food. The breakfast was not so good, the cheese and ham, for ex., passed the impression of something that were there for hours, already sweating, and not attractive. Only few kinds of bread, 3!!! The juices were not natural, but pulp of the fruit. There was "tapioca" (one of their typical food), but only the salty one, they didn't prepare the sweet tapioca. And the rest was very normal, like a 2 stars hotel.
The dinner was not bad, the flavoring was good, but very simple.
The forth point was the colour of the water of the sea, this is not a problem from the hotel, but there was a river that passed by the side of the hotel, and it flowed to the sea, so, if had rained in the previous days, the colour of the sea (only in front of the hotel), became dark, brown, mixed with the blue turquoise of the sea, not as beautiful as the other beaches located 500metres from the hotel... So, you need to pray not to rain, or the sea in front of the hotel will not be so good for shower.
And the last point that I remember, is that the hotel is far from the center of Maragogi, it takes 5 Km, and its no possible to go walking, it depends on the tide, if the water is high you cannot go by the beach, and by the road is dangerous (because of the cars), so you feel a little grounded on the hotel....
So, if you can stay in a small city, with drugstores, supermarkets, stores, restaurantes, etc, like Porto de Galinhas or Maceio, I think is better option, because you can go visit Maragogi (but you don't need to stay there like for 7 days, it's not worth).
But the beaches from Maragogi are very beautiful, amazing! The biggest problem was the location and the quality of the hotel...
If you can choose another one, specially at Porto the Galinhas that's near Maragogi, I think you will not regreat.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fefafranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I am from Brazil and booked this hotel online.
The site shows a very nice hotel.
Thank god we rented a car otherwise we would be stuck........
They took us to a room that was not cleaned yet. We decided to have lunch ( the rice looked pre-heated and not fresh; the meat was dry and tasteless.)
When we returned to our room, the air conditioner was not working. We moved to another room and at that point we decided to drive around to look for another hotel. We stopped at an internet cafe and a young man recommended the Salinas resort which was very close.
We returned to sleep at the Praia Dourada hotel and moved to the Salinas the next day. The Salinas was expensive but worth the stay and piece of mind.
The Praia Dourada had a nice swimming pool. This hotel has seen better days but now needs a complete renovation.
I had sent a deposit of 2 nights and the front desk tried to keep the extra night deposit that I had paid but I insisted and they paid me back in cash.
After all my vacation was well spent at the Salinas Resort.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank LuluBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Dirty rooms, dirty pool, dirty kicthen, unfriendly, really nasty rooms, terrible food..!!

Beautiful beach, which is were you will be all the time trying to avoid spending time in the terrible hotel. 1 out of 10.

Take a note of meals and drinks bought in the hotel check your bill very carefully at check out for meals and drinks. Ours was RS150 over charged. No apology offered.

Avoid if at all possible.

Letter of complaint written to travel agent, three pages long, need I say more..????

  • Liked — Location next to the beach.
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms, dirty pool, dirty kitchen - Hotel in need of large cash investment.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
7 Thank MikeyRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maragogi hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Areias Belas Maragogi
4.4 mi away
Pousada Shalom Beach
Pousada Shalom Beach
#5 of 7 in Maragogi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Oca Maragogi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Salinas Maragogi All Inclusive Resort
6.4 mi away
Pousada Encontro das Aguas
2.0 mi away
Pousada Orla Dos Corais
Pousada Orla Dos Corais
#27 of 39 in Maragogi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Dourada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Dourada

Property: Hotel Praia Dourada
Address: Rodovia Al 101 Norte Km 130, Maragogi, State of Alagoas, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Alagoas > Maragogi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Maragogi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praia Dourada 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Praia Dourada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Dourada Hotel
Hotel Praia Dourada Maragogi, Alagoas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing