We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Camurim Grande
Ranked #1 of 41 Maragogi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unforgettable place”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was looking for a peaceful, relaxing and beautiful place where I could enjoy some quality time with my family and I found it in Pousada Camurim Grande.
So, I went back (it's my second time there), to celebrate my birthday.
I found everything really well maintained: the great hospitality, the attentive staff, the clean, tastefully decorated and spacious bungalow and the magnificent environment (the garden, the pool area, the sea, the river)...you can do aquatic sports, cycling, have a relaxing massage in the Spa bungalow in front of the ocean or simply reading a book under a umbrella...
The food deserves a special comment: Chef Mara is better than ever!!! Breakfast with her specials breads and sweets, delicious seafood from the lunch and dinner menu...and she gave me a tasty birthday cake as a gift!
I want to thanks Kitty and Marcelo, the owners, you are so attentive kind and really concerned about the guest's needs that I feel like we are old friends...
Really, Pousada Camurim Grande is a slice of Heaven on Earth! The most friendly and accommodating people anywhere. No need to search any further if perfection is what you enjoy! Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARIA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    26
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
219
359
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I love to travel and we always care very much about where to stay. We like exclusive small hotels where everyone know you by name and where every detail is taken care.
This is what we find in Camurim Grande, it is Paradise! The amazing nature and a luxury but not fancy hotel where every single detail is perfect, from the friendly and efficient staff, to room luxury amenities and a gourmet restaurant. We have been there twice with our baby boy, and Camurim Grande will be our choice for many other vocations to come.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you DON'T like big resorts, lots of people and bouffet restaurants and enjoy exclusive attention and gourmet meals, this is the place for you. CAMURIM GRANDE is a rustic and luxury place with privacy in a brazilien exquisite beach.Marcelo and Kity (the owners) and their staff are very friendly and we felt welcome since we arrived until the last minute we were there. Chef Mara create an unforgettable menu with very high quality food.Many items are organic and grown in the property. The pool area is relaxing and beautiful, just in front of the beach.A little river, with transparent waters in the summer, run through the place and flows into the sea.You can just seat and relaxing drinking a bear, a "caipirinha" or coconut water from the local coconut tree, looking the beautiful landscape or take a walk on the beach, ride a bike, swimming in the sea, go in a boat ride, dive, windsurfing, etc.Whatever you do, you will be pleasant and you will want to return.
I was there with my husband last week, we stayed in a "bangalo" room and we love so much the place that we intend to return in February to celebrate my birthday.

Room Tip: Stay in a bangalo room. It worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MARIA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Me and my partner have just spent three days at Camurim Grande. We were encouraged by the good reviews from tripadvisor members and we did not regret.
Pousada Camurim Grande is located in Maragogi, right in front of the beach. It has just a few rooms, which are not very close to each other, due to its huge premises. This can guarantee both privacy and exclusivity, to a certain level.
We stayed in a suite, which had a nice size. We were not happy with the bed. Mattress was very soft and irregular on its surface. Bathroom was huge, with two showers (one of them in an open-air space, which was very charming).
Breakfast was very good, with a large selection of foods and drinks, including several regional dishes.
Swimming pool area was amazing, with a lot of space for a sunbath.
Dinner is included in the price of the room and it is one of the highest attractions of Camurim Grande. They count on a very talented chef, and her dishes are just incredible! Every dinner was a real pleasure for us!
Service is a downsize, especially in the pool and restaurants. Staff at reception is quite efficient though. It can take long minutes to have a beer or a juice, even though there are many waiters on duty. It should not be like that, especially when they are not fully booked, which was the case. Food and beverage by the pool is overpriced.
Another remark regards the Wi-Fi service. The Pousada is said to provide free Wi-Fi to all areas, including rooms, but it was almost impossible to login. During our last 24 hours there, we did not have any connection at all!
Overall, we had a very good experience. If the managers fix these minor issues, the whole experience can be unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brazilian_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarceloCristiana, Proprietário at Pousada Camurim Grande, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear,
Sorry for the slow response. Thanks for the compliments and for having found a "very good experience!". Know that your suggestions are very welcome. Throughout this past year our services have improved. Redid the installation of our wi-fi, which now fully works throughout the inn. Being located on a peninsula, had trouble signal distribution. We had to put fiber optic cables, and in recent days we have had the joy of receiving some praise because of good internet signal.
The good news is that we are now part of the respected Association "Roteiros de Charme" here in Brazil. www.roteirosdecharme.com.br.
We hope to return soon.
Sincerely,
Marcelo and Cristiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable!!! From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The whole area is beautifully maintained and the bungalow which we stayed in was immaculate. The room itself is huge with a huge bed and high quality fixtures and fittings. The pool area is stunning and very relaxing, at times we were the only people sitting round the pool area. The staff are exeptional, and very attentive. Then there is the food, spectacular! Mara the chef has put together an excellent menu and the quality is very high. Overall a fantastic place to stay, with exceptional staff and outstanding food. We will definitly be visiting the Pousada Camurim Grande again on our next trip to Brazil.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo de Santo Agostinho, Pernambuco, Brazil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you want just to relax or if you like water sports dont miss Camurim Grande. The place is beautiful, the sea blue and warm, the food delicious. You may just relax with a book by the pool, or try the stand up paddle, cayak in the river or dive in the natural reef swimming pools.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

One of the most beautiful places I have seen in Brazil, it was love at first sight! Everything is just beautiful, stylish and tastefully decorated. I felt like on "Fantasy Island", there is absolutely nothing I would change! The bungalows are very spacious, with a huge comfortable bed, a veranda with ocean view and an amazing bathroom with jacuzzi! Not to forget the beautiful swimming pool, with its different colors and its ocean view. What took also my attention was that the whole pousada is carefully integrated in the environment, with many palm trees and the river delta included in the beautiful scenery. Get a kayak and discover the river if you want some activity and definitely don't miss the Caipirinha with limão persia after an amazing day in paradise.
Another positive surprise was the restaurant, here is definitely a great chef cooking. All is fresh and served with love. Thank you Mara for this culinary dream!! And thanks the whole team for this wonderful experience and the love they give into this beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RioPrazeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maragogi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Areias Belas Maragogi
3.0 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#4 of 7 in Maragogi
1,541 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pousada Shalom Beach
Pousada Shalom Beach
#5 of 7 in Maragogi
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salinas Maragogi All Inclusive Resort
6.0 mi away
Grand Oca Maragogi Resort
9.1 mi away
Pousada Barra Velha
Pousada Barra Velha
#2 of 41 in Maragogi
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Camurim Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Camurim Grande

Property: Pousada Camurim Grande
Address: Al 101 Norte, Km 124, Maragogi, State of Alagoas, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Alagoas > Maragogi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Maragogi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn Camurim Grande is located in most beautiful beaches of the Brazilian coast, Maragogi, Alagoas. There are 21 bungalows and cottages charming and comfortable. The intuitive and regional cuisine of Chef Mara is a benchmark of quality and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Camurim Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Camurim Grande Maragogi, Alagoas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing