We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect retreat for a Mendoza trip!”
Review of Posada Borravino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Borravino
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Don't bother staying in Mendoza-proper....just a few minutes outside the city is a quiet area called Chacras de Coria! Chacras is in the heart of "wine country," just a few miles from most every imaginably great vineyard. The only thing that could top off a great location at a well-appointed, shabby-chic and quiet residential retreat, is the amazing service! Andres, who works 24-7, offered us the BEST restaurant recommendations! Without fail! My husband and I had 3 of the BEST dinners during out 10 day trip across Argentina (especially for this picky vegetarian)! Ask him anything...and he'll offer up the best. As him for some of the lesser known vineyards making the best wines...and he'll share those secrets too! His wife, Romina, is also super friendly and they have the cutest kids, who make short/periodic appearances some days. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask to be located away from the front desk....if you plan on sleeping in, shift change can be a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 176 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a longer stay in the Uco area (see separate review). The location was quite a contrast to the open fields of Uco, as you are basically staying in a residential street a little bit outside of Chacras de Coria - as noted by other reviewers, this isnt the place for you if you are looking for great views of the Andes.

The posada is about a 15 minute walk (I think, we didnt check it) from Chacras, which has a number of nice shops and restaurants - the dinner menu was a bit limited, so I would guess you would be eating out a fair bit if you stayed there for a while.

The common areas, which comprise the breakfast room and the garden/pool area that it opens out onto were very nice, and the garden/pool gets a lot of sun in the afternoon. I found our room (Syrah) was a bit dark, with only a small window onto the car park and, looking at the layout of the property, I would guess the other rooms are similar as there are other properties on both sides and the breakfast room gets the light from the courtyard. That said, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine - it just felt to me that it would feel a little bit cramped/claustrophobic if you were there for a few days, especially when there are other options a bit further afield that better take advantage of the amazing scenery.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lodges_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Despite some of the other reviews, I think Posada Borravino gives exactly what it advertises. The website shows pictures of rustically decorated rooms, which were comfortable and decently sized. The outdoor area and pool aren't huge, but they're spacious enough for enjoying the sunshine. Nowhere on the website is a full restaurant mentioned, but the pizzas and ham/cheese tabla we had one night were all good. The location is also what I expected from looking at a map - on a small, quiet road outside the center of Chacras. Renting a car is probably a better deal than hiring a driver or joining a tour, and it gives you more freedom.

While it's true that you can hear some noise from the hallways in the rooms, and the wi-fi wasn't very strong in our room thanks to the thick walls, overall we had a very pleasant stay and would happily go back.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank emilyinchile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were a bit surprised when the cab driver was driving further and further away from any kind of town center. We finally drive by the very small center of Chacras de coria (which was supposed to be cute but isn’t really) and went on driving in what seems to be more of a residential area to finally arrive at the posada.
I want to really stress how absolutely wonderful the young couple who manages this place is. They could not have been more helpful or friendly.
The posada is small but perfectly formed! The rooms are not huge but very cute, good attention to details, great beds and nice decor so are the common parts. The garden with the small pool is very pretty. We had a simple but nice dinner on arrival and excellent breakfast.
They offer to organise trips for you to discover the wine region and go do some testing in wineries. Beware that the cost of these trips is pretty high (we paid nearly £400 per person for a full day out including lunch in a beautiful winery, our own driver and the visit of two other wineries, great day but very expensive day!); I believe you can find similar trips cheaper in Chacras de coria or even departing from Mendoza.
Overall, a great experience my only concern is the location, it is far from everything but at the same time not lost in a beautiful countryside but a good welcoming base to visit the wine region

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margauxhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Some rooms (mal bec) are fairly large with à direct communication with the small garden, very relaxing in the evening.
Decoration pleasant. Breakfast perfect for the choice of coffee And tea but not enough for the selection of food.
Personnel is more than helpful for restaurant recommandations and reservations providence even a GPS which is a must to navigate there. The swimming pool is too small And not up to the standard. A small negative point is the location quiet but with absolutely no view.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great place... stayed there for 5 nights and loved them all.
Really good staff - nothing too much trouble...
Excellent location - close to wineries etc...
Rooms were nice and really good beds!
I'll definaty stay there again!
Thanks to Maria and the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trembola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We holidayed there in late October/November and every day was exceptional. We decided to stay a little outside of Mendoza city in a small town known as Chacras de Coria (about 15km away) in a a quiant little rustic boutique called Posada Borravino. Run by Maria and her husband, the property is very peaceful with huge poplar trees surrounding it, their leaves glistening in the wind. If you visit in spring, a seemingly endless stream of cross-pollination fills the air and almost feels like it’s snowing…very picturesque indeed. It is quite centrally located with a number of good restaurants and wineries within walking distance. However, the rooms are quite small and internet is very temperamental and those expecting a lovely large farmhouse style bedroom (posada translates to ‘Inn’) will be disappointed. Although it is a bit expensive, it does have great breakfasts and the staff are extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SundayGrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacras de Coria
1 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
788 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrim's Rest
Pilgrim's Rest
#5 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
105 reviews
8.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Borravino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Borravino

Address: Calle Medrano 2658, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza M5528CVN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Chacras de Coria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Chacras de Coria
Price Range: $143 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Borravino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustic-style country house hotel is located 15 km from Mendoza. All its rooms are equipped with air conditioning, TV and private bathrooms.Posada Borravino is set in extensive gardens and shaded by poplar trees. There is an outdoor swimming pool where guests can cool off.A breakfast buffet is served each morning, and guests can enjoy a wide selection of Mendoza wines at the bar.There are many activities on offer in the area, guest can visit the bodegas of Mendoza, explore the wine route and whitewater raft, horse ride and hike nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posada Borravino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Borravino Hotel Chacras De Coria
Posada Borravino Chacras De Coria, Mendoza, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing