We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm reminders of our stay here!”
Review of Posada Borravino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Borravino
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had such a great time here! Amazing and passionate staff, great help in anything we needed. The owners personally help out in the hotel and are the best. Best breakfast we had during our trip in Argentina. The hotel is always kept extremely clean and the smallest details are noticed. Via the hotel we did some great wine tours, horseback riding etc. The location is just outside Mendoza but we found it absolutely perfect as it is the best part of Mendoza. We will certainly remind our stay here, it was great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexvantienhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 176 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

Owning my own business I hate to give a bad review. However, we had to stay at two different places during our stay in Mendoza with this being the first. The second place was $30 more per night and they were night and day different. I'm posting photos so you can see for yourself. The property was clean, but not so friendly and quite frankly had it been the only place we stayed I'd given it a C+, B-. But after our second hotel, the difference moved them to a D. So disappointing. Mostly because of the room size, simply not enough for 2 people with luggage. Walls were plain like a prison, the bathroom mirror glued to the wall with a painted frame around it. And no place to put toiletries. TV so up high on the wall gave me a sore neck looking up. (Kind of like a hospital situation.) So disappointing. We were in Argentina for 3 weeks and this was by far the worst. I know some people have had a positive experience here. I wish we were one of them. If you don't have a car, don't stay here. We thought they had bicycles, but you have to rent them from town. Please do your research, for the money there's better out there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LagunaGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Mendoza city is pretty quiet so avoid the bland business hotels there and stay here. The other reviewers say it all - Maria and her husband are fab hosts, it's a beautiful spot in a lovely village. Taxi into Mendoza only takes 20 mins, so you are not missng out on anythng AND you have a beautiful garden and pool! This part of Argentina isn't cheap, and neither is the posada, but you will thank yourself!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GriffinCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were staying 3 nights at Posada Borravino and we were super content with the whole posada as well as the beautifully furnished rooms. The outdoor area with the garden is just lovely and it is an absolutely wonderful spot to relax and enjoy yourself. Surrounded with wonderful wineries and the most wonderful hosts who helped us in finding the best places, routes and restaurants made this stay very special. We needed as well help regarding laundry and print out off documents and nothing was ever a problem- even a late night dinner with delicious tapas in the garden or working late very night in the bar with getting served warm tea all the time. We can highly recommend this beautiful place and look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Posada is a lot more compact than the pictures suggest but it is very nicely appointed and well maintained. The location was a nice change of pace as town of Chacras is nice to explore. The room we were in was quite small, but for a couple of nights it worked. The owners were very helpful and I would recommend asking for the private dinner. It was worth it! The only negative was the pool. It was very hot and we would have liked to taken a dip but it was very small and didn't appear to be very clean. Seems to be a common problem in Argentina.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

You will love this place. It's a great value, the rooms are nice and the overall setting very charming. The people who run it Maria and Helder are great hosts and will steer you in all the right directions (restaurants, wineries etc). They also serve the best breakfast and the best coffee (Nespresso).

Room Tip: some rooms are a bit small so ask for the larger ones like Chardoney
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

As a traveler of the world for the past 25 years I felt obliged to write this review. To start off with i would like to mention that I was a minority owner in a B&B in CA which had a 1 star michelin restaurant for the past 20 years as well as owning a full service Restaurant. I think I have a very good understanding of customer service as well as attention to detail. My wife and I just opened a new Restaurant this year and have had a total of 4 days off so we decided with the new year we needed a break and Argentina looked like a wonderful spot to escape the winter and life. My wife found a total gem in Buenos Aires, Cabrera Gardens. The place was over the top and Robert and Norman took wonderful care of us. Just imagine staying in something straight out of Architectural Digest. We flew to Mendoza where our driver Pedro picked us up and dropped us off at Posada Borravino and then life turned bad. We always hope that the pictures on the website are accurate but I must say they hired one hell of a photographer. I refer to my room as "The Cell". I will generous be and say the entire room including bath and closet was 175 sq ft. There was not one picture on the wall. The lights consisted of bulbs in sockets hanging out of the wall. There was just a basic pedestal sink with one extremely small shelf to put bathroom things (maybe 6" X 18") which already had hotel things on it (cups, basket with soaps,etc) which left almost no space and required you to put things on the floor further the mirror was glued to the wall and the frame painted on the wall. So if you think the room sounds bad it just gets better. The breakfast consisted of some rather bad Nespresso coffee, 3 basic cereals, some fruit salad, some of the cheapest ham (1 choice) and cheese (1 choice- I have no idea what it was)Bread out of a bag, OJ, refrigerated muffins and frozen to baked croissant. Don't plan on sleeping in since the paper thin doors, narrow hallways and skeleton key locks will assure that you wake up for breakfast. The new owner owns a winery and if you plan to drink any other wine than what he produces you will be charged a corkage fee, approx $6.-US, I know it sounds a little petty but this is the mentality of the owners. Most people who stay at B&B's do so to escape the commercialism of the big hotel chains in exchange for the warmth of local owners who want to share their slice of heaven. The second night we went out to a wonderful restaurant Nadas but upon our return to the hotel it was locked down like Fort Knox (By the way this is suppose to be a very exclusive neighborhood). After finally finding a device in the dark at the front gate to signal someone a guard finally emerged. We told him which room we were staying in and he handed us a key. We departed early the next morning just to find our tour driver, the owner and police having a discussion. The police found nothing to be alarmed at and left. It turns out the owners didn't want to let our driver on the property but yesterday was no problem. We have moved on to Lares de Chacras and I must say it is a very welcome relief - look for my review

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7FoodandWineGuy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacras de Coria
1 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lares De Chacras
Lares De Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
790 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrim's Rest
Pilgrim's Rest
#5 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
106 reviews
8.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Borravino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Borravino

Address: Calle Medrano 2658, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza M5528CVN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Chacras de Coria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Chacras de Coria
Price Range: $143 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Borravino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustic-style country house hotel is located 15 km from Mendoza. All its rooms are equipped with air conditioning, TV and private bathrooms.Posada Borravino is set in extensive gardens and shaded by poplar trees. There is an outdoor swimming pool where guests can cool off.A breakfast buffet is served each morning, and guests can enjoy a wide selection of Mendoza wines at the bar.There are many activities on offer in the area, guest can visit the bodegas of Mendoza, explore the wine route and whitewater raft, horse ride and hike nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posada Borravino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Borravino Hotel Chacras De Coria
Posada Borravino Chacras De Coria, Mendoza, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing