We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, amazing hospitality”
Review of Casa Glebinias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Glebinias
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
1 review
“Amazing place, amazing hospitality”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The first time we stayed at Casa Glebinias was during our Easter holidays in 2013. We decided that it could be a good place to base our Mendoza experience. And it really was! Indeed it exeeded our expectations by far. Staying in a villa hidden in a beautiful garden with the only noise of singing birds was just amazing. But it is nothing compared to the hospitality that the owners, María and Alberto offer to us. It really felt like being home. After a year, we decided to repeat again in our way to Chile. This time we went with our New born daughter and it was like visiting family again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    57
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
130
509
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hants
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Situated just 15 minutes outside of Mendoza City and 30 minutes from the airport Casa Glebinias is in an ideal spot to sample the wineries of the region. Casa Glebinias is a quiet Oasis located in the characterful town of Chacras de Coria.
At the end of a long days drive even with satnav it was difficult to find, but wow! It really was worth the effort. From the moment we arrived we were immediately made to feel welcome. We were shown to our room which was discreetly located in one of four buildings hidden within the trees of a stunning arboretum. Although one of their smaller suites, it consisted of a bedroom, lounge and kitchenette and was exceptionally tastefully furnished. Apparently all the rooms are unique and fitted out to the same high standard.
All the family and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Whether it was advising on good restaurants, booking winery tours and taxis, or just sorting out the rooms nothing was too much trouble. Regrettably we had to leave very early on our last day and without even asking they arranged for breakfast to be delivered to our room the evening before. Although they have no formal restaurant, in the evenings they serve up amazing plates of cold meats and home made pickles all washed down with wine from their cellar. Talking of which, I spent a very enjoyable time browsing around the cellar which was an experience in itself. Although I didn't partake they also do wine appreciation courses.
Now I don't normally do gardens, but one could not give a review of this hotel without mentioning their immaculate and interesting grounds. There was an amazing array of trees and colours and generously sized pool. As the hotel only has a maximum of 20 guests at any one time there was always a quiet and beautiful spot to sit either in the sun or the shade.

All in all this hotel is quite simply stunning in terms of location , friendliness and service. It may not have the glitz of a five star hotel, but if Tripadvisor allowed seven stars it would be worth every one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCHLMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at Casa Glebinias for three nights in late November of 2013. This was the middle leg for us of a trip that was bookended by visits to Buenos Aires and Santiago, so we looked forward to getting out of the city and relaxing, and that's just what we did here.

First, a point about the geography - you can walk from Casa G into Chacras de Coria, which is a small suburb of Mendoza. You cannot walk to Mendoza - it's about a $25 USD cab ride one way to get downtown, and both times we came from Mendoza to Casa G the cabbies got lost and had no idea where they were going. There's nothing wrong with that, it's just something we didn't clearly understand going in. Fortunately, there are some good restaurants in Chacras - would highly recommend dinner at Nadia O.F. and Clos de Chacras, and we had a fun meal at El Mercadito as well. IMO, staying out here and cabbing in one night to see the Mendoza city square and eat at Azafran is the way to go.

Alberto was a great guy to deal with - very friendly, and helped us book a wine tour as well as a driver to take us to Santiago. Always very prompt with email replies. We loved our room as well, and were content to just lay in bed with the windows and doors open and soak up the sunlight and the sounds of nature.

So why four stars instead of five? A few things that merit the downgrade. One, we had some communication problems with the woman who handles most staff duties during the day, I believe her name was Mariela. She gave us the wrong time for the wine tour, which caused us to be late and incited unnecessary stress and drama. We also told her we'd like to partake in the meat and cheese plate before dinner the first night we arrived, and she acknowledged this. Unbeknownst to us, that's something you have to pay for, so when we came back from our rooms and saw another couple sharing a plate, I helped myself and she snapped at me for eating their food! What? Neither of these was a big problem, just stuff that shouldn't happen.

The other issue, which was weird and hopefully only temporary, is that Alberto was having some issue with water runoff from the mountains, and/or irrigation, and the grass all around the pool would flood during the day and turn into a marsh. There was literally standing water up to the tips of the blades of grass. You could still lay out in deck chairs, but obviously you don't want to have to wade back to your room.

A nice place, and if we came back to Mendoza and didn't want to stay in the Uco Valley, we would consider staying here again.

Brian & Laura

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monty4860763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed 4 days at Casa Glebinias and I wish I could stay a lifetime. Arriving after the chaos of Buenos Aires this place was heaven - beautiful lush gardens and amazing little villas. What really makes this hotel so amazing is the service. Unless you speak good Spanish you will struggle to get around all the vineyards as you need to book before you go, and the staff helped you with all of this - they really made our trip. We had some organised tours (which I'd recommend) but visited some local vineyards and restaurants which the staff organised and it was all brilliant. We taxied most places as even the closest vineyard is about 1/2 hour walk (they said 20 minutes but we walk fast!) it was really hot and the taxis are so cheap it's not worth it. Be sure to take the map that the staff give you out with you as we were out every night and not ONE taxi driver was able to get us back to the hotel without our help - pretty crazy as it is not a large town! We feel so lucky that we got to stay here, I hope we will go back one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Casa Glebinias is an excellent, family-owned and operated "hotel" in the rural town of Chacras de Coria south of Mendoza City. We found that it was a great place from which to base ourselves for a long weekend of exploring the bodegas of the region. Really a large bed and breakfast with some additional services, Alberto and his family do a great job of making you feel very welcome on their property and are a great resource for helping you with reservations to restaurants or tours. The rooms are very comfortable and the grounds are exquisite - a relaxing rural paradise. There are many excellent restaurants only a walk or short cab ride away, and Chacras de Coria was so convenient that we never did venture into the Mendoza city centre. An all around great choice for the wine tourist or anybody looking to kick back in the country for a few days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piermont, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Casa Glebinias was an absolute delight. The very charming apartments are designed for privacy and are so comfortable and quiet. We planned our wine trips around the morning coffee in the main house, overlooking the honeysuckle and hummingbirds, and came back each afternoon to sit by the very lovely pool.
We loved being in Chacras de Coria, which has a small village center that's an easy walk of about 2K, and is in the heart of the premier wine regions of Lujan and Maipu. Our hosts steered us to very good restaurants in the area and were wonderful about helping with reservations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Casa Glebinias was a beautiful oasis in wine country-- in fact, I think we found the most beautiful place to stay in the whole Mendoza area. The garden, in which the various accommodations are placed, is exquisitely landscaped with many birds, trees and plants and the perfume from the trees wafts into your rooms… Alberto and Maria were exceptionally kind, gracious and immensely helpful with arrangements from wine tours to restaurant reservations. Our room was spotless and charming and the pool was both idyllic and a needed source of exercise. Exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 515anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacras de Coria
0.8 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
716 reviews
8.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,751 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,196 reviews
8.6 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
1.0 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Glebinias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Glebinias

Property: Casa Glebinias
Address: Calle Medrano 2272, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza M5528CVF, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Chacras de Coria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chacras de Coria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Glebinias 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy hotel run by its owners, at the foot of the Andes, on one of the Wine Roads and close to important cultural, commercial, gastronomic, and sports centres. Its country house style and original works of art join with the colourful vegetation of a vast park, creating a comfortable, intimate and elegant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Glebinias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Glebinias Hotel Chacras De Coria
Casa Glebinias Chacras De Coria, Mendoza, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing