We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not worth the price compared to Cavas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We werent sure whether to book Cavas Wine Lodge or Finca - so we opted to do one night at each. Cavas was more expensive ($USD 270 + 21% tax) vs $USD181 at Finca - however I personally thought Cavas was much better value for money. If you are going to splash out (and both of these I would class as "splash out" in terms of budget) then Cavas was just so much more superior. Finca had rustic charm and was very nice however Cavas was just out of this world - it probably didnt help that we went from Cavas to Finca the next night.

Positives for Finca - very helpful staff (they really try to help), nice rustic rooms - comfy beds, nice view of vineyards, we were upgraded to a suite free of charge, free tasting in the evening (free bottle of their wine), there was Mate to try in your room.
Not so great: on arrival we werent shown anywhere apart from our room - so we had to find things like breakfast location, tastings are ourselves - just didnt feel "shown around" the place. The location is right in the town area - its a small town but this is definitely not a case of being out in the countryside (which Cavas is), just not really that luxurious - its perfectly comfortable but for the price i would have expected more. Perhaps in summer with the pool it would have offered more - but honestly if you can push the budget a bit, skip Finca and go to Cavas - so much more of a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank foodfascist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 477 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2008

Our 4 day/3night trip to the wine country of Mendoza was the bookend of our 12 day trip to Argentina. Our trip began in Buenos Aires with 3 days of leisure in Palermo Soho at the Costa Petit Hotel, followed by four days of meetings for which we stayed at the Sheraton Convention Center. You can read our trip advisor review for our stay at the Costa Petit and thereby gain an appreciation of the Argentine standard to which we were accustomed. The Finca Aldagisa also exceeded our expectations.

We stayed in Suite 18 in the “Stone House”, which was, in effect, a one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette. The rooms were generously sized, including a walk-in "shower room" with nice touches like a towel warmer. There were fireplaces in both the living room and the bedroom and plenty of windows throughout to capture breezes.

The common areas in the “old house” – library, atrium patio, the "meeting room" and the dining room – were so inviting. With eggs to order, fresh breads and pastries, fruits, juices and home-made jams – there was no need to each lunch after breakfast at the Finca.

Inside the gates of the Finca one finds a vineyard and an operating winery. It was the end of May and the off season in Mendoza. The vines were bare of grapes and the leaves were shades of yellow, brown and red. But the Finca was no less a garden oasis, with friendly dogs and cats to make you feel at home. On the evening of our arrival we were directed to the lounge in the winery for a complimentary bottle of the Finca’s Malbec – the only wine they produce - with production limited to guests of the Finca and presumably the “family”. It was soft, smooth, easy drinking and went well with the cheeses, fruits and breads also provided. The lounge is a special place to relax and view the vineyard. There are four sitting areas, with each having its own small fireplace - quite romantic…and our host Carolina was so sweet, charming and accommodating. She liked to practice her English with us – which was quite good - and that was great since we spoke very little (almost none) Castellano/Spanish.

Carolina was representative of the entire staff at the Finca. They were so helpful in arranging winery tours and drivers for visits to Mendoza and in making restaurant recommendations. We especially enjoyed our dinner the first night at the Italian Trattoria Macerata that was recommended by staff. It was only two blocks from the Finca. Though the Finca gives the appearance of a ”rural" setting, it is in a area that is becoming a "suburban neighborhood" and is within walking distance (or a short ride on one of the Finca’s complimentary bikes) of a village with very good restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank billyb1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

This B&B is an okay place to stay. you just need to have your expectations set properly. the property is nice, clean and safe. the area around the property and the city near by are not nice. they are run down and there are wild dogs roaming the streets. the location reminds me of Mexico. the wineries that are nearby are excellent. make sure to have the hotel hire a driver for you or use a local tour company. you must have reservations for all the wineries. one note of caution. taxi drivers from Mendoza City have a heck of a time finding the property. we tried everything and it was a nightmare everytime. you also wouldn't catch me riding one of their free bikes with those crazy drivers and no shoulder on which to ride. the breakfast was simple but very good.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tlcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

The Finca is a gem of a place. This was our first time in Mendoza area and we were so pleased with this place. It is nicely situated among some of the best wineries in Argentina. You can take a bicycle to a couple nearby. The Finca itself is a small winery and you are treated to a personal tasting in a lovely room of the hacienda with your private hearth in the background. The breakfasts were great, the grounds very serene and beautiful and the setting majestic. Our room was in the main house. It was a bit dark, but very spacious and we felt very cozy. We got very good advice from the staff and were well-taken care of! Make sure to try the famous Francis Mallman restaurant (near Mendoza) when you are in the area. It will blow away. You will not have enough time to try all the wineries and sample all the malbec in the region. We went to Tapiz, Pulenta Estates and really enjoyed them. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

We had a simply wonderful time during our stay at Finca Adalgisa as part of our honeymoon.

Our room was lovely, a lovely big comfortable bed with an excellent bathroom, open fire and great views out over the pool. We loved the little touches, like a complimentary bottle of their own (highly regarded) wine on arrival and fresh mineral water each afternoon.

The daily breakfast was fantastic. Some of the best eggs and bacon I've tasted. The winery is a brilliant place to spend the evening unwinding in front of an open fire either with a good book or chatting to one of the other guests.

The location is superb. A real country retreat surrounded by vines and poplar trees. There are a number of free bikes for you to borrow to explore the local countryside and it is well worth the effort.

The staff were brilliant and arranged several personal tours of local bodegas for us as well as reccomending a number of excellent local restaurants.

I can't reccomend Finca Adalgisa highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nunobensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Finca Adalgisa. We arrived after several days in Buenos Aires and found the peaceful atmosphere and friendly service a welcome respite from the city.

Our room in the Old House was very clean and nice, although a bit dark. Decor included a colorful blanket, some old spurs, lassos, other old rustic pieces. Don't expect 5 star luxury furnishings; the Finca is more of a comfortable country house (tastefully rustic, not tacky doilies or old-fashioned). The bed was fairly comfortable.

The Old House is close to the road, and while it was by no means loud or aggravating, you could hear a fairly steady stream of cars going by outside (not city level traffic - more suburban level street noise). There were also some neighborhood dogs who barked briefly at night. And in the morning, the noise of people talking or moving about outside the room was audible though not bothersome.

The Finca's being located outside the city and close to the wineries was wonderful. It is, as noted above, just off the road though. Areas of the property (the Stone House, the pool, the bodega/lounge) do feel more remote, and you don't hear or imagine street noise there.

The included breakfast was very good. The Finca offered more than coffee and medialunas -- they had a full breakfast including eggs cooked to order and bacon, and a nice spread of fruit, cereal, pastries, yogurt, juice, etc.

Service, as many others have noted, was very friendly and helpful and not overbearing. Before we arrived, staff helped schedule a day of tours at wineries we'd selected and arranged private car service (a remis for 250 pesos). They also helped arrange a remis for airport pick-up and drop-off (50 pesos each way). Remises were each about 10 minutes late, but it was no big deal, especially as there was never a reason to rush.

The day we arrived, they offered a bottle of wine and a cheese plate in the lovely bodega area - a contemporary, comfortable patio-like lounge overlooking the small vineyard.

We liked the big lazy dogs who hung around and gave the Finca a cozy, personal feel. For those who don't love dogs though, the dogs seemed pretty content ignoring people.

We didn't venture into Mendoza City. We were able to walk along the roads to the small area of restaurants for dinner one night. Nothing spectacular, but totally fine. And spending time in the room and on the Finca property, reading, lounging, and snacking, was lovely. We'd been considering the Park Hyatt in the city but were glad we chose to be in a more relaxed and rustic setting.

We'd definitely recommend Finca Adalgisa to other vacationers.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w9st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

The Finca Adalgisa was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was topnotch and they couldn't do enough for us. They made recommendations for restaurants and arranged for drivers for days trips we wanted to make. Their "guests only" wine bar had excellent wine made on the property and the snacks were great. We would definitely stay there again.

Thank iliketotravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacras de Coria
0.4 mi away
Lares De Chacras
Lares De Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
869 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
3,101 reviews
9 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery

Address: Pueyrredon, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza M5528DHT, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Chacras de Coria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chacras de Coria
Price Range: $253 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Adalgisa is an early 20th-century manor house and vineyard estate in the heart of Mendoza wine-growing region of Argentina. It is a charming family home converted in 2001 into the first boutique wine hotel and winery in Mendoza. Our guests are warmly welcomed as new friends and our home is your home. We have a relaxing and informal environment where things can be arranged spontaneously. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Adalgisa Boutique Hotel And Winery By Bodega Furlotti
Finca Adalgisa Mendoza
Finca Adalgisa Hotel Mendoza
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery Chacras De Coria, Mendoza, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing