We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and ocean view! Dirty rooms and poor customer service”
Review of Punta Serena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punta Serena
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tenacatita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed there for almost a week and honestly we are not going back. The pool, the infinite-view Jacuzzis and the surroundings are marvelous and highly recommended for couples. Unfortunately the cleanness is awful! Our first impression from the room when we arrived was just shocking, nothing compared with the beautiful pictures the hotel shows in their web page. The room was old and dirty, the bathroom was disgusting and we found hair and nails in the bed. My wife just got crazy and we immediately called concierge asking for a new room. After 10 or 15 minutes somebody came and took us to the new room, guess what??? Was as dirty as the first one!!! Once again we requested another room, which finally was, let's say, ok. By the way, this room was a lower category from the one we paid!!!!! Next day, the room started to stink like a combination of humidity and urine! Honestly, I do not know why they have the Quality certification, they should not have it. Also, the manager (I do not remember her name) was rude and very unprofessional.
If you want to be nude then this is your place to visit!!! Even if the rooms are just crap!! People go there because they can be nude and obviously they stand the other things because of that.
It is a pity! The hotel has a lot of potential, but not coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Apache70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 217 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Punta Serena from April 15th to the 21st. Like all of the reviews, we had a wonderful time and can't say enough about the service. All the rooms showcase a wonderful view of the ocean. I would suggest an odd numbered deluxe room so the balconies are obscured from the road or a villa room in buildings one or two so less stairs at the end of a long day in the sun. The stairs would normally not be a problem but my wife was three months pregnant, unbeknownst to us when we made the reservations, so we took little rests and ate a lot. We used the adjoining facilities at Blue Bay for lunch once and supper twice. There must be a new policy about using the reservation restaurant overlooking Blue Bay that wasn't mentioned when we checked in. The second night we ate there with another couple the hostess informed us that only one reservation per week was allowed. We were still allowed to eat but caused confusion and a little embarrassment. Never been thrown out of a restaurant, let alone at an all-inclusive resort. The cab ride to and from the airport was uneventful (700 pesos each way) and we had the cab driver stop in a town along the way and we strolled the streets and bought some souvenirs. Have the cab driver stop at the abandoned restaurant on the stone road on the way to the resort, great photos of the resort and beach. Other than the little snag at the restaurant we had a memorable time and plan a return trip in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shortkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We just spent 2 weeks April 2-16 at Punta Serena and really enjoyed it. First off I would have to agree with the majority of reviews on this resort.
We wanted total relaxation and that is what we got. If we wanted something different we would go down to the sister resort 110 stairs down and watch the entertainment at night. I would say there were about 95% locals at the 2 resorts compared to travellers from the US and Canadians. It made it very interesting at times but we enjoyed it. We knew what it was going to be like from reading the reviews.
I think what makes Punta Serena so special is the people that work there. From the mades we had, Doloris and Judith who did fantastic jobs making towel designs on our bed daily. Marcella, Juan, Rolando the servers, Jose Luis, and Luis the bartenders. For the 1st time Ion a trip I had a massage. Davina was amazing. 90 minutes and I felt so great afterwards. A great job by all. I would say the best service we have had at any resort we have gone to. The one person who went above and beyond was Ernesto from the office. What an unbelievable employee they have in him. He does evrything he can to satisfy your wants or needs. He does it all.
The pool is very nice with quite a few iguanas around the area. Of the 2 hot tubs the main was was cold a fair amount with them blaming the heater but when the weekends came it all of a sudden got warm again.
The beach area was nice but waves were quite forceful and strong currents sometimes pulling you back out but it was a lot of fun boogey boarding. Great conditions for that. Lots of jelly fish would end up on the beach as well but were tod by a local fellow that they are dead and won't sting.
If you have never gone to a clothing optional resort and are considering it, it is a great place for that. You can have your privacy for sure.
The rooms were dated and there were people working fixing up the place so they aren't letting it go downhill. We stayed in 5C but moved to 3B when we had a a/c problem. I would request 3A or 3B when we go back. They were nice spacious rooms with tub and shower.
The weather was fantastic so say the least. 5 hours one day of overcast skies. Other than that blue sky and lots of sun.
Food was pretty good as well but would not recommend the buffet down below at supper.
The only real thing that we did not like was walking past the villas there was a sewer smell at times and it was strong. We will surely go back at some time but would like to try other c/o resorts first but we will one day get back there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2fromthewack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed two weeks at this unique special resort.
It is very small (24 rooms) and the super accommodating staff out numbered he guests, the service was by far the best of our six previous all inclusive resort vacations.
The grounds are immaculate and rooms are spotless, although maybe in need of a few updates soon. The food was good to excellent and the drinks were always well made.
With that said this probably not a resort for everybody.
Its not a party place and it is very isolated so there a very limited number of activity options, this is a place to relax on a private beach and a very quite pool with no need for clothes.
Swimming in the ocean here is very limited as the surf is very rough and unforgiving and there is no calm, close area for snorkelling.
Here are a few things that I wish we knew of before we went.
There are three english speaking TV channels, and they are movie stations only, there is no way of getting news. If you like to get some news/sports, even when on holiday, take a lap top, they have Wi-Fi although it is bit slow.
If you are at all interested in birds, take a field guide with you, this is a great place for bird watching.
For whale and dolphin spotting and watching a a pair of binoculars will be very helpful.
The other reviews pretty much give a good idea of what the place is like so I will leave this one short, if you have any questions, just ask.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We returned to Punta Serena for our second annual visit February 2011. The weather was magnificent all week long . The resort was spectacular last time and improved on that this year. Addition of Diet Coke (called Coke Light there) was a welcome surprise. They even had Captain Morgan one day which was nice. Other notable improvements included availability of beer, soda, and water at the beach each day beginning around noon. Guests no longer need to drag their own cooler to beach making the trek to the beach a bit easier each day. The hot tubs were actually hot this year for most of the week but some days they were rather cold.

Like last year, the resort is fairly deserted on weekdays but fills on weekends.

The food was great except variety is minimal for a stay of a week or two. Since the food was so good we didn’t mind eating the same thing several times although all dishes are very high in sodium. The seafood based dishes and shrimp are the best. We did not try T-bone this year but one of the other guests confirmed that it is still very tough. One night there was a filet special that was too appealing to pass up so we tried it and were pleasantly surprised at the high quality of the beef. It was a five star quality dish as were all the specials we had. Steady improvements are being made to the exterior of the resort and the new roof on the dining area is beautiful. Most of the staff was the same except we had a couple new servers who are apparently still learning to deal with folks like us that speak no Spanish. A couple of times we got the wrong food but the surprise dishes were all very good so no harm done. The staff at this resort is perfect. All are professional and even more attentive than last year.

Security at this resort continues to impress me. They are largely invisible but keep a close watch at all times of the day and night. They keep a close eye on guests as well as the grounds and facilities. There should be no concerns about security at Punta Serena. They keep close watch on the guests too since the top shelf liquor flows freely!

We had the beach to ourselves many times and the beach is serene, private, and secluded. On the weekends the beach did get busy and was pretty “active” for a time. Most guests choose to avail themselves of the clothing optional aspect when at the beach and pool. We found all guests to be friendly and communicative once again. The communication barriers between Spanish, English, and French speaking guests can be interesting and challenging but rather fun too.

The water clarity was not as good this year so viewing fish and marine life from up above was not as good although we did see dolphins feeding in the surf most days and sea turtles came in to lay their eggs most nights.

The checkpoint as the Jalisco border on the way there and back from Manzanillo was more apparent this year with machine gun armed military troops at the ready in sand bagged bunkers. It is a bit unnerving the first time through but we were never checked.
This year there was a day or two where some jellyfish had washed ashore so keep an eye out for those and also keep an eye out for scorpions which can also be a potential problem. There are warning flags at the beach but you don’t know what they mean unless you go to the beach at neighboring Los Angeles Locos and read the signage they have there.

Since this was our second visit we did not request or get the tour of the facilities. It would have been helpful if the staff had gone over the changes that occurred in the last year but we figured them out very quickly.

A guest got stung by a scorpion but the medical treatment on-site quickly handled the problem and that guest was back in business by the next morning. Check your shoes before you put them on or keep them on!

If you are looking for a relaxing low-key beach vacation with no strings attached, then Punta Serena will easily meet your needs. We are already looking forward to our next visit and wish to extend our thanks to the Staff at Punta Serena. Punta Serena has improved upon spectacular and it will be interesting to see what next year holds.

Feel free to email any questions or comments.

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank birthdaysuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Reading these reviews was very beneficial for my wife and me on our recent trip. So let me give you our perspective. Hope it helps.

We are both in our mid-40s and are very acquainted with clothing optional accommodations. We are definitely coming back in a year. It undoubtedly helps that we are both fluent in Spanish but even if I wasn't I would still come back.

The trip from the airport to the hotel cost 700 pesos. It took about 45 minutes. It is just a small airport and we got through it very quickly. The ride wasn't nearly as bad as has been described.

You have options at the hotel between the rooms and the villas. The villas cost a little more but they are so convenient. We were in 1A and we basically could just be nude all of the time. Everyone was very courteous and the staff and other guests were all obviously comfortable with the clothing optional thing.

The service was pleasant but very slow. The restaurant there is ridiculously slow the food was so salty sometimes that it was almost unpalatable. In sister resort, Blue Bay, there was a nice restaurant and the buffet were very good I would highly recommend that.

The exercise rooms and the tennis courts were not in very good repair. FYI.

I would highly recommend going to the nightly show down at the other resort. Bring a jacket. Also bring a flashlight.

We saw no bugs at all. I think we may have got some sort of irritation or infection from a hot tub however. Both my wife and me got an itchy rash which I think came from the hot tub. Hard to say.

The beach was magnificent. Most couples just sat under the umbrellas but my wife and I went swimming and through a frisbee and had the entire huge beach to ourselves most of the time.

Weekdays were very quiet. There were maybe five other couples there. On the weekends there were more people. Some went nude and some wore suits. No one seemed to care and I would assume they knew what they were getting themselves into. I'm not sure why though you would go to a clothing optional resort and not take advantage of the opportunity. But some people don't.

The rooms were adequate but not luxurious by any stretch. The views we had were magnificent. The air conditioning worked fine. The beds were way too hard but welcome to Mexico.

It was very mellow and no parties and the weather was perfect. Hope that helps.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oz_of_the_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This resort just keeps on getting better. After the $65. taxi ride from the Manzanillo Airport, you arrive at the most tranquil and romantic spot that can be imagined. Check in is a breeze.
We have stayed at Punta Serena several times and on two occasions have found great rates using Orbitz, the other 5 times we booked directly through the hotel, usually $210 to $240 per night per couple, ALL inclusive!
The beach, pool and hot tubs are all clothing optional. Proper attire is required in the restaurant.
The resort is generally frequented by couples and is a great place to with reconnect with your loved one.
There are many guests that return year after year, frequently stating that they hesitate to tell people about Punta Serena for fear of ruining it.
The rooms are clean and well appointed, but the beds are dreadfully hard! Several rooms have been recently remodeled.
Guests are also invited to use the facilities at the neighboring sister resort, Blue Bay. It has a great beach with free use of kayaks, tennis, volleyball, horseback riding, mangrove boat tour as well as restaurant options. The variety of food is greater at this larger family resort, and it is only a couple of hundred steps from Punta Serena.
The beach is clean and the bay is beautiful, clear water and shallow access.
The price is very reasonable as it includes food, room service, tips, drinks and use of all the facilities at both Punta Serena and Blue Bay.
There are no sales vendors on the beach, and no loud or offensive behavior.
The weather in December has always been beautiful, with only one afternoon rain storm in the 13 weeks that we have stayed there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank coug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenacatita
16 mi away
Careyes
Careyes
#2 of 2 in Careyes
80 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
12 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#7 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Coco Mango
Hotel Villas Coco Mango
#4 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
5 reviews
9.8 mi away
Club Nautico El Dorado
Club Nautico El Dorado
#397 of 630 in Pacific Coast
20 reviews
8.6 mi away
La Quinta Gran Bahia Cuastecomates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Serena

Address: Km 20 Ctra. Federal 200, Tenacatita 48989, Mexico (Formerly Punta Serena by Blue Bay)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Tenacatita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tenacatita
Price Range: $236 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punta Serena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punta Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Serena By Blue Bay Hotel Tenacatita
Punta Serena Hotel Tenacatita
Punta Serena Tenacatita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing