We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant beat the value!”
Review of Los Angeles Locos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Angeles Locos
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tenacatita
Niagara Falls
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cant beat the value!”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

OK...we've read all of the other reviews with open-minds..my BF was at the resort 14 yrs ago and just loved it!! so away we go on Jan 12th, 2011...the flight was longer than anticipated...the drive to the resort was hmmmm..little scary..but our driver Hector was great...when we arrived at the resort I had concerns as it was not very busy..Our room 404 was great..just no elevators..(and 60 stairs everytime!!)..and had a great view.>Id recommend rooms 01-09 as these are on the tennis court side and are very quiet..Ive read people complaining about the noise..but you cannot hear the noise from the main stage from this side of the resort...just the pounding surf! Our room was suffice..the 2 dbl beds were hard..(no boxspring) but I was leary as there are no smoke detectors or alarms....and it was a long drop!! We negotiated a rate for a Junior Suite on the ground floor..Rm #110....($20 ea/nght) and were extremely happy...the food was decent...im not overly picky and came away full from every meal...the lunch at the beach bar..(burgers, hot dogs and fries...) were incredibly tasty for some reason....the italian restaurant....(1 reservation per week) is great...you can have one reservation..but it doesnt limit you to the number of people in your party...we befriended 2 other couples...and joined in on their reservation...and in turn shared our reservation with them...giving us 2 great dinners at the restaurant..highly recommended!!
No pressures to tip at the bars or buffets/restaurants (i think we spent maybe $60 for the week)....geniunely nice mexican people...I enjoyed the company of the locals....they were families laughing and having alot of fun...truly enjoying themselves....
the beach was exceptional....bring a boogie-board if you are so inclined as there are only 2 at the sports center...the surf is incredible...we did kayak..however the waves/rollers are quite dangerous....you need to be aware of your surroundings everytime..snorkling is limited..unfortunately...we watched a few shows..which the employees try very hard and train to entertain..but it was cool at night (about 18 degrees) and we were usually spent from the sunshine...we did not make it once to the disco...not quite our speed...for price point...this place is hands down a winner...the beach, sand, surf and treatment from the staff are exceptional....and....mainly....super-safe....the resort is about 3 miles off the main road and you have to cross 2 gated areas prior to entry...security monitor the entire resort day and night....you need a pass to get thur the gates to leave!!!! we did not do any excursions this time..opted for the glorious room upgrade instead!! email me for more details!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betty_rubble1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    151
    117
    60
    55
See reviews for
191
100
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Got to the hotel after a fairly lenghthy ride. The first room's air conditioner didn't work and the patio doors didn't lock and the sink faucet was leaking and wouldn't shut off. Requested another room which was worse! Dirty and rundown and after pulling bedsheets back, found live mites. Went back to front desk and were given a room for the night until the manager arrived the next morning. Watched the ants travel back and forth along the tv stand. Husband found an old dead sea crab under the night stand. Our 2 children stayed in the connecting room but were too scared to go under the sheets and slept with their clothes on. I didn't sleep much as I kept bug watch! Freddy(front desk) made arrangements with the manager and we were moved to the newer and much cleaner addition of the hotel. No bugs and the service was great from there on. Would recommend you ask for the NEWER area when checking in. Food was ok and the ala carte was GREAT!! Workers were awesome and most spoke English. 90% of guests were from Mexico which was fine except that hotel catered mainly to their needs. The shows were ok but mainly in Spanish. Had to eat dinner outside which often made the food cold and the lighting was bad so you ate in the dark. New Year's Eve gala was fantastic! The beach was marvelous and nobody bothered you. This is definately a "2" star hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank volleymom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

this is an all inclusive hotel that advertises a la carte restaurants. we were given a voucher for one a la carte nite in 4 that we stayed and told to be at a desk at 4pm. We arrived and were told it was already booked so we had to have buffet for all meals. There is no elevator and it is EXTREMELY noisy, with events going on at nite etc. It could be a lovely place, the beach is very long and wide. But the noise level and buffet food make it pretty bad. The 'included' boat ride was a waste of time and there were no horses and advertised. We tried to check out early as we wanted to get the heck out of there but they would not refund our money, which was not cheap. The bed was awful, hard and the A/C barely worked. The sister hotel above is a nudist place as we went to see about transferring. That was a shock!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tenacatita hotels

hadleyhurd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I JUST returned from here with my mother and we both had an ABSOLUTLEY AMAZING time here. The hotel was clean and beautiful. The staff was incredibly friendly. Some have said that most of the staff doesnt speak english well, which I would disagree with. While all of them primarily speak Spanish, many spoke english well enough to hold a steady conversation with. Most of the staff knew us by name and took the time to get to know me, which i found wonderful. The beds were hard, but I wouldnt say they were much harder than any other hotel, which i've never encountered a hotel in which the beds were genuinely comfortable, so while they aren't heavenly to sleep on, it's do-able without discomfort or an aching neck or back in the morning. Many of the guests are primarily of Mexican heritage, which we found refreshing. Why go on vacation in a beautiful place in a foreign country only to meet people you could meet at home? Though it isn't as filled with Mexican guests during the week as it is in the weekend, when many familys come for a weekend get-away. The only problem we had on our trip was with our representative through the travel agency that we went through to book our vacation (Apple Vacations). There was no one there to meet with us and we didnt meet her until our last day there, and even then she had no idea who we were. She was hard to get a hold of and even the staff didnt know when she was going to be coming in because she didnt tell them. Though she was incredibly unhelpful, luckily the staff at the activities center and mainly the front desk, were able to make up for her lack of presence with all kinds of imput and information about what there was to do as far as things at the hotel and excursions. The food was very good. Yes they did have some different kinds of foods, like cactus and pigs feet, they had more than enough other traditional foods for the less adventurous. We didnt find much repetition in food options in the week that we spent there, though if you stay for longer it's more likely you'll see repetition. All in all we had an amazing time and i know I am already planning on returning, with friends, to this beautiful resort, and am excited to reconnect with the staff who were the highlight of this trip! I would recomend this resort to anyone looking for an amazing vacation that offers relaxation, as well as activities, nightlife fun, serenity and meixcan culture! Two thumbs way up!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hadleyhurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, MD
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We visited the all-inclusive Blue Bay Los Angeles Loco (Crazy Angels) on the 3rd leg of our three week Mexican adventure. The resort, located on the West coast of Mexico above Manzanilla, was a great value price wise and it did not disappoint. Service was excellent and everything is conveniently located. The spotless beach was spectacular with ample palapas for shade and a beach bar close by. The resort also has a large pool area complete with pool bar. The food offered was varied and quite reasonable and the resort also features a gourmet specialty restaurant for alternate ala carte dining. On check in to the resort we were provided passes for a free jungle cruise and participated to our delight. The resort also offers horseback riding and other excursions (snorkeling, fishing, sailing). Entertainment is offered nightly and there is a disco for late night. This is a great resort if you want a remote unspoiled paradise. Do not expect to do any shopping as the town is a short drive away.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So-So Cal
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The Blue Bay is the kind of place that tells you who you are.

If you're a person who dislikes Mexico, then you probably won't care for Blue Bay. But if you dislike Mexico, what are you doing there in the first place?

First of all, this is a MEXICAN resort, operated in a pretty traditional Mexican style. The guests are primarily Mexican families from Guadalajara and other cities around Jalisco, with their ninos and abuelas. The rooms are Mexican rooms, with mattresses on a concrete slab. But they're clean, spacious and well-maintained. The food is Mexican food, with a buffet that includes pigs feet and cactus. There are noisy actividades around the pool all day, with percussive music that will drive you to a palapa down the beach if you treasure quiet. But it's an extraordinarily beautiful place, with a happy, helpful staff, a few of whom speak enough English to get you by. But hey, you're in THEIR country, so feel free to learn a little of their language so you can communicate with them. The resort, built is 1985, is a little down at the heels, but kept clean by a large, busy staff and is by no means run down. I think many of the reviews here overrate the beach. I'm a little jaded, since I live in a Southern California community with spectacular beaches. But as beaches go, the crescent stretching a mile or so from the resort is certainly pleasant. If you like Mexico for what it is, you'll like Blue Bay.

If, on the other hand, you prefer to take your American (or Canadian) culture along with you when you travel, and park your white-as-a-soda-cracker-Dick-Cheney-fat butt in Marriott/Sheraton/Hyatt white-bread comfort everywhere you go, Blue Bay probably isn't for you.

So what's it going to be? Ice cold air conditioning and club-sandwich with French fries room service? Or la musica and a buffet of cactus and pigs feet. Tell me more about your EXPLOSIVE DIARRHEA.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mvdljca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I have travelled many times in Mexico over the last 10 plus years and have stayed at everywhere from 2 star to 5 star. This hotel was great value for our money.

The beds are hard as stated in other reviews as they are mattresses on cement bases - typical in many resorts in Mexico - I like hard beds so no problem for me - the others in my group - 4 adults and 5 kids - didn't like it as much.

I've read in other reviews that the rooms are dated - I found the rooms to be quite nice - very roomy - yes the tvs are dated but who cares!!! You had to get a blowdryer from the front desk - I only knew this because my friend somehow found out. A mini fridge would have been nice but I've run into these at only half the places I've been in Mexico.

The free wifi in the lobby was great as the kids wanted their computer and facebook time! We left the laptop out in the room when we were at the beach or pool - no problem with the maids in the room - but we make sure to leave a tip daily.

The food was decent - I am very picky so to have decent food was good. The a-la-carte restaurant was really good - good steaks! The omelette bar - mmmmmm!!!! The pizza restaurant was our favourite for lunch - sure made the kids happy! The bar staff were wonderful - they sure poured alot of alcohol in our drinks - helped that we were friendly and respectful and did tip on occasion.

The service as a whole in the resort was wonderful. The activities staff were very friendly and yes although this resort caters more to Mexicans (by the way you are in Mexico so why wouldn't you expect this) there was always someone to help out when you didn't understand enough Mexican.

The turtle sanctuary is amazing. I got to let baby turtles go free in the ocean 3 days in a row - could have been more if we had paid attention to this before. What an experience to have once - but three times was amazing.

I didn't go on the horseback riding but our friends did. The mangrove boat ride was great but too short for me.

This week went by in a blink - faster than any other trip to Mexico has seemed to go. I wanted time to stand still to spend more time there. Yes the resort is isolated - but you can take a cab to Barra de Navidad to shop or see somewhere else - I recommend this. The city tour of Manzanillo was good - because we were so far out ours included going to see the crocodiles - big ones - in La Manzanilla.

The beach was huge - we had a blast riding the waves in the ocean - great ocean for being on the Pacific side - and no drop off - long and on the flat side.

I could go on and on and on - but we had a great vacation - my kids could have used more activities but for us adults wanting to relax with a bit of fun at the bars and disco there it was a great vacation. I would go back to this hotel any time!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jobethbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenacatita
9.9 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
15.9 mi away
Costa Careyes
Costa Careyes
#2 of 2 in Careyes
79 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#7 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Club Nautico El Dorado
Club Nautico El Dorado
#384 of 624 in Pacific Coast
19 reviews
9.9 mi away
Las Arenas
Las Arenas
#1 of 4 in Melaque
41 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Angeles Locos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Angeles Locos

Property: Los Angeles Locos
Address: Km 20 Carretera Federal 200, Tenacatita 48989, Mexico (Formerly Blue Bay Los Angeles Locos)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Tenacatita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tenacatita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Angeles Locos 2*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star all inclusive resort located in the idyllic beaches of Tenacatita Bay, in Mexico's famed Costalegre, only 45 minutes from Manzanillo's Airport. Fulfill your dreams and connect with nature..take a jungle riverboat ride through the magical world of pristine mangroves or go horseback riding along our extensive beach. A haven of fun and relaxation for nature lovers and lovers of all kinds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Angeles Locos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Los Angeles Locos Hotel Tenacatita
Blue Bay Tenacatita
Blue Bay Club Los Angeles Locos
Blue Bay Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing