We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Angeles Locos
Nearby Hotels
Punta Serena(Tenacatita)
$245
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel & Suites Vayor(San Patricio)
$20
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque(Melaque)(Great Value!)
$51
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Nautico El Dorado(Pacific Coast)
$43
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Barra de Navidad(Barra de Navidad)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sarabi(Barra de Navidad)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel La Alondra(Barra de Navidad)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villas Coco Mango(Barra de Navidad)(Great Value!)
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Cabo Blanco Hotel(Barra de Navidad)(Great Value!)
$67
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
95
155
120
62
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
155
120
62
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat weathersecluded beachbaby turtlesturtle releasebaysurfexcursionsboatcarteboozepacific
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 490 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from 5 wonderful weeks (15 Jan to 19 Feb,2013) Our 3rd year at this resort.
I can not rave too much about the 2 new a la carte restaurants.Both outdoors. The Italian as an elegance that sets the tone for your dining pleasure.The menu was varied and included fish, pork, beef steak,shrimp & of course many pasta dishes. All tasty,well seasoned & well presented. The serving staff were very professional. The Mexican restaurant provides a true Mexican atmosphere.The food was superb. Because it is right on the beach, the staff are working hard to limit the evening insects that every so often, bounce off the lights. One should never complain about the food.....unless you are a very picky eater or a habitual complainer.
For breakfast there was a variety of 3 or 4 fruits to choose from, 4 kinds of yogurt,cottage cheese, cereal,raisons, coconut, granola, 3 cereals,hot chocolate, 4 different juices, tea coffee,soft drinks,raw veggies, pancakes,toast, eggs (fried or boiled),omelettes made to your request,varieties of breads, loaves & buns, as well as many Mexican hot dishes.
Lunches always varied as to the salad items, which included tomatoes, lettuce,corn, beets,jicama, bamboo slices, asparagus, alfalfa sprouts, spinach greens,carrots & cucumber , as well as tuna salad, pasta salad, salsa salad,cold slaw,many Mexican dishes,chicken,beef or pork. Desserts also included fruit. The International Restaurant (14 years & up) was classy. Steak,chicken,fish,pork lamb & pasta provided a well balanced menu.
THE BEACH....what more can you say....second to none. Clean& stretches out to create a healthy,easy walk. At the far end is a lovely little Mexican restaurant not connected to the Resort.
Contrary to some reports, we found the front desk staff to be very accommodating ,especially when we needed help with our WIFI hook up each day.
Certainly there is a lot of Spanish spoke, but hey, this is Mexico,plus 90% of their guests are Mexican.
We found our room clean & spacious.Though some folks found the beds hard, we did not.They did not give us sore backs, like many expensive overly soft ones back in Canada. Most have an ocean view from the balcony. The rooms facing the tennis courts are quieter.
The maintenance staff have just completed a Paint Ball enclosure. The 4 tennis courts are freshly painted & sport new nets....they are always available.Whale, dolphin & sea turtle watching trips are very reasonable. We paid $20.00 per person(6 of us).Snorkelling excursions are also reasonable.
This is a perfect resort for a quiet, peaceful rest or you can keep as busy as you wish,with the heated pool,swimming in the ocean,boogie boards,kayaks,pool table,ping pong,shuffle board & tennis, horse back riding, as well as the many organized sports, yoga(stretching)massages, water exercise, Spanish lessons & book exchange..
The resort is about 1 hour north of Manzanilla & is somewhat isolated , but very secure. So if you are looking for the busy streets & Mexican venders, you won't find them here. There are a few tables with trinkets & gift items, but no one hassles you to buy anything.
One should always take insect repellent & anti-itche cream to any resort, be it in Cancun or here.
We are looking forward to our return to this hidden gem , next year

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have gone to Blue Bay many times before and we went for 2 weeks this year. Service is better than ever, and there are a few changes to make the resort even better. Instead of 1 a la carte restaurant, there are now 3! The meals are great at each restaurant, and the omelettes in the morning in the main restaurant are better than ever. I can't believe that others have complained about the food at the resort.
The beach is great for body surfing and boogie boarding. Another guest and myself kayaked over to a nearby beach, which was great. Unfortunately the route to get down to the beach at Boca de Iguanas has been closed, so the walk to La Manzanilla did not happen this year. I did however walk to another town (7.2 km one way) along a well defined trail that turned into a road. Lots of birds at the small lake I passed on the way.
I was bitten by no seeums this trip, so remember to take along some bug spray for the evenings outside on the beach. The water was luke warm, perfect for swimming. The pool was well used by everyone, as well.

My minimal complaints: Our dresser had a broken drawer, and 2 other guests reported the same issue. The beach chairs are still hard, as are the beds (which didn't bother us). If you are interested in shopping, the taxi ride to La Manzanilla is $20 one way, $30 to Melaque, and $35 to Barre de Navidad. Of interest to those who might want to take one of the very nice coaches from Melaque to Puerto Vallarta, costs are dirt cheap! $19 one way to Puerto Vallarta!

Our apologies to the staff at the resort on behalf of the drunk Alberta couple who spoiled the terrific Valentine's Day dinner for the others attending. They were extremely loud and very rude to the staff.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray. Another couple was eaten alive by the no seeums. You might want to bring an inflatable mattress or foammie if you think the hard beds might be difficult to sleep in. We slept just fine.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachbumAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Long story short I loved this resort. The beach was amazing, food was awesome (lots of selection and varied slightly each day). Fresh omelettes and pizza were so good! The snack bar had some awesome food as well (chicken nuggets, fries, burgers, salads, fresh fruit, etc.

There are three a la carte restaurants. Long story short - the italian was good, international was AMAZING and mexican was crap (poor service, stale chips, small portions of stuff you could get at the buffet, and on the beach so you're eaten alive by bugs). As others have said, find another group to go under your reservation vice versa, and go to the international or italian twice!

Our room was very clean. But I have to say that the beds are hard as a rock and I woke up every morning calling out for my chiropractor. Such beautiful rooms - to have such horrible beds was a shame. Our room 421 was super loud at night with the stage below us and then the music from the disco after that. The nightly show was OK, pretty typical but mostly in spanish so we didn't bother watching them.

Service from everyone was awesome except at the swim up bar - they ignore you and serve the people on dry land until you make yourself majorly known. English is not the best at this resort as the guests are mainly residents of Mexico, so speak clearly.

I especially would like to thank Carmen at the front desk for being so helpful. Often in Mexico the front desk peeps are a little on the grumpy and unhelpful side, but not at this resort, everyone was great. The activity staff were fun as well and thanks to Lana for the super fun water volleyball :)

We were bummed we didn't see any baby turtles, but I guess it was off season. The free horseback riding was a nice little jaunt along the beach, but the horses are old and are looking like they are soon headed to greener pastures. We did however see a 3 humpback whales and a baby in the bay super close to the beach, that was amazing to see.

The jungle tour was nice, Jimmy hopped on half way through and offered to take us on a snorkelling trip around the bay - it was a nice trip. Snorkelling was OK compared to other areas in Mexico, if you've been to Puerto Morelos or somewhere like that, don't bother snorkelling here because it's not that spectacular.

Cons: no elevator and while I appreciated the exercise going up the 8 sets of stairs 3-4 times per day, it definitely was annoying when you forgot something and had to go all the way back up! Ask for a lower floor if you're not cool with stairs.

Excursions: I was confused before going to this resort what excursions are available. My travel agent told me all resorts in mexico offer the same type of stuff, she was wrong.

There isn't really anything to do, and what there is to do, you only get to do it if you can get 6 people min. to come along. We did the eco tour, which was not impressive for the money - you see some alligators in an enclosure and walk briefly around Barre De Navidad and Melaque. Didn't see enough of it and we went back on a separate day on our own $35 cab each way to get some more time to shop and explore. Ecotour was definitely not worth the money and you can get the snorkelling guys at the sports centre to take you over there to see the alligators if you book snorkelling with them. I think admission was like 10 pesos ($1).

We also did the Manzanillo tour but I don't recommend it. An hour away from the resort, we drove around in a van all day looking at stuff, we only had around an hour of free time to shop and it was in a typical mall, not in the flea market. When we went to the flea market it was too early and most everything was closed. We stopped back later when more was open but literally had less than 10 minutes to shop. This trip was a waste. Manzanillo seems beautiful, but if you want to see it - stay there instead of Tenancatita.

You can also take a trip to Colima to shop and see the capital and check out the volcano, but it's a long drive and no one wanted to, so the excursion was not available to us.

All in all, this is a great resort if you're planning to hang around.

Room Tip: No elevator, super hard beds - ask for a pad for softer bed. If you want quiet, ask for a room near the tennis courts. Rooms near the pool are really loud with the nightly show and disco.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

First, the really good stuff: the beach is long, clean, pretty, easily accessible and great for swimming. There is a river nearby with mangroves, home to many bird species, crocodiles, and butterflies. The rooms are spacious and quiet, especially if you look out over the tennis courts. On which: there is tennis, horseback riding, shuffleboard, a large swimming pool and beach volleyball. Beds are hard, though no harder than in other mexican resorts or condos, and there are no queens: you will get two double beds unless you upgrade to a junior suite with a king. Now, the not-so-good stuff: service is friendly but a bit haphazard, with many things in short supply. During our one-week stay, the hotel ran out of beach towels, bath towels, bath mats, face cloths, yogurt, refried beans, desserts, various menu items at the a la carte restaurants, and wifi. If you are a traveler who can go with the flow, you will really like this quirky little place. If you have food restrictions, or need to stay in touch with home/work, or just require things to be just so, it will drive you nuts. One last thing: it is very isolated. A cab ride to Manzanillo will set you back about $70 Cdn one way. With a little work, this could be an Eco paradise. As it is, it's more like a diamond in the rough. But in my opinion, excellent value for money.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
8  Thank felix78901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I can not complain about the food,entertainment or the bartenders. They were all amazing. Now with that said I would think that at the front desk would make every thing possible to make the first impression and set then tone for the resort. The front desk manager was awful!!! They had several people helping at the front desk but only the front desk manager could give out the rooms, keys and remote controls. After being told by the gal that was helping us and instructed us to wait as she would get us our room and keys the front desk manager stated that we needed to get in line again just like everyone else even after the gal that was helping stated to the front desk manger that we had already waited and had instructed us to move out if the line that we were already in. When we had made our reservation 6 months in advance it was requested and confirmed that all of our rooms would be together and were not!!! When my parents got there room they said that they had a couple of cockroaches. Our family was a family of twelve and I will never ever return to this place again!!! The front desk was horrible. Don't know if I can stress that enough!!! For being a Blue Bay Resort I was not impressed!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0t1mpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews