We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Penita de Jaltemba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casita de La Penita
Slave Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location!!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Spent two months at Casita de la Penita and found it to be so convenient to everything! The owners are wonderful people who go out of their way to make sure your stay with them is enjoyable! It was extremely hot and humid during our stay so we did miss having Air conditioning but other than that the units are well equipped. We did hire their cleaning lady to clean our unit weekly and she did a great job, would recommend her to anyone! We love the area and really like the small town atmosphere and friendly people we have come to know!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPAlberta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the Casita, our first visit to western Mexico. Bob and Linda, owners of the Casita, are incredible hosts and even had cold beer and some food we requested in our room when we arrived. The rooms are clean and well laid out with everything you need to do your own cooking, if you choose to. There are also many excellent restarants in the area if you choose not to. The Casita is right on the ocean and we spend lots of hours enjoying the sun, walking on the beach and even using boogie boards (supplied by the Casita) to attempt body surfing in the waves. You get an authentic Mexican experience in LaPenita, this is not a "tourist resort" or even a tourist town. The people are wonderful and friendly, the food is incredible, and from the Casita you can pretty well walk to everything. It helped having hosts who are Canadian and who can advise you on pretty much anything you want or places you may want to visit. I would highly recommend the Casita to anyone who prefers to do their own cooking and wants to see and experience the Mexican culture and people.

Room Tip: The Casita has a one bedroom premium room (Suite 7) that has incredible views and is worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

What a lovely place to spend a week! For those who are tired of the all inclusive style trips and want to see more of the true Mexican culture we highly recommend Casita de la Penita. It is lovely being right beside the ocean and the town itself is full of amazing people, wonderful traditional food and a great atmosphere. Bob and Linda really take care of you and keep you informed of where to eat, what to do and when to do it. An unforgettable experience and we will return here without hesitation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We concluded an 11 day vacation in Mexico with 4 days at Casita de La Penita. The first week we were at a luxurious resort in Nuevo Vallarta, we knew the Casita would have fewer amenities but were excited about a few days in a small Mexican town and opportunity to investigate this resort for future vacationing. We were not disappointed, only wished we could have stayed longer. Already looking forward to our next trip. Bob and Linda offer gracious hospitality and lots of ideas for activities. We loved exploring La Penita and eating at several local spots. We enjoyed the beach at Guayabitos but were always happy to head back across the river to our cozy casita home. 6 of us were comfortable in a 3 bedroom unit, primarily because we spent most of our time outside, enjoying the pool surroundings, the beach or town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was our first stay in La Penita and we could have not been happier! We had a 2 bedroom suite at the Casita and although the beds were a bit firm, it was clean and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. The owners, Bob and Linda, answered all our questions and provided us with a wealth of information on places to visit, shop and dine. What surprised us the most about the town of La Penita, as well as the surrounding towns, was the number of Canadians staying in the area. Everyone we met had wonderful stories to share about their stay and not once did we hear anything negative regarding a person's safety (which the media loves to broadcast)! We had beautiful meals when we dined out and found the prices to be very reasonable! We also used the BBQ at the Casita and had a couple of awesome shrimp meals - you can't beat the fresh shrimp there! We can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryle_5804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was our fourth time at the Casita - our favourite family vacation spot. It's like staying with friends. Bob and Linda give great advice on good restaurants, possible excursions and local celebrations. We love the fish tacos at Hinde & Jaime’s restaurant. It's always our first stop. We took my 87 year old mother and felt very safe walking around La Penita and at the Casita. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation with a real Mexican flavour.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 6 of the 7 units over the years. Not a bad room in the place. Suite 7 is a bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetEdmondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is our first time staying at Casita and we have been completely thrilled with the accomodations, the town of La Penita and of course Bob and Linda, our hosts. The property is immaculate and the suites have everything you need to set up for a short or long stay.

The town of La Penita is definitely very Mexican which is a great experience. There are lots of great restaurants and you can buy all of your food and other supplies within a very short walk of the Casita. Also, the Casita is located right on the beach and the view of the bay, the island and the fishing boats is spectacular.

Everything in the town is a short walk, so having a car is not necessary. If you feel the need to get into a more commercial/touristy setting, the beach at Guyabitos is only a short walk down the beach or through the town.

The Casita itself is very secure and we felt very safe both in the Casita and in the town of La Penita - the locals are nice and accomodating.

We can't say enough thanks to Bob and Linda who take special care to make sure that everyone is taken care of. They both can speak Spanish very well and will book tours, dinner reservations, etc.

We highly recommend staying at the Casita and we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjschwandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Penita de Jaltemba
1.6 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
2.1 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Posada Real
Posada Real
#5 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Suites Mar y Sol
Hotel & Suites Mar y Sol
#6 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
22 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de La Penita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de La Penita

Property: Casita de La Penita
Address: Calle General Lazaro Cardenas # 36, La Penita de Jaltemba 63726, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > La Penita de Jaltemba
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in La Penita de Jaltemba
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de La Penita has 3 one bedroom suites, 2 two bedroom suites and 2 three bedroom suites. We are located in front of the beach in La Peñita de Jaltemba. All our apartments are totally equipped. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casita De La Penita La Penita De Jaltemba, Mexico - Nayarit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing