We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Penita de Jaltemba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Panorama de la Penita
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We met Paul and Tom last April in St. Andrews while staying at another property they managed. We were told about El Panorama and decided to vacation there this year. It was wonderful! This place is like heaven. We were soooo relaxed and treated like royalty. Breakfast was wonderful, the service they provide was awesome, and the friends we made will be lifelong! The view was spectacular from all areas of the house and the rooftop area was to die for. Our only criticism was the road up to the property, but taxis were always available at a really cheap price. We will follow Tom and Paul to any property they manage because they are the best!

Room Tip: The largest room on third floor was very roomy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for El Panorama de la Penita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

As soon as we got to El Panorama and enjoyed the gorgeous views from the roof terrace I thought "If this is the Afterlife, I'll take it"...a place you want to return to before you even leave.
Tom & Paul are the most wonderful & gracious hosts of this luxurious & comfortable home. The walk up the steep hill builds shapely calves & helps to work off the ample & delicious breakfasts of fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs & toast in ever new formations. The rooster & dog serenades may not be everybody's cup of tea, but I rather enjoyed the atmospheric concerts that crescendoed at dawn.
Loved exploring La Penita, neighboring Guayabitos, the beaches, the food & the markets.

Room Tip: can't go wrong
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winnipegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I love Mexico. I love the people, I love the food, I love the beaches but I also loved coming home to this little bit of Canada. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the views amazing.

We could not have asked any more of our hosts (Tom & Paul) They were always available to answer questions, make suggestions or loan us kitchen utensils. My only real regret is that breakfast was just too big. I was never really hungry for lunch.

This property is located at the top of a hill (steep hill) with unbelievable views down both sides. The first time up the hill was a challenge but after that we never really had a problem. Having said that, a cab ride from the bottom is 30 pesos.

It sometimes seems like there are more dogs and chickens in Mexico than there are people. If you come, bring ear plugs. The dogs stop barking at 3 AM and the chickens start crowing at 4 :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

While staying in Guayabitos, acquaintances who were vacationing at this gorgeous B&B in La Penita invited 9 of us to Sunday brunch on the patio. The property sits high on a hill with breathtaking views to the ocean, town and scenic valley! Weekend brunch by reservation only if you are not a guest, but not to be missed. The hosts, Tom & Paul, were attentive and friendly, but not intrusive. Our group chose quiche or eggs benedict - both deliciously done to perfection, accompanied by fresh bread, fruit, yogurt, and locally grown coffee. We were encouraged to tour this beautifully appointed home which includes a rooftop pool and terrace, padded lounge chairs, and several sitting areas both inside and out. Bedrooms are spacious and immaculate - everything sparkles! Don't hesitate to leave your hotel or condo, get off the beach and include El Panorama while visiting the area. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We did not stay here, but friends who did chose the largest room, which is huge and has two balconie...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindajsj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had the pleasure of spending time in El Panorama recently during a brief stay in the Jaltemba Bay area. The views from this place are absolutely breathtaking! I would return to El Panorama just for the views of the town and ocean on one side, and the very scenic valley on the other side. But El Panorama offers so much more. As others have said, the owners Tom and Paul, are friendly, accommodating and helpful. With only 3 suites, it was a great spot for a single traveler -- all the privacy I could wish for, but opportunities for company when I wanted it. There are a number of common areas, including a beautiful rooftop terrace with a pool, and comfortable padded loungers and a BBQ for guest use, a couple of indoor sitting areas, and a patio with tables and chairs. All with those fantastic views. The rooms are large, immaculate, and attractive, and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The breakfast, which is included in the price, was delicious and filling. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend El Panorama to anyone, and will definitely go back. Don't let the steep hill stop you -- cabs within Guayabitos and La Penita are only 30 pesos -- well under $3 -- so are very affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CasaMariaPLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have visited this area 7 times before, staying in low price bungalows. Back surgery means that I need a good mattress so the search for a new place to stay began. When we found that El Panorama had posturepedic mattresses, we had our must have. What we didn't realize was just how great it would be. We stayed in the incredibly spacious deluxe room with two balconies. The views and breezes are fantastic. Everything is tiled, including the walk-in closet and the sparkling clean bath and large shower. Excellent breakfasts are served on the main floor patio, complete with hummingbirds visiting the tropical plants. Tom and Paul are friendly and very helpful (they can make lots of suggestions for things to do and where to eat) but they also respect your privacy. At El Panorama, you can stop doing and just be.

La Penita has a main street lined with restaurants, a bank (with ATM), grocery stores, and small shops. El Panorama is located at the top of a side street that begins at a gentle slope and ends with the last block being at about a 20% grade. This is not a barrier for able-bodied adults but if you have a disability that makes it difficult to walk up or down a steep hill (on cobblestones) you will need to use taxis.

The beach at La Penita now has a malecon with benches and great people watching. Be sure to make the time to walk the beach at Guayabitos and eat at a palapa like Amigos Vargas. I have never had fresher fish or shrimp and the prices are incredibly reasonable.

Room Tip: All three of the rooms are nice but the deluxe is worth the additional cost.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraJLewiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been staying in Rincon for a number of years. We are always looking for new and different places that serve a great meal. This is the place! Brunch on the patio is wonderful. Paul and Tom do a great job of cooking and serving. The view is spectacular, on one side of the house you see the Pacific Ocean and the other a beautiful valley. Paul and Tom serve a North American breakfast that is out of this world. The house is beautiful and they do not mind guests wandering about. Make sure you get to the roof top pool. Great place but not easy to get to. The road up is very steep and some cabs just can not make it - be prepared. Cab drivers generally take a little longer route going up which is an adventure in itself. Take the address with you to show to the cab driver. And, cash is the accepted payment.

Room Tip: I have never stayed there but all the rooms look great.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rsmith7412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Penita de Jaltemba
1.8 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
407 reviews
1.7 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
2.3 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
15 reviews
1.6 mi away
Torreblanca Suites
Torreblanca Suites
#3 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
56 reviews
1.9 mi away
Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites
Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites
#5 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Panorama de la Penita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Panorama de la Penita

Address: Oceano Atlantico 82, La Penita de Jaltemba 63726, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > La Penita de Jaltemba
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in La Penita de Jaltemba
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to El Panorama de la Penita, a restful Villa experience in the charming Mexican seaside village of La Penita, Nayarit. Located 40 miles north of Puerto Vallarta, El Panorama de la Penita offers a calm and comfortable get-away retreat overlooking a colorful colonial beachfront town, the majestic Sierra Madre Mountains and the deep-blue waters of the Pacific. Close to the Puerto Vallarta airport in Riveria Nayarit. Next to Rincon de Guayabitos and not far from Sayulita. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Panorama De La Penita La Penita De Jaltemba, Mexico - Nayarit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing