We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular dinner!”

Xaltemba Restaurant & Galeria
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chatham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spectacular dinner!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We dined last night for the first time at Xaltemba Restaurant, La Penita de Jaltemba, Nayarit, Mexico at their fifth aanniversary celebration. Guest chef Betty Vasquez from Hotel Garza Canela in San Blas created a very unique menu selection. We dined on ceviche de pescado with oregano and chile serrano, salad of pear, fried leek, cashews and grilled squash with Roquefort dressing, shrimp with chipotle chile and sweet plantains followed by coconut ice cream. It was so good we made another reservation for Friday evening for the last evening of our holiday. A very unique venue which also houses an art gallery and a very affable owner.

Visited February 2012

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 27Nana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spectacular dinner!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We dined last night for the first time at Xaltemba Restaurant, La Penita de Jaltemba, Nayarit, Mexico at their fifth aanniversary celebration. Guest chef Betty Vasquez from Hotel Garza Canela in San Blas created a very unique menu selection. We dined on ceviche de pescado with oregano and chile serrano, salad of pear, fried leek, cashews and grilled squash with Roquefort dressing, shrimp with chipotle chile and sweet plantains followed by coconut ice cream. It was so good we made another reservation for Friday evening for the last evening of our holiday. A very unique venue which also houses an art gallery and a very affable owner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 27Nana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This restaurant is a little jewel in LaPenita very good food and great ambience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank twokgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Steak”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Had a great rib-eye steak and catch of the day. Also they have a great Mexican red wine on the menu

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bjschwandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if you're in La Penita”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The menu selection is excellent for a small Mexican town. The owners and the staff make folks feel welcome. One of the owners, Eddie, is often their and comes to meet the quests, while waiters Victor and his brother manage the tables and the bar with great smiles. The menu has a good selection of local favorites and well prepared steak for gringos who need their beef hit. Saturday often has entertainment, and sitting in the open court yard has a particularly special Mexican ambiance. Prices are reasonable, and the food is consistently well prepared. I highly recommended it if you are in La Penita. B from Lo De Marcos.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonedtraveler9928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xaltemba Restaurant & Galeria also viewed

La Penita de Jaltemba, Riviera Nayarit
Rincon de Guayabitos, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Penita de Jaltemba, Riviera Nayarit
Rincon de Guayabitos, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Xaltemba Restaurant & Galeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing