We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it if you're in La Penita”

Xaltemba Restaurant & Galeria
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if you're in La Penita”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The menu selection is excellent for a small Mexican town. The owners and the staff make folks feel welcome. One of the owners, Eddie, is often their and comes to meet the quests, while waiters Victor and his brother manage the tables and the bar with great smiles. The menu has a good selection of local favorites and well prepared steak for gringos who need their beef hit. Saturday often has entertainment, and sitting in the open court yard has a particularly special Mexican ambiance. Prices are reasonable, and the food is consistently well prepared. I highly recommended it if you are in La Penita. B from Lo De Marcos.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonedtraveler9928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly service/great food”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had American Thanksgiving dinner and it was fabulous! Nothing to dislike.

Los Compadres was another great spot to eat and enjoy the view. the owners George and Loretta made you feel so welcome it was like you were an old friend.

Irma's resturant just off the main street was a great spot for lunch - great food. Inexpensive

Solay was another great Italian restruant opposite the town square. Italian dishes were very good and inexpensive. Service great.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bennettdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have been going to Xaltemba for years and we recently tried out their new menu. Everyone in our party raved about the food. We live in Chacala and we brave the half hour night time drive La Penita at night only to go to this restaurant. It is always a wonderful evening.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminL487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not impressed - Mediocre”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We visited two weeks ago and found the food to be mediocre at best. Service was OK but food not prepared with care or flavour. Owner was very friendly but we would not go back. Price was high which would be OK if the food was good. Cannot understand the reviews here - perhaps it was an off night. Found much better at restaurants close by.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iceqween13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Roberts, WA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greatly Enjoyed!”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Many restaurants I have eaten in and I am damn critical, just ask my girl friend. So when I tell you this place deserves a five star rating I am not just being generous. The food was great, the service was great, and the decor and atmosphere is memorable. The evening I was there they were projecting old silent black and white Mexican short films on to the tall wall overlooking the dining courtyard... Nice Touch!

If you are in the area be sure to enjoy a meal here, my thanks to Eddie Dominguez for his cordiality and to Nancy and Dan Milski for introducing me to this fine eatery.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xaltemba Restaurant & Galeria also viewed

La Penita de Jaltemba, Riviera Nayarit
La Penita de Jaltemba, Riviera Nayarit
 
Rincon de Guayabitos, Riviera Nayarit
La Penita de Jaltemba, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Xaltemba Restaurant & Galeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing