We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View but rooms are very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Guajataca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Guajataca
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quebradillas
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great View but rooms are very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2006

I stayed here 3 nights, the hotel gets lots of locals on the weekend but is empty during the week. The room is very basic, with a small bancony. There are tiny ants all over the place, don't keep food in your room or they will be in it! I complained about the ants but they did nothing. I even changed rooms from the original I was in, the 2nd floor was a little better. The pool is Hugh! I had it myself during the week. The biggest attraction at this Hotel is the view and beach. The waves are BIG, you cannot swim here but if you like hanging out on the beach, this is the spot! Be careful if you walk in the surf, I cut my foot on some coral and had to have the life guard fix me up.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Ants!
  • Tips/Secrets — There is a great lookout at the top of the hill, pull over and check out the view! Also, down the road is a park with an old train tunnel you can walk through right along the beach.
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vettewomanpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    31
    19
    22
See reviews for
44
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

Very nice view, pools where excellent but rooms are in need of a renovation asap. Food was good but not much to choose from. Bar ok but did not have any ice for the rooms or DRINKS. This hotel can be such a special place if only they renovated the place. Also did not like the fact that we had to share the pool with people that are not staying in the hotel. I hope the management reads this too. The got alot of work to do.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2006

If you are loking for luxury and pampering, go elsewhere. If you want the most gorgeous view and a patio to look off of, sounds of ocean waves to lull you to sleep, stay here. Great for kids with a playground and pool. I have been there > 10 times. Bakery and retaurants nearby.

I have been to Puerto Rico > 20 times for business and love to come here for privacy and the view

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Palooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2006

We stood one night, it was like staying @ a cheap motel except for the view. It was like pulling teeth to get clean towels and the room was very dull. The view was nice but nothing extravegant. The pool was really the only nice thing although we had to wait for the life guard to show up. ( he was late) I would never, ever return there. The soda machines were broken. The ice machine was no where to be found. It really wasn't a nice stay at all. Sorry

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebradillas hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2006

My girl and I stood at this hotel WHAT a BIG mistake.... We payed $140.00 for the night and they dont even have room service. They are worse than a cheap motel. The vending machines do not work. The restaurant was very expensive and serves only sea food. What about people that are allergic to sea food? The room was nasty with peeling walls and the A/C work as loud as a truck. The did not gave us shampoo, rinse or nothing in the bathroom. Anyway I do not recommend this place. It s----.... It can not be rated....

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2005

My husband and I were suppose to stay for 4 days we only stayed 1 night. This place is terrible I spent the whole enitre night killing bugs and roaches in the room. The food in the restaurant had a bug in my rice. I was so disapointed this place has a wonderful view of the ocean but the cleanliness is terrible. The room was so dirty I didnt even want to lie on the bed. For the amount of money this place charged us for a night you could go further up to Aguadilla and stay at El Cielo Mar and get a wonderful room with delightful people. Thats what we did, thank god we were able to get a room at that place. I would not stay in the hotel even if the room would be free of charge. Please no one stay here, my husband and I stood 2 nights in San Juan at the Hilton what a difference to this place.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2004

My husband and I stay here often when we are in PR. It serves as a weekend getaway from the professional responisbilites that bring us to PR every year. It is not a hotel that exists to serve Americans, it is where PR families stay for their vacations. The rooms are minimal, hard beds, basic shower, but clean. If you are looking to get a pampered hotel stay, don't go there. While the surf is too rough to swim, everything else about it is wonderful. While I have been to many "beachfront" hotels, more often than not: the hotel is on the beach alright, but you can't see it unless you get outside and walk a bit. Here every room faces the beach, you can just experience it sitting on your balcony. Just north of there, up the highway, is a senic overlook that is breathtaking. And if you are adventurous enough, you will eat lunch from the vendor that parks up there, very delicious authentic PR food! Back at the hotel, you can walk along the shore, scramble over rocks until you reach the spot where a small river/creek opens into the ocean. Often you will see local families coming there to swim. Most of the time you will be the only mainlanders there. You definitly need a car. There are a couple of decent restaurants in the area, one has a tables on a porch so even as you eat you can look out over the water. Very relaxing, very Carribbean!

Helpful?
11 Thank dainaadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quebradillas
2.4 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
7.5 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
10.8 mi away
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 4 in Aguadilla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
12.2 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 4 in Aguadilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
22.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Guajataca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Guajataca

Property: Hotel El Guajataca
Address: Road #2, Km 103.8 | Terranova Ward, Quebradillas 00678, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Quebradillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quebradillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Guajataca 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Guajataca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador El Guajataca Hotel Quebradillas
Parador El Guajataca Quebradillas
Parador Guajataca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing