We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the sound of the surf from our balcony”
Review of Hotel El Guajataca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel El Guajataca
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quebradillas
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Very nice rooms and very clean. Lovely grounds and amazing coast line with cliffs and the surf. Staff were very friendly at check in. Wifi only works in lobby which is comfy and well decorated.Free breakfast is basic with coffee, juice and toast. Very friendly staff throughout. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HojasRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stay for a weekend the view is beautiful, the room was clean, very quiet place. Is near to many restaurants and places to visit like las Cavernas del Rio Camuy and el Observatorio de Arecibo.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JV8602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

magnificent ocean view, poor facilities and lack of maintenance

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

First, this is no longer a "parador" (a government-run small inn). It is now a private hotel. In 2002, during our first stay, it had a decent, free breakfast, a mini-'frig in room, even a free drink when you checked in. All this is gone.

Although the room itself was clean (though musty), garbage littered the grounds below the windows. The window was rusted shut. There was no hot water in the shower. Two pieces of cold toast and bad coffee (where is the legendary Puerto Rican blend?) was $2.19. At 8 AM the restaurant was closed so we ate at the bar. "Why is the restaurant closed?" we asked. The surly clerk shrugged. "The cook's still sleeping." A stray dog and cat roamed the indoor common areas, the dog begging for food, which some guests threw from their balconies.

I've lived in Puerto Rico for six years. Do yourself a favor. Stay in San Juan. Or, better yet, vacation in the Dominican Republic. It's right next door to P.R., cheaper, and has better service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ESLTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

i stayed last year the staff is nice but one of the staff is really good and knows the vaul of a custmor she goes out of her way to help the guest she goes that extra mile god bless her her name rosa.the rooms are nice and clean the view is great.i will be back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corchado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My family and I lived in Arecibo, Puerto Rico for about 1 1/2years and returned to visit the Island and show our kids. We stayed at El Guajataca for 2 nights and we loved the pool and beach so much! But the best part was in the morning when we sat down for breakfast and the window right by our table was open and the ocean breezes felt so relaxing and refreshing. I felt like I didn't have a care in the world, all my family was with me and the view of the ocean and sound of the waves is a memory that always is there when I think of Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misty2chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

my name is shey roman and i have been travelling to this hotel for 2o years. i was born in ponce but i stay here because i love it ! i love the staff, the pool the walk to the river and the ocean. i wake up to this beautiful view and it sets my soul free. i can connect with the ocean and be free. so for the haters ....too bad, nothing in life is perfect its how you view it......oh and about the dogs ...its sad but if you give a **F bring them food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tainashey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quebradillas
2.4 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
7.5 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
16.9 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
22.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
801 reviews
22.3 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Guajataca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Guajataca

Address: Road #2, Km 103.8 | Terranova Ward, Quebradillas 00678, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Quebradillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quebradillas
Price Range: $109 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Guajataca 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel El Guajataca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador El Guajataca Hotel Quebradillas
Parador El Guajataca Quebradillas
Parador Guajataca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing