We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to give above average but morally I could not for the respect of bbq”
Review of Brother Jimmy's BBQ - CLOSED

Brother Jimmy's BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“I wanted to give above average but morally I could not for the respect of bbq”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Not sure where to start let's see awesome views nice friendly service decent portions

Crappy bathrooms
Prices could be better
No bread with the BBQ
The BBQ sauce had no thickness and was flat it was almost like flavored colored water it was impossible to use more sauce

We got rip tips appetizer very good
Onion straws. Okay too gooey perhaps it was frozen too long
Cobb salad with grill chicken very good also
The green beans were decent with grilled taste

Helpful?
Thank jdreynoldsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    86
    85
    54
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House music and great views”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Went on a weeknight and liked atmosphere, more laid back. Enjoyed drinks and would definitely have the wings. Views and breeze on the rooftop were also very nice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“5 stars for the view;1 star for the food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have eaten here 2 or 3 times when visiting Puerto Rico. Frankly, BBQ does not fit into a Caribbean location. The place is all the things I really do not care for. LOUD music, a mechanical bull, several televisions featuring sports, and lousy food. The meats I had were tough and bland. The sides were "meh". The best thing about this place is that it is on the top floor of the El San Juan Hotel and Casino. The views are spectacular. The staff is so-so, but I am sure they are as captivated as I was by the sights of the sea and city.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marsha14057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our food was just ok, $8 for a coors light. Servers were just ok. You don't get as much as a view as you would think. I would not recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrsydevil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A Big Disappointment”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Located on the top floor of the El San Juan Hotel, Brother Jimmy's was disappointing at best. The BBQ was somewhat tasteless and dry. My husband had a half chicken dinner and I had BBQd chicken breast. The side dishes were not good at all and the chicken might have been better in a tv dinner. We were very disappointed and would not go back. The prices were reasonable and the atmosphere is somewhat like a sports bar with tvs everywhere. The restaurant is open air.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geonannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brother Jimmy's BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing