We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Jose Restaurant - CLOSED

Don Jose Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Treat yourself to the Taste of the Puerto Rican cuisine. The new world cuisine of the Caribbean, with its emphasis on only the freshest ingredients and seasonings, offers an exciting blend of taste sensations. Puerto Rican cuisine has been influenced by many culinary disciplines, including European, African, and Asian to name a few. Enjoy the taste of our original mashed plantain stuffed with shrimp or chicken or just our onion beef steak with rice and beams as a sample of our great variety of Puerto Rican dishes.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Are all my meals here! The octupus salad, chicken mofongo, breakfast flank steak with rice and means and tostones, chicken wings. I came to puerto rico for puertorican food. I noticed that the hotels served American, Japanese, Italian, but no puertorican!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atraveler619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Mountain, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Muy Excellente!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Absolutely delicious, flavourful Puerto rican cuisine. Restaurant is small, but always busy, which in our travels signals to us 'eat here!' The service was wonderful, both English or Spanish. Cocktail drinks were delicious and the food was amazing! Good mix of American foods such as hambugers, but n array of local mofongos, seafood dishes and local drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LycheeLovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, MD
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Service Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Great Authentic Puerto Rican food! The red snapper in garlic sauce was absolutely fantastic. Great friendly service in an authentic atmosphere. I'll be coming back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank YDM425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice and easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Caribbean food with a great taste and a great service. Here you can taste a part of the Caribbean. It fusions Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic so nicely that you can't imagine the difference. Great service!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaniaRichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lunch is not great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lunch menu was extremely limited, more American than Puerto Rican cuisine, prices were expensive, paid for a side dish for my fried sweet plaintain, 6 small slices for USD$2.50! It is open for 24 hours, I am wondering whether they changed the menu later in the evening. There are special on the board but it was not displayed outward to the public. Service was ho-hum. Don Jose pale in comparison to Metropol!!!! Metropol was a 100 times better!

Don't advertise as PR food, because there is more American cuisine then PR type of food, call it a pseudo - Denny's

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Jose Restaurant also viewed

Isla Verde, Carolina
Isla Verde, Carolina
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing