We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and easy”
Review of Don Jose Restaurant - CLOSED

Don Jose Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Treat yourself to the Taste of the Puerto Rican cuisine. The new world cuisine of the Caribbean, with its emphasis on only the freshest ingredients and seasonings, offers an exciting blend of taste sensations. Puerto Rican cuisine has been influenced by many culinary disciplines, including European, African, and Asian to name a few. Enjoy the taste of our original mashed plantain stuffed with shrimp or chicken or just our onion beef steak with rice and beams as a sample of our great variety of Puerto Rican dishes.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice and easy”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Caribbean food with a great taste and a great service. Here you can taste a part of the Caribbean. It fusions Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic so nicely that you can't imagine the difference. Great service!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaniaRichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lunch is not great!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lunch menu was extremely limited, more American than Puerto Rican cuisine, prices were expensive, paid for a side dish for my fried sweet plaintain, 6 small slices for USD$2.50! It is open for 24 hours, I am wondering whether they changed the menu later in the evening. There are special on the board but it was not displayed outward to the public. Service was ho-hum. Don Jose pale in comparison to Metropol!!!! Metropol was a 100 times better!

Don't advertise as PR food, because there is more American cuisine then PR type of food, call it a pseudo - Denny's

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Authentic”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Really good food. Puerto Rican food isn't pretty let's face it. so no picture. But man oh man was it good. 1st stop fresh off the plane. Don't spend all your money at the hotel restaurants. They are over priced and not as good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real Puerto Rican food!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stumbled on Don Jose's looking for a different place for dinner. We couldn't find it and chose Don Jose's. This is real PR food just like my partner's mom makes. The bistek with onions and tostones were awesome. Prices and service were great! If you are looking for some foo foo restaurant that charges over the top for the scenery, this isn't it. You'll be happy you tried them!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank splytperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT local spot!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you are expecting red carpet and chandeliers, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a GREAT meal of typical local foods, this is a it. Fresh OJ, fluffy pancakes, good hot fresh coffee, large portions. Simply good fair and open 24/7

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Gal_and_Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Jose Restaurant also viewed

Isla Verde, Carolina
Isla Verde, Carolina
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing