We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere”

Platos Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #5 of 177 Restaurants in Carolina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The true taste of Puertorican food! Come and enjoy a piece of Puerto Rico with our variety of dishes. Mofongos, Angus Beef, Seafood, Paellas, Pasta and much more. Your favorite drink awaits for you at our bar. Also you can try our house drinks, sangrias and more. By the glass or a bottle, you will find your favorite wine at Platos Restaurant in Isla Verde. Red, Sparkling, Rosé or White, we have it
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I went here on a recent visit to Puerto Rico. We were basically sticking to restaurants that were within walking distance of our hotel. The food was good (I had the mofongo churassco and my daughter had chicken in creole sauce) and the service was excellent. They also have great sangria. But the real selling point here was the music. We went on Saturday night and two musicians set up in the bar and they were fantastic! We sat very close to them so it did make it difficult to talk but it really made the atmosphere come alive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    335
    136
    68
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oldbridge
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I ate there on our last day in PR, while the food was a bit SALTY it was pretty good. Chicaron de pollo was very good but salty. All of the plates were reasonably priced. I would recommend that they cook with less salt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Riveraoldbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this place was the coconut sangria. I found the food a little dry. The service was slow, but why would I be in a rush in Puerto Rico.

Helpful?
Thank golfnut2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Puerto Rican Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I had the opportunity to dine at Platos Restaurant my first night in Puerto Rico. The fresh Red Snapper with rice and beans was delicious! The portion were huge enough to share. We also ordered the green mussels in saffron sauce appetizer which was outstanding. They also serve excellent wine and coconut sangria. Our server was very nice and helped explain all of the dishes well. A must visit spot if you are near Isla Verde in San Juan.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriGrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
209 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Sangria Selections”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The server recommended the Churrasco, grilled flank steak, so that was one of the meals we tried. Our piece was very chewy and not that tender with more fat than should be expected. That dish was disappointing. Our other meal was the Chicken Breast in a Creole Sauce which was very good. Also very good were the selection of Sangrias. We tried the Mango and it was delicious. Get the pitcher if you want more than one glass each. When I return I'll probably try some of the appetizers which looked very good as I watched them being served to other patrons.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaloneBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platos Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Platos Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing