We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two different golf courses”

Palmas Del Mar Golf Club
Ranked #5 of 12 things to do in Humacao
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Thomas, ON
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“two different golf courses”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We played both courses the same day. One of the courses is more undulating and open, the other more park like with treelined fairways. Both were challenging, and fun to play. Conditions weren't the greatest as they'd experienced a lot of rain. Staff was pleasent, proshop well equipped, snack bar with a good menu (we actually sat sown in the restaurant, service was a bit slow, but luckily we had enough time to finish our second round. The food we ordered was okay, not great but certainly not bad. One disturbing thing to mention was that there was an old lady at one of the halfway bathroom facilities that was begging for money, kind of strange in a gated community, and certainly startling to come across something like that on a golf course.
The frustrating part was trying to contact the proshop to book a tee time, emails were never answered, and the website is not very good. We ended up booking through Caribe Golf. The community itself I can't say much about as we only saw the portions surrounding the golf course. It looks huge though, with Wyndham even having a hotel there. Seems like a nice retirement community, with a mix of Puerto Ricans and North Americans. Golf ended up being about $140 with the second round being cheaper.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MelNFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Purto Rico Vacation”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at a time share we have through RCI for a week. It was a villa and had three bedrooms and a pull out couch. We travelled with two of our adult children.

Helpful?
1 Thank SandDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is Paradise!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We are New Englanders and live at Palmas del Mar 6 months a year. We are, also, avid golfers. Palmas has two beautiful 18 hole golf courses that are fun, challenging and very different from one another.
The clubhouse is gorgeous and the staff is super. And if you like tennis, too, there are 20 professional and well maintained courts at the Tennis Center. Palmas has a hotel, Casino, restaurants, private homes, condos, timeshare ...
It is truly paradise

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2ndchances2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not our cup of tea”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Palmas de Mar is a humongous resort community. It is absolutely beautiful and you would expect multiple activities, people, and opportunities. Unless you like golf or driving on a golf cart the place is a bit overrated. We found the community to be void of people, open restaurants, entertainment, ect. Our beachfront town house was ideally situated and beautiful.. We could sit on our balcony and see Vieques in the distance. The beach is not really a swimming beach (tons of seaweed, choppy waves, not clear) but we knew this so did not plan on using it that way. You would expect the Plaza to be an area of action, but not so. Many shops and restaurants were closed and didn't look like they were planning to open anytime soon. My kids called Palmas a millionaire ghost town! On the Friday night of our visit things appeared to pick up and there was much more action/people. All restaurants/activities in Palmas are poorly advertised/marketed. Trying to find all restaurants is challenging. Nothing is labeled and people working within the community don't seem to know how to find anything. It was seriously frustrating and somewhat comical. The feel was they didn't want you there anyway (ie " if you don't know how to find it, we don't want you here) . It worked on us and we won't be back. I was so grateful that we ended our vacation at El Convento in Old San Juan and didn't go there first. It would have been completely disappointing to arrive at Palmas after experiencing a true first rate stay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MandGBollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“palmas golf experience”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have a home at Palmas and play the courses dozens of times each year. I was down over the July 4th weekend and was surprised by the experience this time around.

The courses were in terrible shape. Same week I played Dorado, El conquistador and Rio Mar-river course. The conditions at Palmas lagged way behind all the courses I played.

Also, if you aren't a member at Palmas expect the staff to be rude. All the other courses on the Island you are treated like a king when you show up. It's unfortunate but the place I have a home, the golf experience is among the worst on the Island.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmas Del Mar Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Palmas Del Mar Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing