We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food and service !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pura Vida

Pura Vida
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Humacao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rolla
2 reviews
“Awesome food and service !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We loved our meal and our children did as well. This was our best meal in Puerto Rico. This is our fourth trip here. Our future foodies rated their meal at 10/10! They ordered rice and beans the other had a steak.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Msburns0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    48
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was our first night in Humacao and while the family was walking around trying to figure out where to eat. Ivan the new owner of Pura Vida saw us and started a conversation with us.Next thing you know he set up tables for us and we ordered. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was relaxing and most of all Ivan's friendly attitude was refreshing. We did wait a little longer than normal but it gave us time to talk and take pictures. Once the food came it was worth the wait even my picky 9 year old ate all his food. I recommend anyone in the area to stop on by and tell Ivan the big family from Chicago sent you. We even went back on our last day to say good bye...he is now family!! Good Luck on your restaurant Good fortune!!! Borges/Rolon Family

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yummmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

To the new administration, great job!! :) food and atmosphere were great! Would highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandieroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This restaurant is under new ownership. Family just ordered three different entry's and they were all excellent

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robethmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My family and I had dinner there while vacationing in Palmas del Mar and we had numerous issues with our meals there. We liked the menu, but upon ordering, we found out that they were out of several of the specific items we wanted even though it was a slow night, and at the time, we were the only customers there. Not wanting to look for another restaurant, we went ahead and ordered alternate selections. The food took a half hour to come and we were not even offered bread or additional beverages in the meantime. When the food was ready, the waitress could only bring us one plate of our four meals at a time.

When she brought out the seafood stew, we could literally smell it coming, and it was not not a good smell. I tried it, and although some of it tasted okay, several spoon-fulls with the calamari tasted "off." The filet mignon did not even resemble a steak. It was maybe 3 ounces of some side trim piece that should have been cut up for beef tips. My daughter's tuna was painfully overcooked and dry. My other daughter's pasta primavera was a bowl of pasta and vegetables drowning in a watery red wine "sauce."

We saw someone who appeared to be a manager/owner and we expressed our displeasure with the meals, but he offered no accommodation, and we did not see him again. Paying the bill in full, we left very disappointed with our evening and feeling ripped off by locals taking advantage of the tourists. So, I say do not go to this restaurant. It would be a terrible wasted of your money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida also viewed

 
Palmas Del Mar, Humacao
Humacao, Puerto Rico
 
Humacao, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing