We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst customer service yet!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villas at Palmas

The Villas at Palmas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Villas at Palmas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Humacao
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst customer service yet!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2008

I made my reservation at The Villas in Palmas because of the good reviews and price range for the rooms.

My dissapointment is really with the management of the hotel and not the facilities themselves. I'm a busy professional in the state in florida, and emergencies do come up. I had a wedding scheduled for the weekend that I had to cancel due to my work emergency. I contacted the hotel first, trying to reach the manager, Jose Pico. He was not available that day but I was told to call back Monday. That was okay with me. When I called back, he was not available again. Tried on Tuesday again and was told to call in half an hour, did that too. Tired of calling already to no avail, I was told that he would not come to the phone and the decision was made already to charge my credit card. Basically, no one was willing to talk to me about what happened.

The money was not the most important thing in this matter, and if the manager would have had the decency to at least pick up the phone and attend to my situation I would have probably been satisfied and understood their policy. But avoiding your clients the whole weekend is not the way to deal with people. I'm originally from PR and have travelled widely around the world and have yet to be treated this way in any place.

Overall very, very dissapointed with the way management deals with unexpected situaion that could happen to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
6 Thank fede17mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

We just got back from a stay at Palmas del Mar. We were in a 2 bedroom condo with one bath at the Fairways Court community. We rented a car at the SJU airport and drove about an hour south to get to the Palmas del Mar set of communities. Once through the gate, we found the office for Villas at Palmas after a short drive to the "downtown" section. We brought our GPS from home and it was a great help traversing the island although it could not be relied upon for local stores or restaurants (i.e. it said the closest Walgreens was 30m away when it was actually about 2 or 3 miles in Humacao).

Even though our plane was late and we arrived around midnight, there was still someone in the office waiting for us to arrive. Each condo community within the larger community is also gated and manned with a guard 24/7. This was helpful since we had not eaten on the way out and the guard was able to give me directions to a close place out of the community that was open late.

The condo was on the second floor with a view of a cement pond lake. The kids enjoyed throwing bread from the patio balcony to the birds and giant lizards. The beach was a bit of a walk but the kids enjoyed the waves and building sand castles. The condo itself was well furnished with a tropical theme. Had a large sunken living and dining area with room for 6 at the dining table. There was a full kitchen with oven, stove, microwave, fridge, dishwasher...everything you would expect. There was also a stacked washer/dryer in the closet. There were 2 bedrooms. One had two twins and the other had a queen. There were 3 televisions (all with cable). It took a couple of minutes to figure out the multiple remotes. One is for the TV (use for turning TV on and off and controlling volume. set the TV to Channel 3). The other remote was for the cable box (point it at the cable box and use it to move through the channels). As stated in one of the other reviews, the shower cold/hot water controls are backwards.

We ate breakfast everyday in the condo on the balcony and had the rest of our meals out so we stocked up on breakfast supplies and snacks only. We used the condo as our home base and took day trips. I'd recommend El Yunque rain forest, a snorkel trip on EastWind catamaran from Fajardo, a walk through old San Juan (be sure to feed the pigeons), and the bioluminescent bay.

We had a great time overall and would definitely go back. Be sure to bake in enough time to just relax at the pool or beach. Also make sure to reapply the sun screen often since it wears off quickly in the water. Casino at 4points was fun but don't plan on leaving with any money. Have fun!

  • Liked — Lots of room to spread out in the condo. Everyone had their own bed
  • Disliked — Parking at hotel and beach expensive (Free at condo)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Thedadeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

This is worth the money especially if its more than 2 people. This is like a luxury apt. Although no room service you wopnt need it cause it has everything. Within the area they have restaurants, market, shopping, salon, and more. There was actually no need to go out of the area except for gas. I wish I would have spent my whole trip there. There a casino in this community for those who have a habit of looking for lady luck.

  • Liked — washer and dryer inside villa
  • Disliked — ????
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank truthfulBrooklyn_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

First of al, the "Villas" is/are not a hotel. They are condos and/or furnished investment properties (studios, 1,2,and 3 bedroom apartments) situated throughout the Palmas del Mar resort complex. So don't expect room service, the usual "hotel" services, amenities or lots of hand-holding. If you need those sort of things, book the Four Points Sheraton (also on the complex).
The sophisticated traveler can expect a clean, well maintained, furnished efficiency apartment in a well protected community setting. The Villas are decorated by their individual owners and thus it's tough to describe the decore you might find (our one bedroom Villa was a bit spartan, but clean as a whistle with a bathroom as large as an entire hotel room. Daily maid service even washed the dishes in the dishawsher.). Our Villa was in the "Dorado" community, next to the Sheraton and adjacent to the beach. Temperatures during the day (most of the year) are in the mid eighties with a trade-wind sea breeze keeping the air moving most of the time. Our Villa was air conditioned, but we used open windows and doors (no bugs) and ceiling fans to keep things comfortable.
Palmas del Mar is a gated resort area consisting of about thirty sub-gated residential communites that generally tend to cluster around life-style cores that include the beach, tennis, golf, equestarian and boating choices. There are a half dozen or so restaurants on the expansive property that cater to a wide range of tastes and budgets. The seasoned traveler will find the local fare (outside the gates) fun to try as well. Nothing fancy, but potentially loads of fun. Budget conscious visitors can prepare their own meals in their Villas using groceries from several shops or supermarkets in nearby Humacoa.
Although golf cart rentals are available on the property, a rental car is an absolute necessity. It's a 45 minute ride from San Juan (unless the rentalcar folks send you via Fajardo..which will take 90 minutes on a good day). Puerto Rican drivers are somewhat agressive and seem to view traffic control devices and signs as "advisory" so highway caution is always appropriate.
Enjoy Puerto Rico. The weather is usually perfect (including a daily shower that dries off quickly). The people are generally hospitible and helpful. We have been visiting PR for well over thirty years and have found the Villas to be an excellent travel value (considering what you receive).

  • Liked — Overall value
  • Disliked — No Internet Connection (without some effort)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank skipmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

We had a 2 bedroom in the FairCourts section. It had 2 bathrooms, a gorgeous entry way, beautiful furniture in the living room, dining room, and outside furniture. We were on the first floor, so walk outside to your patio furniture, beautiful landscaping and the pool was very close too!! We just got lucky with our room location, it was the best in the entire complex. I noticed other patios didn't have the nice furniture we had and we had the best location to the pool. It was beautiful. But not a good location for going to the beach. We had to cut through the Sheraton, and it was a good walk. The beach wasn't even nice, seaweed, redish color sand. If you had a key card to open the gate on the side of the property it would have cut the walk time in half, but they didn't give us one, so we had to walk out of the complex through where the cars come in which was the opposite direction of the beach/sheraton. Probably a 15 minute walk. If you like tennis this complex was close to the tennis courts. They have many other complex's which I can't compare, but maybe some are better than others. The only real downside is there is no one to help you if you have questions. No concierge, and your pretty much on your own. It rained one day and there was nothing to do! We went to the casino at the sheraton, it was very small but the only thing we could do on a rainy day. Getting there was no problem from SJU, we got a navigational system, which worked great, I couldn't have got there without it. Took about 45 minutes from the airport.

  • Liked — Spaciousness, beautifully decorated interior, and outside landscaping
  • Disliked — location to the beach
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shadow362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

This is a condo setting, for total relaxation. Not the busy hotel setting. We were there Mon and Tues, our building was empty, not a problem for us we like quite and intimate time. We stayed at the Playa Dorada building. It was absolutly wonderfull. At night we walk to the casino at the Four Points Sheraton. It was busy. The beach was clean, be aware of four foot waves, lots of fun for the thrill seekeers. We rented a golf cart and it was fun. Tour the whole property, palmas del mar is like a dream place....

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mayapr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhNina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed with our 3 kids, ages 10,11,13 at the Villas at palmas in Humacao. We rented a car from the San Juan air port. The freeways were a little confusing and the signs are in Spanish, but we had a navigation system that saved us. I thought we were staying in a hotel setting, but it is condo's. They were very well kept and large. I loved having a full kitchen and a washer/dryer. We went for the garden view, but had a great ocean view anyway. The grounds are gorgeous. There are several restaurants inside Palmas Del Mar, most of them a little pricey, but very good. The ocean was pretty, but they have an undercurrent that you need to be careful of. We loved visiting the El Yunque rain forest and the fort in El Moro as well as San Juan.

  • Liked — The beautiful tropical surroundings
  • Disliked — No concierge to get help from
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank OhNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
3.8 mi away
Parador Palmas De Lucia
22.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
20.4 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
21.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Palmas

Property: The Villas at Palmas
Address: 295 Palmas Inn Way | Suite 6, Humacao 00791-6181, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Humacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Villas at Palmas 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
The Villas At Palmas Hotel Humacao
Hotel At Palmas
Palmas Del Mar Puerto Rico
Hotel Palmas Del Mar
At Palmas Hotel
The Villas At Palmas Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing