We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a relaxing getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Humacao B&B and Inns
Durham, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We planned a spur of the moment vacation and were looking at the last minute for a place to stay. We found Barefoot Travelers on this site and decided to give it a shot. It was perfect. It is seriously a two minute walk to the empty beach- we were out there by ourselves most days. If we felt like going for a walk, there were gorgeous trails that led to perfect views. Keishya was perfect at giving us recommendations for food and other local sites. We made the trip out to Monkey Island and it was hands-down our favorite part of the vacation. The best part was that Keishya let us take the kayaks back to the beach by the house ourselves, giving us time to just play in the water and have an unforgettable morning. Everything was always clean and taken care of-- this is a place we wouldn't hesitate to stay at again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t_sp0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
144
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I stumbled upon The Barefoot Travelers online. Our travel agent helped make arrangements w/ Keishya. We've always opted for all-inclusives.
If you need the Ritz, this is not your place. If you want clean, more secluded; read on.
We vacationed with another couple so we opted for the bedroooms that shared a bath. It worked out fine.
We were just a few houses from the beach. The beach may not be groomed like the all-inclusives, but it is so private. We jokingly referred to it as "our beach". A friendly little dog joined us on our walks along the beach and fetched a coconut for a mile or two.
We also spent time by the pool. It was so relaxing. We enjoyed music playing while we hung out..One evening we joined Bob & Keishya and some of their friends for a cookout. We wandered through a nature preserve within close walking distance.
Keishya got us all set for excurstions and the best dining options. Two of us were brave enough to hanglide with Bob. Those two gave it a huge thumbs up. Then there was Monkey Island, and the East Winds Excursions. Fun!! We sampled some authentic cuisine that was quite tasty.
I do wish it would have been within walking distance to grocery and restaurants.
We did use the kitchen a fair amount to cut down on cost.
You do need to know that Bob & Keishy have four smaller dogs that you will see out in the pool area. They are no problem.
Certainly, this is a place to consider. Bob and Keishya make you feel so welcome. If you are not quite sold yet, maybe try The Barefoot Travelers for a few nights of your stay. It's a refreshing change

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatvacation_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

The pool was great, comfy bed, and the owners very helpful and friendly. Visitors get to use the kitchen and dining area for meals. Wish I had been able to stay longer.
They had a power outage while I was there, but the owners had back up emergency lighting

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CtFreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This was our first trip since our daughter was born. We were very nervous to travel with an 18 mos old child. Our daughter hates being taken out of her familiar environment, but we really needed a vacation so we took the risk. We also deliberated for a while whether we should be true to ourselves and go authentic or listen to everyone around us and go to an all-inclusive resort. Well,our stay at the Barefoot Travelers couldn't have been better!
Starting from the beginning - booking and arranging all the details (crib delivery, directions, planning) - Keyshya was one step ahead of us! The place was very nice and clean. We stayed in the master bedroom so we had our own bathroom. The room is spacious. Kitchen is fully equipped. You also don't have to worry about cooking oil, salt, spices etc. There is also a beautiful yard with a nice swimming pool - great place to be both day and night.
The beach is very close. Our daughter walked there no problem. We loved how empty the beach was. On the weekdays we often were the only people there. The ocean was a bit rough, definetely not kids friendly, but we still had a great time. The rain forest is within walking distance (5 min top). The trails in the rainforest are wide and safe. We hiked there a couple of times and absolutely loved it. You can get to the beach on the other side of the rainforest and the view there is breathtaking!
And of course we couldn't pass the opportunity to go hanggliding. Again, Bob and Keyshya were so accommodating when we were making arrangements for our daughter. The flight was amazing!!! Bob and Keyshya make you feel very relaxed. You get a feeling that you are in good hands.
So we highly recommend the Barefoot Travelers! We will definetely come again when we get a chance!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aphina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2010

My husband and 2 daughters aged 11 &13 started our 2 week trip to PR here. Keishya and bob were the most wonderful hosts I have ever come across. They gave great suggestions on things to do, places to see, restaurants to eat at. All those things that can make a vacation a wonderful vacation. We took the bio bay trip with Bob, which everyone in my family agreed was the highlight of our vacation. We were sorry to leave but no for long because the last place we had booked to stay at turned out to be a dump!!! called Keishya desperate for a place to stay, we had 3 more nights to stay, and they were more then happy to welcome us back in an hour notice. They welcomed us back, i do believe they under changed us, thank you for everything!
Also your place was clean, comfortable, the girls loved your dogs and I thought the pool was heaven. It was so nice to have our own private pool.
I can't say enough good things about Bob and Keishya they definetly made our vacation one to remember, and I would recommend they to everyone and hopefully someday we will return. Hopefully we weren't to much work.
Jen and Tom

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zwicky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The large and charming guesthouse has a kitchen, dining room, living room, a master
bedroom with its own bathroom and two bedrooms with a shared bath. The owners of the guest house, Keishya and Bob, make everything easy in a relaxed atmosphere and offer a variety of exciting adventures-- hang gliding and paragliding lessons, tandem hang gliding flights from a 1600' tall mountain, kayak tours to Monkey Island and kayak rentals for a bio-luminescent bay. The house is only about a block walk to the beach... or you can laze at the guesthouse pool and large patio. It's an ideal tropical getaway where you can still feel like you're at home.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Spotless accomodations and house. Innkeeper Keishya runs a tight ship and is always working hard to make sure you have a fantastic time. She and her husband Bob run kayak trips to Monkey Island and a bio-luminescent bay, as well as a operate a hang gliding and paragliding school. We had several great paraglider flights and loved the easy kayak paddle out to Monkey Island where the countless young monkeys frolicked on the beach The house is only one block form a quiet beach and a nature reserve, and an 18 minute drive to Sea Ventures Dive boat in Humacao, which offers excellent diving. Don't bother with diving in Fajardo-- been there-- it sucks and is usually silty with low visability. The repeat and local divers all agree that Humacao at Palmas is the place for diving in Eastern PR. There's a nice pool at the house for chilling out after diving or hang gliding or paragliding or kayaking or hiking in the rain forest. And sometimes you can even get workaholic Keishya to chill out with you if you say the three magic words-- gin and tonic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgraham20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
18.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
29.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
17.1 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
12.4 mi away
Parador MaunaCaribe
Parador MaunaCaribe
#1 of 1 in Maunabo
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Property: Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing