We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people with a great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Humacao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fulton, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people with a great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

After staying two nights at the Howard Johnson in Old San Juan, we needed a change of scenery. Our hotel room had no windows, no pool and no parking all of which created stress during what was supposed to be a relaxing vacation. We had scheduled a kayak trip to monkey island through Barefoot Travelers and decided that their place is just what we needed for a couple of days. The accommodations were excellent and extremely fair priced. For $50 less than Ho Jo we had lots of windows, a pool, parking and the excellent advice of locals, minus a language barrier. Keishya went above and beyond our expectations to make our trip a pleasant one. We will defiantly pay them another visit in the future!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaliDowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
143
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stay at this location for three day. It was the better deal that we seen for the money if you are on a budget. It was a great location for visiting most of the east side of the island. They offer activites such as bio-bay which turned out to be our favorite one. Very friendly folks. You are at home when you're staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Bob & Keishya have a great place with plenty of space. You will have a problem deciding what to do since everyday there are so many options. We planned our stay so I could learn how to paraglide with Bob.

I am not a big water person, so I was so surprised on how much I enjoyed the tandem kayak to Monkey Island. I thought it would wipe me out physically, but it was not hard at all. On top of that I had a chance to run off a mountain in a tandem hanglider. If you like coconuts, it is so cool to pick your own or stop on the roadside and have guy cut one open right there for you. This is a great place to go and try something new. Enjoy

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie9tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We had a great time staying with Bobby and Keishya. We booked a week of paragliding lessons and it was fantastic. Bobby is a great instructor. The lodging was included in the package and the house couldn't have been better. The neighborhood and the beach are located just a bit out of the way which makes it pleasant and quiet. The pool is great and the house is uber-clean. Bobby and Keishya went out of their way to maximize our stay with flying, kayaking, dinner plans.....and fresh banana/mango smoothies from fruit we picked ourselves!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

My stay at the barefoot traveller was great. Exactly what I needed. If you want to relax you can sit by the pool or the beach or walk in the forest. if you want adventure, you can kayak, go hanggliding and more. I got to see monkeys on my kayak expedition which was great. I had a great hanggliding experience. The hosts made sure I got exactly what I needed. It is like a home away from home.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lalio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

I've finally got round to writing this review all be it a couple of months late but this place really deserves it.

My partner and I wanted to find somewhere that was good value for money and would also act as a good base to explore the East of Puerto Rico. We spent 3 nights here and it was perfect. Lovely accommodation with all we needed and it felt like a home from home.
The owners are Keishya and Bob and they were great hosts who were extremely helpful prior to our arrival when we were still in the UK. Keishya gave us ideas on what to see and do as well as offering us the chance to take part in some of the activities that they offer, this included hang-gliding, kayaking and bio bay tours. We decided to do all three and it was a great experience.

I must also say that Bob was a great hang-gliding instructor and made the experience highly enjoyable. If you have time to do it, definitely give it a go as the launch area that they have in the mountains is amazing and it gives you a totally unique perspective of the island.

The rooms at Barefoot Travellers Rooms were simple but very clean and clean towels were provided which was a bonus. There is a dining area and a lounge area which is perfect to wind down in after a long days activities/exploring.

This was the ideal place to start our vacation in Puerto Rico and i'm so glad we found the travellers rooms on trip advisor as it is a fantastic gem in the east of the island not to be missed. Hopefully we will return to Puerto Rico and we would love to make a return visit here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPALISON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

this was my first time in PR and it couldnt have been more fun- or unique.This isnt the trendy san juan vibe.Barefoot Travlers felt like the "real" puerto rico and thanks to the hosts , i had the chance to check out beautiful sights.basically you can do as little or as much as you like. If you want to kayak keiysha and bob can take you to monkey island- which was really cool. i had never kayaked so k&b showed me how . the house itself is sweet. clean. there's a common room but you can socialize as much as you like; there's no pressure to do anything. want to just chill ? there's a nice pool. the guest house is only a few blocks from a local beach(more to walk on) and maybe 1/2 hour from a bigger beach that was lovely. the host are helpful but never intrusive. it was a wonderful vacation and one i feel is very different other ones i might have taken on the island.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
29.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
15.6 mi away
Parador Palmas De Lucia
16.1 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
16.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.2 mi away
Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Property: Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing