We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Humacao B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We had an amazing time staying with Bob and Keishya in their guest house. The beach within walking distance was nearly deserted and is adjacent to a peaceful nature reserve. The accomodations were generous - a large kitchen and living room just for guests, a pool and patio available at any time. And several wonderful well-behaved dogs (great for us, since leaving our dogs at home is the hardest thing about travelling.)

There were many wonderful things about staying here, but here are a few of my personal favorites.

*During our four night stay here, I'm not sure we saw any other tourists until we drove 20 minutes or so up the road for an excursion. That is a really unique - and I think priceless - aspect of staying in Humacao.
*Keishya was invaluable in terms of her advice. She drew us maps, gave us directions, and recommended places to eat - and all her recommendations were wonderful! She always seemed genuinely concerned with our enjoyment.
*Bob guided us on two kayak excursions - bioluminsecent bay and "Monkey Island." The prices were very reasonable and he's just a really fun person to hang out with. We were so glad we didn't go through a larger adventure company.

We felt genuinely sad when we moved on from Barefoot. While the rest of our trip was great, the time we stayed in Barefoot was the most relaxing and memorable. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkmarcoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 259 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2009

We struggled to find somewhere to stay in this area of Puerto Rico and this out of the way hostel was a real find! Low key, great location and Bob & Keishya offer a great place to stay do everything they can to make your stay a perfect one.
The only downside is finding the place! So here's a link to a map that shows where they are:
http://bit.ly/r7JOp

Can recommend Barefoot Travelers highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayakerPuertoRico, owner at Barefoot Travelers Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2009

Thanks to Rob and Fiona we got to see some real professional kite surfing right here on the beach..they were even kind enough to give Bobby an intro lesson while they were here staying at 'barefoots'.
They did mention having a tough time locating us and out contact info..so here it is for anyone else that encounters the same trouble..flypuertorico@gmail.com is our email.
Barefoot travelers rooms tele in the office is 787-850-0508.
keishya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Very relaxing, will make you feel so at home, convenient, great accommodation!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Barefoot Travelers. Bob and Keishya made us feel right at home, and told us were to go for food, and where there was a little-known trail to follow in the Rain forest. They seemed genuinely eager to help us get the most enjoyment out of our 2-day stay with them. Our only regret is that we did not have more time so we could do more of the many things they told us about.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaSante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Spent several days here with girlfriends, and it was wonderful. Comfortable accommodations in a gated community, with a beautiful and relatively private beach just down the block. Guests stay in their own part of the house, with kitchen, dining, & living room. The house has a pool and outdoor shower as well.

Bob & Keishya worked hard to ensure we had a great time, and had lots of tips on where to go and what to do. The Bio Bay tour is a must for anyone - Bob's tour is so much better than any group tour you'll find elsewhere. Also, ask Keishya about the gelato place in Humacao. It was so delicious that we went every day.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwren0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Barefoot Travelers was the most wonderful way to start our Puerto Rico holiday! (check out the photos!) We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of out trip and had the time of our lives! The first night we had kayaked with Bob to the bioluminescent bay. It was so beautiful and we loved having just a small trip with us and Bob. On the way back in we were greeted by a spectacular fireworks display!
The next day we went hang gliding! This was just incredible. Bob and Keisha are both expert hang gliders and we felt like we were in good hands throughout. There is nothing to describe the magic of soaring through the air - getting up sooo high and feeling so safe at the same time! Then to land in a lovely pasture with mares and foals and wander down to the river to see a giant white egret!
The house was lovely. A wonderful kitchen/ common area set up. We felt like we were staying with friends (as indeed we were by the 2nd day!), but having our own seperate wing. We had a lot of fun meeting the other travelers that were in the third bedroom (it turns out that they knew my sister!!).
But the most lovely part of this time was meeting Keisha and Bob. They are so friendly and available for your every question. They made a huge impression on our daughter - she now wants to run a bed and breakfast!
Oh - and the nature reserve was wonderful too!
So here is a big hug to you, Keisha and Bob! We did have a wonderful rest of our vacation, but you were the highlight for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vineyardnanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Barefoot for 5 nights at the end of March and had a wonderful time. We booked the suite – a nice sized bedroom with a powder room and a bathroom with a shower. The other two bedrooms share a bathroom, and we all have access to really lovely common space with kitchen, dining room, living room, and great patio (where we spent most of our time when we were home) with pool. The beautiful beach which truly “changes every day” is a 2 minute walk away, with views of mountains and neighboring islands rather than highrise resorts – this place is truly off the beaten path and as such, get good driving directions to get here!

Punta Santiago is a very small town, and Barefoot was our home base for many day trips – kayaking, rainforest, Old San Juan, and many beaches on the East Coast as recommended by our fabulous hosts Keishya and Bob including Flamenco Beach on Culebra- a must-see for beach bums. There are supermarkets a short drive away and we were able to get everything we needed for self-catering. You will be spending a fair amount of time in the car getting to and from these activities but the attention and amenities you get at Barefoot make it well worth it. Also highly recommended – Bob’s nighttime kayak trip to the bioluminescent bay in Fajardo. Everyone staying at barefoot went one night (there were 6 of us, all young students/professionals) and we had a blast. All in all we had an absolutely amazing time. Don’t forget the sunscreen (tho Keishya took great care of us when we were suffering!) and say hi to Panda for me!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmariemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
41.6 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
18.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
19.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
16.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range: $73 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. RULES OF ACCESS- Guests exclusively permitted on the property grounds, rooms and use of facilities. Guests may NOT bring in visitors outsiders without explicit permission of the proprietors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing