We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Nearby Hotels
$219
$189
Fourpoints.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn(Luquillo)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Pearl(Luquillo)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Melia Coco Beach(Rio Grande)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
235
20
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
20
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshang glidingnature preservekayak tourgated communitypuerto ricomaroon roomoff the beaten pathother guestsfull kitchenthree roomscomforts of homecommunal kitchennice poolguesthouseislandrainforestglider
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 261 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2009

We spent 4 nights here and overall had a great experience. Keishya and Bob are good people, and run a tight ship. The place is a large house and you stay on the ground floor. Keishya and Bob live upstairs. There are three rooms available. One room is about 12' x 14' and includes a queen bed, vanity area and private bathroom with shower. The other two rooms are about 11' x 13' and share a full bathroom. There is a communal kitchen with a convection oven instead of a microwave, full size fridge, and a four burner stove. Plenty of spices and utensils. There is also a dining area, and a nice sized living room where the TV is. Wireless access is available. The pool is at least 7' at its deepest, and is quite refreshing. The beach is a block away, and Highway 3 is accessible via the subdivision security gate.

I recommend this as a great location to unwind after a busy schedule of vacation activities. I don't recommend this place for Spring Break parties or infants, as this is a home and you are will be sharing communal spaces with other guests and the hosts. The weather didn't cooperate for hang gliding, but we vowed to try it back home. Thanks Keishya for helping with birthday plans.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We only had 8 days, 2 0f which were travel days, but they were jam packed with adventure.
Our first full day we went to check out the hang gliding site and get acclamated to the area. Day 2 Bob and Keisha were ready to get us to launch or kyaking, our choice - we went flying. Day three - more flying - Bob took a passenger for a ride, He was wooping and hollering. That nite we went to Bio Bay a very cool nite kyak trip(you will feel like a kid as nature puts on a light show for you). The ladies took frequent walks to the beach, and hung out at the pool. Day 4 more of the same - with great food imbetween. Keisha will direct you to the best eats for the fare of your choice, but by this point we felt like having a home cooked meal with our new family, so we went shopping (they have a Sam's Club)and Bob and Keisha joined us for a nice meal.We wanted to check out the Rain Forest, so the next day it was off to El Yunque. Well this was when our vacation changed. The ladies had planned to grab a quick flight to Vieques or Culebra - top beaches in the world(60 dollars round trip per person, 15 minute flight).
Not to be - a dark skulking carcess with a big head came out of the forest. Not Chuppa Cabra, a large starving black lab - we tossed him come chicken - and he tugged on our heart strings. He wasn't menacing he was very hungary. We decided we wanted to help.
My friends were willing to change the course of our vacation, and Bob and Keisha were willing to take on one more house guest. He let us pick him up and put him in our rental car. We named him Forest, and the next few days revolved around him. This is when Keisha shifted into high gear - she spent the next few days getting Forest to the Vet, taking care of paper work, getting a crate, and arranging for him to fly home with us on our flight! We were blown away. Oh the rooms were great - comfy, but We weren't home bodies, but you certainly could be. We could not begin to put a price on our experience, and I'm sure if you stay with them you'll feel the same. Forest is doing great, we love him very much - he's so grateful despite the new climate

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Very nice place to stay. Rooms were clean comfortable. A little off the beaten path but still close enough to some of the major attractions. (rain forest etc...) Bob and Keisha were very nice people. The Bio Bay trip is a must for any traveler, don't miss it!!!
This is a good place to stay if your an early riser or pet lover. They do have several dogs that like to bark early in the morning, so don't count on sleeping in unless you're a heavy sleeper! I do feel the need to mention this because its something that should be addressed IMO. The (loud) phone also rings very early and it will wake you up by 8am for sure. While Monkey Island may seem like a neat trip I would advise saving the money for something else. You can see monkeys in the zoo for a lot less. Didn't get the chance to hang glide with Bob but I bet that would be a lot more thrilling! Overall its a very clean and nice place to stay. I would recomend this place to everyone if they addressed the morning noise problem. Cleaner then most hotels I've stayed at on vacation and thats a plus! Also the pool is very very nice! If you want to be off the beaten path and close to the real PR this place may be for you.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovehockey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keishya, owner at Barefoot Travelers Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2009

thank you to this guest and her review of her time here with us at barefoots.
we always appreciate positive constructive criticism and suggestions.
since this review was posted we have introduced some better 'morning quiet' assurances.
the tele is ringer off until 9 am on the office phone.
we also have changed the doggies routine to reduce any disturbance as well.
we hope the continuing future barefoot travelers can benefit from these adjustments!
sweet dreams!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

This was our first visit to Puerto Rico and we stayed at Barefoot Traveler's for the duration of our trip. During our incredible week we kayaked to Monkey Island, visited Old San Juan, hiked around the rainforest and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and culture of Puerto Rico. Within walking distance of our guesthouse there was an array of restaurants, including one specializing in mofongo that quickly became our favourite. We also enjoyed the near private beach located just nearby. Bob and Keishya were extremely friendly and helpful, helping us plan our daytrips and recommending the best spots to see.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vallo876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were visiting Puerto Rico for the second time and wanted to stay somewhere outside of San Juan. We were not looking for a big luxurious hotel but instead somewhere more low-key. Barefoot was perfect! Keishya and Bob were friendly, beyond helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and fun. The house was very clean and comfortable, too. There is a pool in the yard and a beach down the street. The pool was a great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. We did the kayak tour to Monkey Island and were the only guests so far to see the sea turtle that swims near the island - he does exist! We had a car (a necessity) and drove up to the kiosks at Luquillo beach, the Lechoneras in Guavate and to Seven Seas beach in Fajardo, but we also stayed close to the house and walked to Casa de Mofongo on the corner (great food and cheap beer!). We got engaged on the second night, and couldn't have asked for a better trip!

We definitely want to come back to Barefoot!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mariposamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews