We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Humacao B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2009

This was our first visit to Puerto Rico and we stayed at Barefoot Traveler's for the duration of our trip. During our incredible week we kayaked to Monkey Island, visited Old San Juan, hiked around the rainforest and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and culture of Puerto Rico. Within walking distance of our guesthouse there was an array of restaurants, including one specializing in mofongo that quickly became our favourite. We also enjoyed the near private beach located just nearby. Bob and Keishya were extremely friendly and helpful, helping us plan our daytrips and recommending the best spots to see.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vallo876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Barefoot Travelers Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 259 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were visiting Puerto Rico for the second time and wanted to stay somewhere outside of San Juan. We were not looking for a big luxurious hotel but instead somewhere more low-key. Barefoot was perfect! Keishya and Bob were friendly, beyond helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and fun. The house was very clean and comfortable, too. There is a pool in the yard and a beach down the street. The pool was a great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. We did the kayak tour to Monkey Island and were the only guests so far to see the sea turtle that swims near the island - he does exist! We had a car (a necessity) and drove up to the kiosks at Luquillo beach, the Lechoneras in Guavate and to Seven Seas beach in Fajardo, but we also stayed close to the house and walked to Casa de Mofongo on the corner (great food and cheap beer!). We got engaged on the second night, and couldn't have asked for a better trip!

We definitely want to come back to Barefoot!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mariposamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Barefoot Travelers Inn was a great place and we will definitely go back. It was comfortable, affordable, situated close to the beach and in a quiet town with the friendliest people we've ever met. Moreover, Keishya and Bob made our stay memorable. They were great hosts and it felt like we were staying with old friends rather than in a hotel. The kayaking and paragliding were awesome activities, too; we were never bored! We were only there a few days, but now we can't wait to get back for more paragliding lessons and a more leisurely exploration of the island.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TeamPolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I second every single comment of the twelve reviews above, as far as we participated in the outdoor activities. What I can add is a small minus and a big plus: be sure to be bitten by zillion mosquitoes you'll never see; and I hope you'll share my feeling that the best place in the house is under the lion's mouth (that is in the swimming pool, where the water comes out like a shower, most of the times).

We were happy to see such a big iguana from so nearby.

Very happy to have been guests.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank RiesandKaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Barefoot Travelers guest house is a friendly place to stay and a great deal for those looking to spend their time out and about doing things - not just lazing about a resort. My husband and I stayed here based on our plans to explore El Yunque rainforest, which is a short drive away. The owners are friendly and accommodating and it was relaxing to be in such an informal environment to start off our trip.

Punta Santiago is fairly rustic. Luquillo and Fajardo to the North appeared a bit more open, developed and touristy. But if you're game for going off the beaten path, this is a great place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KaySki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Keishya and Bob are fabulous!

Our stay with them was the same as staying with friends. We had such a great time, the best moments of our trip in PR.

First, Bob and Keishya are very hospitable and generous hosts. Their guest house is located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood and has all the facilities a visitor may need.

Awesome activities !!!

The highlight of our trip was hanggliding. It was an amazing experience – totally stunning!! Bob is a professional and we both felt confident to fly with him. There is a nice hanggliding spot close to their guest house in Cubuy with one of the best sceneries of the island.

The day after, Bob took us to Monkey Island as a personal kayak guide. It’s a must!! The island is located really close to their place; we kayaked around the island in beautiful water, we saw many monkeys, even one swimming just beside us… The panorama of PR from this island is wonderful.

We highly recommend to any adventurers and outdoor lovers to meet Keish and Bob !!

They gave us good advices and were kind to us.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fredallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

If you are looking for clean, comfortable and extremely reasonably priced accomodations in Puerto Rico look no further as you won't beat this place. This B&B specializes in eco tours including hang gliding in the rain forest and kayaking. It is located right next to a beautiful nature preserve with miles of trails and within a block of the beach. The bedrooms are comfortable and have A/C; guests have access to a great private pool as well as a full kitchen, living and dining room. Keishya and Bob were great hosts and their island tips were very helpful. Their love for sharing adventures and the island is apparent. Our 16 year old son went tandem hang gliding with Bob, this was the highlight of his two week trip to the island. As formal gliding instructors they are very safety conscious which I appreciated greatly! You will want a rental car but the price you save on rooms will more than pay for the car plus give you the freedom to really see the island.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CynthiaMissoula_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
41.6 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
18.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
16.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.2 mi away
Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range: $73 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. RULES OF ACCESS- Guests exclusively permitted on the property grounds, rooms and use of facilities. Guests may NOT bring in visitors outsiders without explicit permission of the proprietors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing