We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we'd have stayed longer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Humacao B&B and Inns
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wish we'd have stayed longer”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two days in April this year. We feel so lucky to have found Keishya and Bob's guesthouse; they were extremely friendly and very welcoming although we were busy running rampant all over the countryside. The guesthouse is easy to find with Keishya's directions even in the dark. We stayed in the maroon room, which was plenty of room for two people to sleep, though we didn't spend too much time in the house itself. The kitchen was large and well-equipped, and our hosts set out coffee/tea for us every morning. The dogs were very friendly, and being steps from the beach and Humacao Nature Reserve was wonderful.

We went kayaking with Bob after it had rained. He was a great guide, and we even got to see a pufferfish under our kayak when we were done snorkeling! Honestly, if we'd have had more time, I wish we'd have stayed longer. We spent a few nights in Ponce, and Barefoot is definitely head and shoulders above other places to stay in the area.

Room Tip: The maroon room is very roomy for two people and overlooks the back porch and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amr_ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
144
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I cannot say enough great things about Barefoot Travelers! The guesthouse was so relaxing and cozy with a spacious kitchen which made it feel homey. Keishya and Bob are amazing hosts with so much energy and personality. The house is located a block away from the most picturesque beach, and you can enter a beautiful (and free) nature preserve from the beach as well. If you're not a beach person, you can hang out in Bob and Keishya's pool or hammock.

We booked our stay at Barefoot Travelers so that we could go kayaking to Monkey Island. We always enjoy kayaking on the ocean, but watching the monkeys from our kayak was amazing. Then we hopped out of our kayaks and snorkeled around the area. Bob was a great tour guide and very knowledgeable.

If you're staying in the touristy area of San Juan, it is soooo worth renting a car and driving just under an hour to get here. The relatively low cost of renting a room and excursions makes it even more worth it.

Room Tip: All of their rooms are gorgeously decorated. Even the smallest room is still big enough, although th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephandYony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at the Barefoot Travelers.
The maroon room was worth the extra money, having more space + your own bathroom. Having a full kitchen was great, we bought plenty of food at the supermarket for lunch and dinner.
Steps from the beach and nature preserve was nice for a relaxing day. Bob took us kayaking to Monkey Island were we saw plenty of monkeys and snorkeling by a shipwreck.
Renting a car was the best option for us. We spent our days traveling to Old San Juan (1hr drive), El Yunque (40 mins), Farjado bio bay (30 min.), and other local places. Bob and Keishya happily suggested places to go and eat.

When we come back to Puerto Rico, we will be sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ariella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Bay, Tortola
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Someone wise said, "You can never go home again". He lied or has never visited Barefoot Travelers Rooms Guesthouse. After my second visit there I declare Barefoots to be the homiest most well appointed guesthouse I ever stayed in. Another error is that travelers can't award a sixth star to their review. Barefoots earns six stars In every way! Perfect for the traveler who wants more than the basics but won't admit to needing luxury: Cleanliness, firm beds, air conditioning, outdoor pool, TV lounge, a spacious, well equipped kitchen that invites guests to spend more time cooking indoors than they should. But for outdoor adventure on a sliding adrenaline scale, I reccommend 1) hiking in the nearby nature preserve. 2) kayaking through the mangroves while saying hello to Iiguanas, egrets, great blue herons and frigate birds, 3) kayaking to the rhesus monkey habitat, Monkey Island, or 4) hang gliding from a tall nearby mountainside. And all this orchestrated by the friendliest, most upbeat, welcoming, adventurous hosts in the world: Bob and Keishya. You'll swear they're family by the time you leave!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoozAppleBay_Tortola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Geat place to stay if you're looking for something other than a hotel/motel. I felt like I was in my own home. Very quiet area. Loved the beach area, very short walk from the house. Only stayed 1 night, but would definately stay there again. It was a very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Bob and Keishya made us feel right at home, the living quarters were perfect. Bob walked us down to show us their almost private and in the 2 days we were there we only see 1 other person there. They have beach chairs and boogie boards for your use. We had a big day planed going to El Yunque and the Biobay and Keishya got us a cooler and ice packs for drinks and food for the day, so nice. They provided us with directions and places to see and do along the way. They are real nice people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarynPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Barefoot Travelers Guesthouse is the perfect place for those that want to stay some place a little different and to steer clear of the touristy/high-rise/spring break areas of PR. It is not only a great place to stay for the adventurous, but it is also wallet-friendly for those that are on a budget. It is located about an hour from San Juan in a quiet gated community about a block or two from the beach. My boyfriend and I rented out the Maroon Master room and it was exactly what we needed - somewhere clean and quiet to sleep and shower. We did not spend much time at the house since we wanted to squeeze as much fun as we could into our short trip (we kayaked to Monkey Island, hiked in El Yunque Rainforest, ziplined and visited Old San Juan). Although we did not see Keishya and Bob very often, we knew that we were taken care of and they were always there to offer assistance. They were great hosts and made us feel very comfortable. They kept the basic staples stocked in the kitchen (butter, sugar, coffee, spices, etc.) which made it easier on our wallet when we prepared meals. Our room was swept and cleaned every day while we were out. They made sure we had directions to the local places to eat/visit. They were even able to squeeze us into one of their Monkey Island kayak trips. Unbelievable hospitality!

The beach down the street is not ideal if you are looking for white sand/turquoise water kind of beach. Although we enjoyed it and had no complaints, it is not your typical "tanning/laying out" type beach. There is not much room between the water and seaweed gathered on the shore, but we were able to find a spot above the seaweed that was perfect to lay out and read a book. We really enjoyed it since we were the only ones on the beach. We also enjoyed taking a dip into the pool to cool off after hanging at the beach for a few hours.

Overall, this place was perfect for our trip! We would love to come back with a group of friends to rent the whole guest house. Thanks again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
18.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
29.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
17.1 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
12.4 mi away
Parador MaunaCaribe
Parador MaunaCaribe
#1 of 1 in Maunabo
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Property: Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing