We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place for a relaxing amazing adventure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Humacao B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at the Barefoot Travelers.
The maroon room was worth the extra money, having more space + your own bathroom. Having a full kitchen was great, we bought plenty of food at the supermarket for lunch and dinner.
Steps from the beach and nature preserve was nice for a relaxing day. Bob took us kayaking to Monkey Island were we saw plenty of monkeys and snorkeling by a shipwreck.
Renting a car was the best option for us. We spent our days traveling to Old San Juan (1hr drive), El Yunque (40 mins), Farjado bio bay (30 min.), and other local places. Bob and Keishya happily suggested places to go and eat.

When we come back to Puerto Rico, we will be sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ariella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Barefoot Travelers Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 259 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Someone wise said, "You can never go home again". He lied or has never visited Barefoot Travelers Rooms Guesthouse. After my second visit there I declare Barefoots to be the homiest most well appointed guesthouse I ever stayed in. Another error is that travelers can't award a sixth star to their review. Barefoots earns six stars In every way! Perfect for the traveler who wants more than the basics but won't admit to needing luxury: Cleanliness, firm beds, air conditioning, outdoor pool, TV lounge, a spacious, well equipped kitchen that invites guests to spend more time cooking indoors than they should. But for outdoor adventure on a sliding adrenaline scale, I reccommend 1) hiking in the nearby nature preserve. 2) kayaking through the mangroves while saying hello to Iiguanas, egrets, great blue herons and frigate birds, 3) kayaking to the rhesus monkey habitat, Monkey Island, or 4) hang gliding from a tall nearby mountainside. And all this orchestrated by the friendliest, most upbeat, welcoming, adventurous hosts in the world: Bob and Keishya. You'll swear they're family by the time you leave!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoozAppleBay_Tortola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Geat place to stay if you're looking for something other than a hotel/motel. I felt like I was in my own home. Very quiet area. Loved the beach area, very short walk from the house. Only stayed 1 night, but would definately stay there again. It was a very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Bob and Keishya made us feel right at home, the living quarters were perfect. Bob walked us down to show us their almost private and in the 2 days we were there we only see 1 other person there. They have beach chairs and boogie boards for your use. We had a big day planed going to El Yunque and the Biobay and Keishya got us a cooler and ice packs for drinks and food for the day, so nice. They provided us with directions and places to see and do along the way. They are real nice people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GarynPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Barefoot Travelers Guesthouse is the perfect place for those that want to stay some place a little different and to steer clear of the touristy/high-rise/spring break areas of PR. It is not only a great place to stay for the adventurous, but it is also wallet-friendly for those that are on a budget. It is located about an hour from San Juan in a quiet gated community about a block or two from the beach. My boyfriend and I rented out the Maroon Master room and it was exactly what we needed - somewhere clean and quiet to sleep and shower. We did not spend much time at the house since we wanted to squeeze as much fun as we could into our short trip (we kayaked to Monkey Island, hiked in El Yunque Rainforest, ziplined and visited Old San Juan). Although we did not see Keishya and Bob very often, we knew that we were taken care of and they were always there to offer assistance. They were great hosts and made us feel very comfortable. They kept the basic staples stocked in the kitchen (butter, sugar, coffee, spices, etc.) which made it easier on our wallet when we prepared meals. Our room was swept and cleaned every day while we were out. They made sure we had directions to the local places to eat/visit. They were even able to squeeze us into one of their Monkey Island kayak trips. Unbelievable hospitality!

The beach down the street is not ideal if you are looking for white sand/turquoise water kind of beach. Although we enjoyed it and had no complaints, it is not your typical "tanning/laying out" type beach. There is not much room between the water and seaweed gathered on the shore, but we were able to find a spot above the seaweed that was perfect to lay out and read a book. We really enjoyed it since we were the only ones on the beach. We also enjoyed taking a dip into the pool to cool off after hanging at the beach for a few hours.

Overall, this place was perfect for our trip! We would love to come back with a group of friends to rent the whole guest house. Thanks again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderful, five night stay at Barefoot Travelers Rooms at the beginning of March. I was travelling with my boyfriend, we are in our mid twenties, and we wanted to do something a bit different than the usual all-inclusive down-south resort that is so popular with people where we live.

We arrived in San Juan in the late evening, so spent a night there before venturing over to Humacao. The drive is much shorter than it looks on a map, definitely no more than two hours. Keishya gave us instructions to get to a hiking spot in the rainforest that led to a fairly hidden away waterfall--this was beautiful and a great detour. The directions she gave were easy, and we had no problem finding the gated community where the guesthouse was located.

The guesthouse room was great, a good size, clean, and very well ventilated. I did not need to use the air conditioning the whole time, because the breeze through the windows was so nice. The shared bathroom was kept very clean as well.

The kitchen was great, really nice to be able to cook some of our meals, helps to cut down on costs. They had some items kept stock, such as coffee, tea, and condiments. There was also a living room with a TV and books, but we didn't use it because we were usually outside.

We spent a lot of time on the deck and around the pool, reading, and drinking some beers. We also spent time with some of the other guests who were there, which was fun.

The beach was about 5 houses down from the guesthouse, and was excellent! Very private, and the water was very clear. There are tonnns of sand dollars in the water, and you can walk out really far because it stays shallow for a long time. No huge waves here either, but still fun for boogie-boarding. Keishya and Bob have lots of beach amenities for you to borrow, such as beach chairs, towels, and boogie-boards. They can even hook you up with a cooler if you need it.

We went on the kayak trip with Keishya, this was really fun and she was not rushed at all. Saw a whole bunch of monkeys, and the snorkelling was also great. My boyfriend saw a barracuda, and we both saw a puffer fish! We decided to paddle back to the beach by ourselves, this was about a 40 min trip and was really cool because we were pretty much the only boat around!

My boyfriend was supposed to go hang-gliding, made it to the take-off point until Bob and Keishya decided that between his height (6'4) and the sub-optimal conditions, it wouldn't be a go. Instead we watched another guest go, it looked incredible and I'll have to try it if I go back. We really appreciated their prioritizing of safety, and so were not bummed when this occurred. It was still worth the half a day that we spent as the views at the top were incredible. Keishya took us to a roadside stand on the way up to try some local foods, this was really good too.

We really loved the location of the guesthouse. It was close enough to the different sites we wanted to visit: Bioluminescent Bay in Fajardo, Kiosks and beaches in Luquillo, El Yunque Rainforest, etc.

Overall, this was a great place to spend our vacation. We found a perfect balance of things to do and relaxation. I would not hesitate to stay here again if given the chance! Thanks Keishya and Bob, for helping to make our vacation so excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlbug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Keishya and Bob were very welcoming and gracious hosts at Barefoot Travellers. We had a wonderful stay, loved cuddling with the pups and had an amazing time kayaking out to Monkey Island. Bob hosted our kayak trip and he was so laid back and full of good information about the island. He let us decide what we wanted to do - where we wanted to kayak - just a very personalized trip. Back at the house Keishya and the pups were so good to us. She provided lots of good info on things to do, where to go, kept the house and rooms nice and clean. We spent some great times out on the patio by the pool, talking and admiring the mama hummingbird who built her nest right in the backyard on the wind chime. It was very neat to watch her. And the pups - were just so sweet and helped us to not miss our pups so much - especially sweet Panda. Thank you so much Keishya and Bob - we can't wait to come back to visit again and hopefully give hang gliding a try!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seaturtle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
41.6 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
18.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
16.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.2 mi away
Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range: $73 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. RULES OF ACCESS- Guests exclusively permitted on the property grounds, rooms and use of facilities. Guests may NOT bring in visitors outsiders without explicit permission of the proprietors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing