We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a week of fun and flying”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Humacao B&B and Inns
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a week of fun and flying”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Barefoot Travelers for 5 of the seven days we were in Puerto Rico.She wanted to learn how to hang glide, and I needed to refresh some flying skills from a long layoff.
What makes this place special are the hosts Keishya and Bob. They are very hospitable and knowledgeable about the area. Because our goals on this trip weren't the typical tourist routine, Bob and Keishya worked out a plan for flight training as well as seeing some of the local attractions.
The guest house is located in a gated community with easy access to the beach and a nature reserve. Finding the inn the first time after dark was a bit of a challenge since none of the houses in the neighborhood have street numbers. I'm sure that finding a bright reddish pink house in daylight would have been much easier. The bedrooms are comfortable and clean and the property and pool are well maintained. The house has wi-fi access and a common shared kitchen and living room for the guests. One of the nice features of staying at this type of inn is meeting the other guests in the shared area. While we were there we met people from all over Europe and in the evening, we traded stories of the days adventures.
The hosts are quite helpful about all the local restaurants, shopping,activities and tours. Due to our flight training schedule, they made a special arrangement for a tour of the Bio-bay in Fajardo. They also made special arrangements with other local pilots for our tandem hang gliding mountain flights due to Bob not being able to fly the week of our trip.
Keishya and Bob worked with us and what we wanted to accomplish and made sure we had a great time while in Puerto Rico. When my girlfriend is qualified, we will be back for solo mountain flights. I highly recommend the Barefoot Travelers Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
144
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent in the Barefoot travelers first 3 nights of our stay in Puerto Rico. I must say after all the travelling we've done in Asia and Latin America, never had such a warm welcome, so friendly, helpful and hospitable hosts - Keysha and Bob. The guest house is very well located near beach, natural resort of Humacao, with possibilities of kayak trips to Monkey Island with Keysha, bio bay in Fajardo, Yunque rain forest. Much better than staying in San Juan and commuting from there. The rooms are clean and properly equiped, also the rest of ammenities shared with other guests are comfortable and great opportunity to meet other travellers, exchange experience and some local Bacardi ;) The pool in the house was a big plus, refreshing at any time. We also did the hang gliding with them, unforgettable experience for both of us seeing the world from the birds perspective and in between birds literally. We felt so good we did not even want to leave, so Keysha and Bob were so nice they let us stay till late afternoon, use the house, pool... we highly recommend the guest house, and all activities Bob and Keysha are offering to enjoy fully Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cencul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here because we were keen to kayak to monkey island and my daughter wanted to try hang gliding. Bob and Keisha's house was so clean, comfortable and the pool was a bonus. Keisha took us up to the flying site and we learned so much about PR from her-especially interesting re elections that were going on. Jess had an amazing flight and afterwards Keisha took us to a wonderful ice cream shop to celebrate! We stayed an extra night as we just didn't want to leave and it was an easy drive to the bio bay from the house: an experience not to be missed!! Wish we could have spent longer and gone to the nature park next door to see the wild iguanas that other travellers staying had done. Met some great people and sharing the kitchen (and some rum and cokes!) is a lovely way to get a better insight into other places to go and see. I recommend these rooms and the activities they offer without hesitation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillianF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sorry it has taken so long to leave a review of this beautiful property! My husband and I stayed here in January of this year and we LOVED it! Bob and Keishya really made us feel at home and we were in a great location. We shopped at the local Wal-Mart for groceries for the week, made breakfast most mornings, enjoyed the local eateries (we couldn't get enough in fact..), and loved Humacao. This is a completely different traveling experience from staying in a hotel. It is a guest house in a gated community. We truly felt like locals as Bob and Keishya gave us great directions for places to eat at and see. We will definitely be back to Puerto Rico and to Barefoot Travelers Rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Thanks to Keishya & Bob for a great stay!! My mom is originally from Humacao, and she, her cousin, and I traveled there from Florida to visit family in May. It was so much more comfortable to stay at Barefoot Travelers Rooms than impose on elderly family members. Our rooms were very comfortable and the kitchen was perfect for us to store our food and have breakfast in the morning. The prices were so reasonable!!! The owners are incredibly personable. Their dogs are very well behaved. We are not dog people, but did not feel uncomfortable with their presence. This is our go-to place from now on when we go back to visit! For new folks, you need to know that this hotel is located within a gated subdivision. It was a bit hard to find at first, but once you know where it is, it's no problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have been meaning to write a review for months now! We stayed here as a family ( I was 5 months pregnant) with my husband and 18 month old. We received a fab welcome from Bob and Keishya - it was like we we had already been there and they were welcoming old friends. Great to have if you're in a new place. Their place is a home from home with shared kitchen and 3 bedrooms leading off the open plan kitchen diner. Im fussy about cleanliness and it was very clean, tidy, organised, with even take out menus arranged and available for you. My husband needed to watch the world cup rugby so Keishya went out of her way to make this happen on pay tv (which was totally going the extra mile) Bob is a great tour guide as well so dont hesitate to ask either of them any questions about what to do. They know their stuff and saved us hours in trying to figure stuff out. We made good use of the pool and outside area as well as accessing the south side of El Junke Rainforest and up to Farjardo for the Bio Bay kayak stuff. Great base camp for south and east of Peurto Rico and great Mexican round the corner too if you dont wanna cook. If you have babies double check if they have a cot as our Keishya made a lovely 'den' for our daughter to sleep in but may not be suitable for smaller babies! We will be going back! Thanks Bob and Keishya and apologies this review took so long! Thanks for everything

Room Tip: There is one main bedroom with ensuite and 2 side bedrooms with shared bathroom - great for a big tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

First...Thank You, Bob & Keishya for your hospitality! We felt like we were staying with friends...from the blessing of the extra room to Bob cracking the coconut for our daughter, from your dogs to good conversation. These two know sooo much about the area and PR. If you are looking for a place with the comforts of home (like timeshare) but without the "knock of housekeeping!!!" and very personable & friendly staff then you have found the place. Thanks again guys for making our first day in PR PeRfect!
I do agree with previous review with regards to door locks. Rooms are rented individually and a stranger is still a stranger, Safety First ;o)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheGlads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayakerPuertoRico, Owner at Barefoot Travelers Rooms, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you Glad Family (love saying that!) for choosing Barefoot Travelers Rooms and Adventures Guesthouse as the start of your Puerto Rico vacation.
We are also 'glad' that you enjoyed the recently installed locking bedroom doors for that extra sense of safety and security.
And very 'glad' to know you and your family were able to just 'chillax' here enjoying the guesthouse experience we offer with no worries!!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
18.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
15.5 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
988 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
12.4 mi away
Parador MaunaCaribe
Parador MaunaCaribe
#1 of 1 in Maunabo
340 reviews
16.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Property: Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing