We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit with family”

Aquarium de la Guadeloupe
Ranked #9 of 26 things to do in Le Gosier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There are 3 million years ago, the Isthmus of Panama was closing and separating the Atlantic Ocean Pacific. Species of these two oceans have evolved separately and fauna present in the Caribbean Sea is different from the Indo-Pacific. With nearly 70 species of coral, 1200 mollusc and 600 fish recorded in coastal waters, the Caribbean region is, in terms of fauna, the area's richest and most diverse of the Atlantic. The Aquarium of Guadeloupe, which opened in 1987, devotes all of its exposure to these underwater riches.We welcome you
Toulouse, France
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit with family”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I loved it! I had been there some years before but it was totally different this time. They have renovated and added more fishes and others. You can enjoy a nice visit on your own, everything is labelled and explained on signage. You can also rest on the benches in front of the huge aquariums ( the one with sharks or with turtles at the end of the visit) the view on these is so lovely that you can sit there for a while and loose notion of time. We recommend this place on rainy days for example! that s what we did.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank AccraPineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    196
    230
    108
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cozy aquarium”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a very small aquarium, but it feels very intimate, because the place is pretty quite and there are couches so that you can sit in front of the huge tank and just gaze at the turtle. The place is big enough to keep me entertained, but small enough that it doesn't exhaust me / "fished out".

Okay, there are NO English signs anywhere. So unless you have a guide, it is kind of hard to fully enjoy the place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank do_rei_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquarium_Guadeloupe, Responsable commercial at Aquarium de la Guadeloupe, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your post. Next time come with us for an ECOTOUR we will exhaust you ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful trip and very professional guide”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I went with my 9 year- old child. It was a great experience for both of us.The guide was very nice and professional and also careful to passengers safety, children in particular. He provided everything we might needed from masks to water, and everything was included in the price. He also took pictures of us and placed them on the Aquarium web site. We left our hotel at 8 in the morning and came back at 2 pm. Snorkeling was about 2 hours. A trip that should not be missed!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank paola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquarium_Guadeloupe, Responsable commercial at Aquarium de la Guadeloupe, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for participating in an ECOTOUR and thank you for your post.
I hope you will keep good memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Nothing excited..”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I was there in my first visit in Guadeloupe with my sister and nephews. The aquarium is really small. Don't worth paying the price.... there is not so many fishes and other marine stuff. You can do it in less than 30 min...

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Simonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquarium_Guadeloupe, Responsable relations publiques at Aquarium de la Guadeloupe, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Sorry that you do not like the Guadeloupe Aquarium. All movies and educational signs are in French, it may be why you spent so little time to discover the extraordinary marine life the Caribbean.
30 minutes is good, but a 11 years old kid set the current record in less than 5 minutes!
We hope to see you soon and do not forget to request the assistance of a english speaking guide anglphone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarium de la Guadeloupe also viewed

 
Pointe-a-Pitre, Grande-Terre Island
 

Been to Aquarium de la Guadeloupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing