We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not expect luxury, just relax and enjoy staying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Le Gosier
Budapest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not expect luxury, just relax and enjoy staying”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This November was our second stay in Hotel Canella Beach, our family (extended with two grandmothers) spent a ten days holiday in Guadeloupe staying in this hotel. We ordered via hotel internet page a double appartment and a single studio including breakfast.

Reading previous emotional reviews my purpose is to be objective about Canella Beach Hotel.

The hotel is in Gosier which is a centrally located holiday village in Guadeloupe. Position is excellent to explore the whole island. You definitely need a car, parking is free in front of the hotel, be prepared for traffic jams in/around the capital Point-a-Pitre in the evenings. The hotel is three star labelled. It has about 150 rooms in three consecutive buidlings enclosing an open swimming pool, surrounded by well-kept tropical plants and palmtrees, and located by the sea with its own sandy beach. Most rooms have some views, they are double/twin bed studios, some are duplex (for families up to 5-6 persons), all air-conditoned and have a terrace with a kitchenette to make your own food if you like. There is free wifi available.

You should take into consideration the local climate, i.e. that you are visiting an extreme humid (lot of rains) and warm place with a constant palmhouse feeling. This gives reasons for the open air dining area (birds and a lazy cat can be in and out, trying to get some food), the non-glassed windows of the rooms (lizards, gekkos or beetles can visit your room through the terrace door or window spalette), and that you find cane furniture and only tiled floor without carpets. There are mosquitos from the neighbouring mangrove and they are really biting. If you accept all these than you have no problem with the hotel, but if you do not, than you may feel really tortured.

Our rooms had nice view of the sea and of the hilly part of the island. Rooms were daily kept, towels changed, all clean and ok. Soap/shower gel re-supply was usually missing (be sure to bring your own). Room cleaning is a full day procedure, done one day 10 o’clock the other 15 o’clock. The room and the furniture is nothing fancy, but generally was in good status. There were several discrepancies: a lampbulb were not working, a picture hanger on the wall but no picture hanged, the fridge was old and rusty, not enough cutlery items, wifi was unreliable in the evening. These we considered minor problems.

Breakfast was plenty but not for a lucullus taste: crambled eggs with sausage and hams, and two choices of cheese and salami. We preferred early breakfast cca. 7 o’clock, because of doing excursions daytime.

Staff was really kind, mainly prepared for French speaking guests but with basic english we could communicate. The restaurant did not work (probably out of season time), and generally there was an airy atmosphere, no pressure of lot of guests. Special thanks to hotel management (Valérie & Edy), that the last day we could stay in one of our room till late afternoon to be able to go directly from the hotel to the evening plane back to Europe.

All-in-all, if you do not expect luxury you can just relax and enjoy very much staying in Canella Beach, once returning to Guadeloupe we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy_and_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    142
    113
    68
    47
See reviews for
87
163
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Well, where do we start. We do not recommend staying at this hotel. it is overated, understaffed and doesnt provide the essential amenities which should be the norm. for example, clean towels. We were constantly in debate with the reception area regarding, no towels in the room. Not enough kitchen utensils,the fridge is old and tattered and did not keep anything cold.
Well breakfast , the scrambled eggs looked like vomit, the hot food was never hot, the miniscule croissants were burnt, when they were available. When hotel was in full flow and full, breakfast would be over at 7.30 because they were unable to replenish the stocks. There were not enough staff available to check and refill the food.
Hey! What about a little variety. For the amount of money we paid for our months stay (never again) we had the same breakfast day after day after day.
The domestic staff were pleasant and did their job to the best of their ability but without towels sheets - what can they do?...No soap, no soap, no soap. No restocking of shampoo etc etc.
Renovating needed. They shouldnt not be allowed to give this hotel a 3 star because it definitely isnt. On the plus point the swimming was cleaned every day. But the jacuzzi didnt work. The restaurant decided that it would close from 16 August until some date in September., Hello......we are ladies on holiday - its dark, swampy.
Beach at hand -not bad and its private.
Location fine...but if you do not have a car very difficult to get about and eat. All the shops which were there to supply bread groceries, etc, have gone...so recommendation - find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabriella45London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Le Gosier hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

This hotel is OK, but not great. My girlfriend and I booked this through a French travel agent and it worked out at a very good price. There is a private, uncrowded beach (albeit a man made one, with lots of seaweed washing up) which is handy if you can't be bothered to take the 20 minute walk to the municipal beach (which is more crowded and has a fair amount of litter). There is also a swimming pool which is empty in the evenings and early mornings. Our room had a little kitchen which was handy when you wanted a snack but didn't want to walk to the restaurants down the road. However, the fridge/freezer was very old and making ice cubes with the little trays provided took hours. The kitchen area could have done with some more cutlery (like some sharp knives and a can opener). The bedroom was comfortable but they pushed together two single beds instead of putting one double bed in there. This would be annoying for couples because everytime you wanted to get close to your loved one, you keep falling down the gap in the middle! The buffet breakfast is good and there was quite a good selection of food although the random cats walking around can put you off your food. Plus, because the restaurant is open and next to the beach, you get wild birds coming in an nipping food off your plate as you go back to the buffet. Lunch is served in the same restaurant but it is overpriced and the selection of food is pretty poor. Furthermore, the lunch is again a buffet-serve-yourself affair, which means that birds help themselves to the food sitting on the tables. This hotel is very popular with older people and my girlfriend and I (both in our 20s) felt a bit out of place here- but maybe that was because of the time of year (i.e. not during school holidays and just after Xmas/New Year). Strangely, this hotel is located next to a swamp, which really smells during the heat of the day. Once in the hotel, you wouldn't even notice the swamp, but it's a bit strange walking past it to go to your hotel. Gosier is OK, but there isn't a great selection of restaurants and things to do. Whilst in Guadeloupe, we went to Sainte-Anne, which is much better as it has more restaurants, better vibe and a local market selling lovely local fruit, rum and fish.

  • Liked — Private beach
  • Disliked — Two single beds in a double room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Although this is a hotel-resort, remember that you are visiting a different country with different standards when you come to this hotel. We found that while there were shortcomings in the facility, the helpful staff did their best to fix things and make things better.

For example, when we checked in, we asked for a non-smoking room, which is something that they said did not exist. One of the people working the front desk went to check out a particular room they had in mind for us to see if it were acceptable. When we got our key and went in, we realized they gave us one of the best views at the hotel, in a larger room with an enclosed balcony/kitchen.

Another example: when we did not find any soap or shampoo in our bathroom, the gentleman at the front desk found us an empty plastic bottle and filled it with shampoo/soap until they could install a soap dispenser in the bathroom, which they did the following day.

I did not experience the other problems people wrote about in the older reviews. No one was trying to sell us a tour (maybe because the tour office was unattended the whole time we were there.) The maid came every day, despite our hanging up a "do not disturb" sign. So, the room was kept clean. While we did not go to any of the buffet dinners, we noted that there was live entertainment with dinner for two nights out of the seven. The breakfast did indeed include the company of birds and cats, but we found them charming and threw them pieces of cheese and croissant.

We liked the internet service, although the A/C in that little room took a while to cool off the air. And the wireless internet was useful for my iPod in the lobby (it doesn't reach further than that.)

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank drangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

We stayed there for 4 nights over New Year Eve and were pleasantly surprised with the hotel . We had booked it thru HRS at a very competitive rate ( They seem to have take the hotel out of their selection now ) .
The place has been renovated recently and rooms are nicely furnished and spacey.
The kitchens and the bathrooms have not been replaced so they are used and a bit below the standard of the rest .
On arrival our reservation was not known and the first room we were offered was very noise just above the restaurant .
We asked for a room change in the evening but had to wait until the next day .
During our stay the hotel offered childcare and daily activities on the beach.
3 cayaks , snorkelling equipment, boule , ping pong , bath towels for the beach and a room safe were all offered free of charge.
We had booked just bed and breakfast , breakfast started at 6.00 which was nice as we used to get up very early .
The selection was good ,we enjoyed to have the breakfast on the veranda right on the beach .
There are 3 small restaurants in walking distance , near the Casino .
On our last day we had to vacate our room by noon but could get fresh towels and were offered another room to have a shower until we had to depart , nice service .
Except on arrival , staff was friendly and helpful.
During our stay the hotel was quite full , many French families with children . Still the atmosphere remained relaxed .
Although the beach was not overly large we never found it crowded.

  • Liked — Price value relation, rooms, location, breakfast ,
  • Disliked — first room offered was noisy
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BAT4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

Where do I begin! That place is absolutely decrepid. I can't believe that it is still operating. It is the dirtiest hotel I have ever been in. They desever 0 stars, because that is exactly what they are.

My family & are were in Gwada on vacation and decided to stay @ an hotel this time versus staying w/ friends. The boys went last year and stayed @ the Creole Beach (they loved it) ~ I visited while there & it is very nice indeed. Because they were booked, I chose the Canella Beach. Bad, huge, monstrous mistake! Why did I do that. It's unforturnate there was no where else to go. I will never stay there again. We are in Gwada quite ofter.

The hotel lobby, stairway, hallway are nasty dirty. Unbelievably dirty. The white tiles were gray during our entire stay. The rooms smell horrible. Mold & mildew. The A/C hardly worked. In our sons' room, it never worked. The hotel's water system was out. We had to leave and go take showers @ a friends house. The property is ugly. They need to tear the hotel down and renovate. It needs complete upgrading. The entrance to the hotel is extremely unattractive. Makes you want to turn away and run as far as you can. Thank God we only slept there. I was so afraid of bedbugs. I could not wait to get back & write about how awful that place is. Just the thought of being there makes me quiver.

The front desk staff was not helpful or understanding. The do not appreciate their tourists. I will say that the housekeeping staff did a decent job w/ the rooms. We did get daily turndown service. I only saw (1) pool. The restaurant was okay for breakfast. The free breakfast was not bad.

I will never stay there again. The area is nice for tourists, but that hotel is trashy.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank mpfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2006

This place is funny. Dont look at the photos on the expedia website. This place is nothing like the photos. I wish I had taken some photos. The rooms were not that great. The food was OK. The best thing was the TV. 4 english channels including an NBC station from New York. The beds were comforable. Thats about it. I dont think this is a good place for a vacation.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BigBenNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Gosier hotels
0.2 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
1,281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karibea Residence Le Prao
Karibea Residence Le Prao
#12 of 23 in Le Gosier
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Maison Creole
La Maison Creole
#3 of 23 in Le Gosier
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
0.9 mi away
Cap Sud Caraibes
Cap Sud Caraibes
#9 of 23 in Le Gosier
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant

Property: Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant
Address: Pointe de La Verdure, Le Gosier 97190, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Le Gosier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Le Gosier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canella Beach Hotel is located in Gosier, at the tip of “Pointe de la Verdure”, on a white, sandy beach, surrounded by lush tropical gardens.Located 5 miles from the capital city of Pointe-a-Pitre and 8 miles from the airport POLE CARAIBES, Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant will offer you a perfect change of scenery.It is within walking distance of hotels, restaurants, shops, a movie theatre and a casino.The architecture of “Creole” inspiration and the colourful tropical decor of the hotel will be a welcome and relaxing change of scenery. The Canella Beach offers all the amenities of a traditional 3 stars hotel while giving you the independence of an apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Residence Canella Beach Hotel Gosier
Residence Canella Beach Gosier
Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant Guadeloupe/Le Gosier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing