We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to be with or without childrens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Modelo Museum of Science and Industry - CLOSED

Modelo Museum of Science and Industry
Attraction details
Toluca, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to be with or without childrens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is not just about beer, has also a cinema and temporarly exhibitions, great to go with kids, activities on Sundays, also has a restaurant and a bar.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina271172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    9
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good if you like beer or industrial engineering”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I enjoyed my visit here but I like both beer and engineering. If you do not, I would not recommend it. The beer making process is explained start to finish from agricultural products to final bottling. There are a couple of other exhibits, on communications and pasta, but the main focus is on beer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FluvialMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice visit mostly about how to make beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

It´s a nice visit if you are in Toluca, mostly the theme is beer inclined. the giftshop has interesting stuff

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank prosignia300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Science and Industry Museum in Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I admit that I didn't have great expectations for this but was very surprised. It is on par with any Science and Industry Museum I have seen in the US both with the depth and quality of its presentations as well as with the ease of understanding and enjoyment for kids. Being an engineer (and beer drinker), I was fascinated by the technical aspects of virtually every detail of the brewing process, from brewing to raw ingredient growing and processing to canning and bottling, labeling, bottle making and glass manufacturing as well as history and marketing. I learned a lot myself and got in trouble with my wife for dawdling so much.

There is also an excellent IMax theater. Prices overall for the theater and museum were incredible. $10 for both as compared to $35 for the Detroit Science Center.

The museum is in a converted Corona factory in a beautiful historic building in downtown Toluca. My wife remembers coming here with her Dad as a child to pick up cases and kegs of bear for her Dad's restaurant.

I used up too much time looking through the exhibits to get to the rooftop restaurant, but my nephew says it's great.

A woderful surprise and great addition to Toluca for tourists and local families.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank timj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dedicated to the Technology of Mexican Beer Making”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

This Museum is a recent [3 years?] addition to Toluca's museums, located a short 350 meters walk south of the Cosmovitral stained glass edifice, it is totally focused on the art and science of beer making from barley to bottle. Interactive exhibits in both Spanish and English. The rooftop terrace bar serves reasonable light meals and has a 40-choice beer list.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Vancouverite55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modelo Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 
Toluca, Estado de Mexico
Toluca, Estado de Mexico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing