We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop on a long road trip”
Review of Motel Spring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Spring
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chateau Richer
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect stop on a long road trip”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We happened to stop at Motel Spring on a trip to Bergeronnes. It was rainy and cold and the thought of setting up tent wasn't appealing. The staff was polite and welcoming. The room was clean and the bedding fresh. Yes, it's a bit of a step back in time, but certainly a warm and comfortable place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Don't stay here if you want an up market experience. It did feel like we we in a time warp and had stepped back into the 50's with its original furniture and basic amenities.But we (retired Aussies couple) really enjoyed or few days here during a USA and Canada trip of three months.It was clean, quiet and inexpensive. The delightful family who run it were super friendly and very helpful with day trip information. Outside of Quebec city, it was close to the Cote-de Beaupre area, Montmorency Falls and the stunningly beautiful Ile d'Orleans.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stopped in for breakfast on our way to go whale watching. She noted that we did not need to lleave form Mtadoussac, but could save time and leave from St. Catherine bay. She then called and switched our reservation for us! How awesome is that! That is customer service. Much better than the service at AML cruise lines. Monique, if you read this( and I bet you will because you care) check out my scathing review of AML. You should be customer service director for them!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishvt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Demers, Manager at Motel Spring, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Bonjour!
I would first like to thank you for the compliment! It is always a pleasure to hear that our clients are satisfied. As we are a family business of three generations we always treat our guests as if they were part of our family.
Secondly, I am surprised of your bad experience with AML. Usualy people are quite satisfied with that company. I will inquire to hear their reasoning behind all that.
Hope to see you again it was a pleasure meeting you and thank you for the time you took to write a comment.
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a hard review to write. I want to be positive since the family (3 generations) running the hotel really puts their heart into helping travellers. The thing is, the hotel, furniture, grounds, everything looks like it was put together on the cheap in 1950 and hasn't been improved since.

We were greeted by very friendly front desk staff for our 2 night stay, and advised of where to go and what to see with the kids and dog. The very large back yard was great to let the dog run, but was hardly landscaped beyond a rough lawn mowing.

Our room had grey wood panelling everywhere. The headboards were formica nailed to the wall. There were a bunch of chairs in the room, but no table. When we closed teh front door to our room the screens fell out of the front of the window. There was no hot water for the shower (a problem in the diverter, since there WAS hot water for a bath) Tiles in the tub were cracked, losing grout, etc. As a finisher, the noise from the highway that the property fronts on kept me up most of the night.

BUT... we had spares of everything - towels, sheets, pillows, about everything we would need for our stay. and the included breakfast (don't get the french toast - its wonder bread coated with egg) came with another rundown of siteseeing suggestions, super-friendly service, and bottomless coffee.

If this family had a better property they would be fantastic in the hospitality business, but at the end of the day, the hotel is holding back the owners here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CP0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Demers, Owner at Motel Spring, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Stranger,
I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience at our establisment but also very surprised that you decided to stay 2 nights anyway.You should have and told us directly on the first day and we would gladly upgraded your room to a renovated one, but instead you decided to let the whole world know your opinion only after your stay was finished.As you stated in your critique we try to give our customers a personal touch, that is why we gave you a room with easy access to a large field (in the back of the motel) where your dog could play and not to be worried about getting struck by traffic or beeing bothered by other customers or vice versa.
As for our landscaping, the front of our establismnent (wich is where we concentrate all our efforts) has a large grassy area with hundred of flowers contained in 1 rock garden and 1 wall flower box, 3 swings,4 picnic tables,an artificial lake measuring 2,500 square feets with a fountain and that is not including the 64 square feet of lawn in front of each room.We always thought this to be more than enough.
The formica is the finish of the hotel furnishing wich include a headboard,night stand and bureau.As for the table, all you had to do is come and see us at the front desk and we would have supplied you with one.That room has 6' long bureau, we always presumed it to be sufficient.For the hot water, that room has been rented many times before you and this is the first complaint we have received but thank you for letting us know.As for the tile and the grout, it will be repaired as soon as our busy season is over.Pertaining to the noise of the road, that unfortunatly is out of our hands but in our defense we are the motel situated furthest from the highway.We can only presume that since our rooms are clean,no pet fee, full hot breakfast,free parking, free internet,reasonably priced and courteous family atmosphere were the reasons you decided to stay with us for not one but two nights.Finally, i would like to remind you that our motel is a 2 star establishment with all amenities required for that status.
In conclusion to the remark made pertaining to the motel holding back the owners, we the Demers Family, are proud os our establismnent and the 60 years of hospitality to the public which we would like to thank for their loyal patronage and their great reviews and critiques with a few exceptions.You just can't please all the people all the time!
Sincerely
The Demers Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

No frills motel but for the low rate you definitely get your money's worth. The rooms are clean and comfortable, a full hearty breakfast + tea or coffee is included and the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The motel is located only about 15 to 20 min outside Quebec city, so if you have a vehicle this is not an issue. The area the motel is located is quite beautiful itself. If you have time take a whirl around Chateau Richer (there is a map provided upon your arrival). It's quite lovely.

Planned to only stay a night but were so impressed with the staff and amenities decided to stay a second!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracemacneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the way back home. The location is decent, it was kind of far from downtown Quebec City but the small town it is in is beautiful. The reception was beyond friendly. The lady actually convinced us to check out the waterfall down the street and gave us exact directions. We're so glad she told us about it, it was a high light of our long drive home.

The rooms were old fashioned and small but clean. Similar to others I have stayed in in this price range.

The breakfast is excellent. It is a *sit down* style breakfast, not a crappy selection of stale danishes like other free-breakfast places give you. You get a choice of a few meals, eggs, toast, bacon, etc, the basics. Made just for you.

A great, reasonably priced to stay if you're on your way through the city.

Every staff member I ran into was completely bilingual as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MK2371082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We only stayed here one night but will never forget this place. The location of course is very good and the breakfast is also beyond continental we expected. But the most impressive is the nice people here. The car we rent got some problem and couldn't start after we checked out and planed to leave. The owner Monic was very kind to interpret for us since the service staff from the garage didn't speak English. Besides this, Monic also helped us to call the rental company and tried her best to find the best way to figure it out for us. We might be unluky to rent a car in bad condition but we were definitely lucky to have Monic there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annazhww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateau Richer
4.0 mi away
Quality Suites Mont Sainte Anne
Quality Suites Mont Sainte Anne
#2 of 7 in Sainte Anne de Beaupre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
13.1 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#24 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
8.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Boischatel
Econo Lodge Boischatel
#1 of 1 in Boischatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#28 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
3.9 mi away
Motel des Berges
Motel des Berges
#1 of 7 in Sainte Anne de Beaupre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Spring

Property: Motel Spring
Address: 8520 Boulevard Ste Anne, Chateau Richer, Quebec G0A 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Chateau Richer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chateau Richer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Spring 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the same family since 3 generations. Guided Quebec City tour available from our motel. Bus tour for whale watching also. Free parking. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Spring Chateau Richer, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing