We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want Privacy & Intimacy? Forget it here!”
Review of Auberge Baker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Baker
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Baker Room: the most expensive. Worth it? Absolutely not! A tourist trap that's all.

Concrete hard mattress definitely not prone to intimacy but then again, even whispers can be heard in the shared middle room where all room doors connect to.

One window in the room gives directly unto the shared balcony-quite handy if you want to enter your room by the window instead of going through the shared living/dining-room where people play cards etc.
Room seemed large in picture but actually quite small. Very basic.
A rip-off as is the cost of the food handed in small amounts to keep you ordering more courses.

That was the last room we rented after a 2 week travel holiday and frankly was the worst of all.

Would never recommend even with the owner's promise that they are soon to buy new mattresses! Certainly didn't get a discount for being unable to sleep on the one there!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dixietrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 81 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2007

We stayed in the Cloutier Room at the Auberge Baker for two nights. The room was very spacious and quaintly furnished with antique furniture. The Auberge sits back from the main road and is fairly quiet. Within easy driving distance are the Chutes at Montmorency and the Cathedrale St. Anne de Beaupré as well as some nice hiking. Because there aren’t many restaurants in the area we ate both days in the hotel. The food was very good and the lunch menu was very reasonable, so we had planned to break one of our sightseeing days by doing lunch there, too. We were told that lunch was served until 5. We double checked again with the waitress that they would be doing lunch the next day and planned accordingly. We arrived back at the hotel at 3 looking forward to a nice meal. Well, the restaurant had closed at 2 and no lunch was being served. It was a Sunday and they only served brunch till 2. We were none too happy about this because there were very few places too eat nearby and quite frankly we were starving! We had to wait till dinner to get anything to eat and survived on peanuts and crackers till they started serving dinner. It really spoiled the day. We also had an issue trying to figure out how to get the shower in our room to work. We called down to reception and asked if they could send someone up. No-one ever came. The next morning we called again and even the person they sent couldn’t figure it out. Through trial and error we finally figured it out ourselves. All in all the hotel is very charming, the food is good, but we were disappointed with the service. The staff weren’t particularly friendly or knowledgeable, but it’s certainly the best hotel in the area, so we would probably stay there again. At least we’d know how to operate the shower this time!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginzingggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marie-Josée C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Karine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank François P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: cambre Baker, plus grande.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank voug1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GastonCloutier, Gérant at Auberge Baker, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateau Richer
6.4 mi away
Hebergement Mont-Sainte-Anne
1.3 mi away
Motel Spring
Motel Spring
#1 of 1 in Chateau Richer
64 reviews
1.9 mi away
Auberge du Sault-a-la-Puce
Auberge du Sault-a-la-Puce
#3 of 4 in Chateau Richer
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Clos des Brumes
Le Clos des Brumes
#1 of 2 in Chateau Richer
27 reviews
2.6 mi away
Auberge Le Petit Sejour
Auberge Le Petit Sejour
#2 of 4 in Chateau Richer
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Baker

Address: 8790 Avenue Royale, Chateau Richer, Quebec G0A 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Chateau Richer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chateau Richer
Price Range: $90 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Baker 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us take you to another era...This is the genuine Québec flavour! Enjoy the first floor of the famous Baker’s restaurant, well known for its fine Quebec cuisine with regional produce. This 176 years old home, offers five unique rooms uniquely decorated with authentic antique furnishing with a great attention to authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Baker Chateau Richer, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing