We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one sentence, one word: excellent!”
Review of The Lazy Duck

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nethy Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lazy Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2010

If you are looking forward spending time in this relaxing environment make sure to make reservations, otherwise there is a possibility that there is no pitch left and you will miss a splendid experience. That the campsite offers room for 4 tents is not a real downsite, it keeps it kind and exclusive. The site is beautifully situated in a pine forrest and the facilities are good with a bush shower as highlight. When it rains there is a cosy cooking shelter.
Too bad that the great support of the campsite owner did not help the Dutch soccerteam to bring home the worldcup.

The Dutch.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessejongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 165 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed at the Lazy Duck for one night, en route to the North. It was well worth the scenic trip off the A9 (though directions were lacking and signage couldn't been better).

The facilities were great - the shelter and indoor sink area were very welcome. We both LOVED the bush shower - the most refreshing.

The normal campsite is under refurbishment, but we loved being "in" the field with the sheep and chickens! Looking forward to coming back in 2011 to sample the new ground.

We deliberately chose this site because it was off the beaten track (a wee bit!) and sounded a wee bit wild (in the camping sense). We felt at home, in comfort, but close to nature.

Thanks again for a great wee break from the mainstream.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank e_halmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We are a family, comprising Grandparents, daughter, husband and three boys aged 11,9 &7 who were visiting from New Zealand, plus our son, his wife and two children 2 yrs and baby 8 months who were visiting from Australia. We rented both cottage and hostel for a three day stay but found the restrictions far too severe regarding getting together as a family under one roof during our stay. As a result, we left after only one night because of the constant invasion of privacy and pressure to adhere to rules and regulations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilamarywardlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazyduckhostel, Owner at The Lazy Duck, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2010

It is a rare and sad occurrence when a guest leaves the Lazy Duck Hostel or the cottage dissatisfied and unhappy. We as hostel owners have to hope that party leaders booking accommodation with us share fully with their party members just what written agreements they have entered into on their behalf.

A cottage designed to welcome five guests cannot and should not be expected to feed and entertain ten on a daily basis. While some flexibility is possible in the hostel with non registered guests arriving for an evening's hospitality we do ask guests to honour the agreements they have made to our simple code of conduct in order to meet all necessary safety arrangements and protect all our visitors.

When, as a result of poor visitor planning, young children who have travelled so far to reach us are left alone by themselves in the hostel and then denied the opportunity to enjoy helping with the sheep and waterfowl here as well as missing out on the swings and the hide and seek juniper forest next to us it is doubly sad for all.

The good news is that we so rarely have to explain ourselves in this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed at the Lazy Duck in March while on a tour round Scotland looking at the wildlife. The owners were accommodating and helpful, and the location is beautiful. Very close views of red squirrels and I loved the ducks.

The bunkhouse itself is lovely, with a wood-burning stove (lit for your arrival) and an outside terrace with a fireplace. Very peaceful and well-maintained. Well-equipped too.

The only thing I would say is that if you are staying in the top floor (under the eaves) you are pretty much right above the living space, with gaps on either side of you, so if other people are staying, as they were when we were there, and they want to socialise late into the night (fair enough) they will keep you awake. If you want to get up early you will be conscious of waking them up on your way back downstairs as you have to creep through their sleeping space to get out. Also the living space is small so you will end up a lot better acquainted! Much better if you are a large party to book it for yourselves alone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oriana17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed at lazy duck sept 09, nice location very tranquil but a few reservations the first and foremost the bush shower is totally unacceptable. great in middle of summer but not at the end of september and as there was no alternative shower for those who did not want a bush shower I thought this was very poor. We were camping there and not allowed to have the car at the side of the tent, the first campsite i have been on with this rule, when asked the reason why I was told it did the grass no good neither does putting a tent on grass!!. We had booked in for the night at the bunkhouse but quite frankly I thought it was a death trap, we were shown the upstairs accommodation and were not impressed it was cramped and you could not stand up, with a crude ladder up to it represented a fire hazard. You had to have a shave in the morning in the same sink as you washed the dishes not acceptable!!. You had to park the car in one place and carry all your stuff to the tent and the bunkhouse which is bind if you have a lot of equipment, all in all I did not think it was value for money and thought the camping fees generally in scotland expensive £20.50 being the dearest for a two man tent. The facilities at this campsite did not represent good value for money and the £13.00 over the top.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oddwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LazyDuckCampsite, owner at The Lazy Duck, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2009

Feedback on what we do at the Lazy Duck Hostel and Campsite is always welcome and we thank everyone for their contributions. For the avoidance of doubt though may we clarify the following:-

The bush shower for campers is provided with hot and cold water and is exactly as described on our website and literature. It is used successfully at Easter and from May to October, the months when campers are in residence.

The camp site is designed to take four lightweight tents in comfort on mown grass. Discrete car parking is provided mainly on hard standing ground within twenty five meters walking distance from the tents and allows campers to look on to ancient pine trees, bushes, heather and a grazing field rather than on to cars. In this way the grass is protected for future visitors and cars are relegated to their rightful place.

Flush toilet facilities are provided for campers in a room clearly marked 'toilet and hand wash basin' with a mirror provided for shaving. Dish washing with hot and cold water is at a separate sink in an adjacent room.

Visitors to the hostel are invited to unload their cars on the drive within twenty five meters of the hostel itself. They may then move their cars a further thirty meters to a discrete parking space,

The hostel meets all planning, building control and fire department regulations. It is issued with a gas safety certificate annually. Access to the upper floor sleeping gallery is by ship's ladder as described on the first page of our website. All statutory notices and more are provided to offer maximum safety to visitors.

The Lazy Duck Hostel is inspected annually and has maintained its 4 star grading from VisitScotland, the national tourism body. We encourage and promote elemental living experiences for young and old alike.

David, Valery & L. Duck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We really enjoyed staying at the Lazy Duck. We had been camping in Scotland for a week prior to arriving at this sunny spot and felt like we had checked into a 5 star hotel. It provided a wet weather cooking facility equipped with tables and chairs, toilet and washing facilities inside the house and a chimnea with cut off logs strategically placed around the fire providing a comfy pozzie to relax around and toast marshmellows. We were also delighted and charmed by the presence of red squirrels.

Our hosts made an effort to introduce all the campers which broke the ice and by day two we had made some excellent new friends. We were also able to purchase fresh farm eggs at a next to nothing price which were amazing!

All in all if you are a novice camper or an experienced camper wanting a bit of luxury at the end of a hard camping trip the Lazy Duck is 2nd to none!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_mad_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

With room for only 4 medium sized tents and a pitch reserved for walkers/cyclists, the Lazy Duck isn't a particularly large campsite. But its setting means it's one you won't forget.

The campsite is part of a homestead just outside Nethy Bridge and provides a tranquil setting with woods on 4 sides and a moor on the other. Due to the limited number of pitches, it's quiet and the hosts do everything to make you feel at home. Pet ducks roam the campsite during the day and there are red squirrels to be seen getting nuts from a feeder near the tents.

Overall, a really nice place to stay, a completely different pace of life.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dell of Abernethy Cottages
Dell of Abernethy Cottages
#2 of 6 in Nethy Bridge
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balciuin B&B
Balciuin B&B
#2 of 3 in Nethy Bridge
30 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Mountview Hotel
The Mountview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lazy Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Duck

Address: Tomintoul Road | At the village boundary, Nethy Bridge PH25 3ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Nethy Bridge
Price Range: $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 6 acre oasis in the Cairngorms National Park where nestle an 8 bed hut hostel, 2 off grid 2 person eco cabins and a 4 pitch lightweight camping ground. Waterfowl ponds, cultivated areas, sheep and hens are to be enjoyed with views straight to the mountains. There is nothing but moorland and forest in between. The Lazy Duck is close to mountain bike trails, skiing and snowboarding, climbing and plateau treks, rafting, kayaking, fishing, golfing and plenty of whisky distilleries. Landmark Forest Adventure Park, Highland Folk Museum, Highland Wildlife park and the leisure pool at the Aviemore Centre are all within easy reach and of top class quality for visitors. Small is beautiful at the Lazy Duck. We say 'Been Active? Come home to slow living' with our hot tub, sauna & resident yoga teacher. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lazy Duck Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing