We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special campsite run by special people.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nethy Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Duck Hut Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I saw the Lazy Duck listed in the Scottish edition of the Cool Camping guides and having been to other sites reviewed in the book but finding they were not always as great as the write up i wasn't exactly sure what to expect at the Lazy Duck. I almost feel i shouldn't write a review at all as it instantly struck me as the kind of place you want to keep a secret but the owners have a strict limit on the number of tent pitches so there is no risk of it becoming overcrowded. Here is my review - AMAZING!
Ok, thats probably not descriptive enough....will try again.
The Lazy Duck is the only campsite i have ever been to which provided a truly unique camping experience. If you were to list the things you need to have a campsite the list would extend to something like-Decent location, decent views, flat grassy field, toilet/shower block.
The Deans have gone much, much further. The Lazy Duck provides ducks alongside Hens and Goats (not for human consumption, purely for your viewing pleasure though you can buy eggs laid by the Hens). If you are not into animals then there are swings.
How about covered cooking, gathering area with tables, candles etc for campers when the rain is on. For when the rain is off there is a wood burning stove and log seating and they even provide plenty of wood though if you are good with a saw and an axe probably a good idea to chop some. For evenings by the fire it should be noted that i think a guitar and a large repertoire of folk songs be a requirement, beards are of course optional.
If none of this tickles then try the outdoor bush shower (I did this and it was great) or the sauna (I didn't try this but i think it must be great) or formation swimming in the lake with the ducks (I made this bit up...)
There is also a wee hostel i had a gander at and i plan to go there soon as it looks amazing but if i write any more then i think people will start to wonder if my surname is actually Dean, which it is not.
Go to the Lazy Duck. It's a unique campsite and I loved my time there, I'm sure you will too.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed at the Lazy duck Hostel for two nights in April 2011 with 5 other family members.

The hostel itself is wonderfully quirky with little windows by each bunk and a wood burning stove with plentiful supply of wood.

David & Valerie were very hospitable to show us the ropes and if we needed anything.

Combined with beautiful views of the cairngorms and a fantastic forest walk on the doorstep we had a lovely couple of nights here & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the lazy duck hostel.

The only provisio that I can think is worth mentioning is that the stairs to the upstairs bunks are pretty steep and the four bunks downstairs are pretty close together if you have any snorers in tow (we did).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shukerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Had a great couple of nights at the Lazy Duck. The sleeping arrangements were quirky as they reminded me of childhood ascents to treehouses. The log burning stove provided much needed heat for the rural Scotish setting; perfect for a family meal freshly cooked on the outside BBQ. In addition, David and Valerie were the friendliest hosts I've ever met. The eggs we were given from their hens made an excellent breakfast before a walk in the lovely Scotish highlands.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pajenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

I stayed at the Lazy Duck hostel for three nights with a group of friends. Two others were also booked in and we were a little wary of sharing such a small place with two strangers but we came away as good friends and we had a great time sharing the place with them. There's a chilled and laid back atmosphere about the place that you just don't find anywhere else. David and Valery were superb hosts, seeing to our every need (including Scrabble and custard - thanks very much!!). The wood burning stove is the focal point for the living room and it kept the place incredibly cosy despite the plummeting temperatures, snow and ice outside! All the facilities are excellent - the bathroom is warm and the power shower very welcome after a long day out in the mountains. The kitchen is excellently kitted out even for two separate groups cooking, though we ended up pooling resources and cooking together on the last night! The only drawback? The tea pot wasn't quite big enough for six at a time, but with the perpetually boiling kettle on the stove it was never a real problem!!
It is definitely a small place and if you're looking for a cosy romantic weekend for two, you might be wise to book the whole place out. For an alternative to a climbing hut or modern hostel, though, it's fantastic. I look forward to returning sometime very soon!
C-:
--
Caroline McCann, High Peak.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline_McC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Absolutely brilliant place to spend a couple of nights. Extremely quiet and laid back. Beautiful location with everything you could possibly need (cutlery, stove, bedding, warmth, etc!). The bush shower, log burner, sheltered outdoor BBQ and sauna are great additions to make this hostel a perfect retreat for a quiet break. David and Valery are great hosts, who made us feel extremely welcome. We had intended to spend 4 nights camping, but soon changed into the warmth of the hostel! David even lit the fire and put the kettle on whilst we were putting down the tent.
We really didn't want to leave, but have come away with hundreds of happy memories of this lovely little hostel.
If you're looking for a chilled out Cairngorm exploration base, then this is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReadyGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My fiance and I stayed at the Lazy Duck for the second time in as many years in October and as usual we left happy, contented and relaxed.

The Lazy Duck is ideal as a place to base yourself when in the Highlands for activities, or just as a relaxing getaway for a few days away from the complexities of life in the real world.

The bunkhouse is always clean and inviting, and as long as you adhere to the few simple rules set out when you arrive (i.e. clean up after yourself and be considerate to others) then it is an ideal place to relax after a busy day. There is a well equipped kitchen, an electric shower, sauna (you have to let them know in advance for this as it needs time to prepare), covered bbq area and lots and lots of ducks! The place is heated by a wood stove, which does it's job fantastically well in warming the bunkhouse as well as a place to warm yourself by if you're feeling a bit chilly. The grounds and surrounding countryside are beautiful and serene, the hostel itself is in a forest clearing, so is sheltered from the worst of the weather.

The management are very friendly and inviting, checking in on us daily and always available to answer any questions or even just for a chat. Their dog, Jango, is the most well behaved Spaniel I have ever met!

There are two sleeping quarters, 4 bunks downstairs and 4 beds in the rafters upstairs, where headroom is quite low but not uncomfortable. The only downside to the sleeping arrangements is that there is nowhere to have complete privacy, but if that's what you expect then maybe you should consider staying in a hotel?

Some of the negative reviews have got this place completely wrong, it's not a hotel or a B&B, it's a small hostel, and as such you're expected to give a little in order to get a return.

Just before we arrived, my fiance broke her knee, and David and Valery were very keen to ensure that her needs were accommodated, thankfully we didn't need to change any arrangements.

All in all, we love this place, and will return many many times in the future. We heartily recommend the Lazy Duck to anyone who likes a cosy, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fecky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Having never done the hostel thing and being more mature in age we did not know what to expect for our first stay in a hostel. But we needn't have worried. The Lazy Duck was perfect. With stunning views and a warm welcoming feel it had everything we needed for a relaxed cosy stay. From the woodburner in the communal kitchen/diner to the covered outside patio, where we had a glass or two of wine while warming ourselves by a large wood fire, the experince was one of being in a little country haven. With bunkbeds downstairs and two single and a double mattress upstairs the sleeping arrangments were different to what we are used to but we got a great nights sleep. The owners were very helpful and told us where everything was in the well equiped kitchen. and if we needed anything we just needed to give them a call. All in all a great place to just get away and relax. See you there !!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cav108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
4.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balciuin B&B
Balciuin B&B
#2 of 3 in Nethy Bridge
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dell of Abernethy Cottages
Dell of Abernethy Cottages
#2 of 6 in Nethy Bridge
55 reviews
0 mi away
The Mountview Hotel
The Mountview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Duck Hut Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Duck Hut Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground

Address: 300 metres off the Nethy Bridge to Tomintoul Road | At the village boundary, Nethy Bridge PH25 3ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Nethy Bridge
Price Range: $9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 6 acre oasis in the Cairngorms National Park where nestle an 8 bed hut hostel, 2 off grid 2 person eco cabins and a 4 pitch lightweight camping ground. Waterfowl ponds, cultivated areas, sheep and hens are to be enjoyed with views straight to the mountains. There is nothing but moorland and forest in between. The Lazy Duck is close to mountain bike trails, skiing and snowboarding, climbing and plateau treks, rafting, kayaking, fishing, golfing and plenty of whisky distilleries. Landmark Forest Adventure Park, Highland Folk Museum, Highland Wildlife park and the leisure pool at the Aviemore Centre are all within easy reach and of top class quality for visitors. Small is beautiful at the Lazy Duck. We say 'Been Active? Come home to slow living' with our hot tub, sauna & resident yoga teacher. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Duck Hut Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing