We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in this old but delightful hotel.”
Review of Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nethybridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great welcome at his hotel . The children and their dog were made most welcome and the adults appreciated the service and relaxed atmosphere. The staff being long term and local were there because they enjoyed their work and their relationship with the Manager appeared to be one of mutual respect..

We most certainly will return.

Room Tip: Excellent view from rooms at the front of the hotel. Room 24 was excellent for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancer111141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EwanMilne, General Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience with us in Nethybridge.
It is always nice to have such a positive review of not only your overall experience of the hotel but of the service you had received from our team. All of the staff are notified of any feedback we receive as this enables us to see how well we are performing and where we can improve.

I will look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 592 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just spent three days at Nethybridge on a golfing break. Three nights dinner bed and breakfast at a fabulous price. Food was excellent and staff very friendly. Yes there are some rooms which could do to be redecorated but I've stayed in other plush hotels and not enjoyed my stay so much!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Ian, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your golfing break with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, it is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights whilst attending a wedding nearby. I knew in advance that this was an old hotel but I didn't expect it to be stuck in the past! The reception areas are very tired and the bar is not somewhere you would want to spend time. Reception staff and bar staff left a lot to be desired, except I must say one young girl who was running about like a headless chicken doing her best. The breakfast was fine, but again the furniture and decor was quite awful. When the arm of one of the dining room chairs came off, the waiter just said "oh yes that happens all the time!". The bedroom was ok but the bathroom was hideous, with carpet flooring and the tiniest sink ever seen. Actually to get to the sink you had to walk sideways along the bath!!! But if I was to be disappointed by one thing more than anything else, it was the dust. The hotel is not clean enough and someone should be taking a proper look at the cleaning regime, the lift would be a good place to start! All in all a really disappointing stay and I certainly would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lassiesonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for posting your review and I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We are are beginning a period of bedroom and bathroom refurbishment, with some completed already, however this is no excuse for poor cleanliness and broken furniture that should either be repaired or thrown-out. Please accept my apologies for this and I can assure you it will be looked into. I do hope you will give the hotel another try in the future and you will see the positivety in the changes that we are currently putting in place. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

For the amount of money we paid for this accomadation we were not expecting a great deal, but the room was fabulous. It was spacious with a fourposter bed and a wonderful view of the garden. The meals were good the service very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Even our old dog was made very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlene_e_copeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your very postive review and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the room. The front-facing views of the gardens at this time of year really are lovely! We look forward to welcoming you, and your old dog, back very soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Like its sister hotel in Perth (The Salutation), the Nethybridge is rather dilapidated and run down. It doesn't appear to have had any badly needed updating done and would benefit from a face lift.

Our room was small and spartan and a long hike up three flights. (There was a lift but it was not one I'd have taken a ride in.)

The bar staff were friendly and efficient but the food was pretty mundane, as was the buffet breakfast. And the breakfast staff were neither friendly nor efficient.

This hotel was a big disappointment. Everyone loves atmosphere and history, and most people are willing to put up with some inconvenience to have the opportunity to soak up that history. But there is no excuse for letting a hotel get this run down.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for posting your review and I am genuinely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.

First off all I would like to say that the Nethybridge Hotel and the Salutation Hotel have between them had a six fgure sum spent on them in the last 12months and the vast majority of TripAdvisor reviews of the Salutation Hotel, Perth, tell a different story to yours. Far from being dilapidated and run down unfortunately with old buildings such as these and to our frustration, rennovations and repairs are never often seen by our guests and have to focus on 'boring' things such as roofs, new boilers, windows etc that tend to take up huge amounts of our budget. Face-lifts do come with a high price tag and have to begin with the basisc. We have cosmetically though started on the bedrooms now and these will be much more visable to the public.

The lift is inspected and maintained on a regular basis and I have to say that it is the most consistent performing lift in our group, despite being the oldest, and would put some modern engineering to shame!

I am sorry you did not find the hotel up to the standard you were looking for but please do visit us again in the future when I am confident you will see a lot of positive changes that have taken place.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. The hotel is set in an ideal position to explore the Cairngorms and excellent value for for money. However, this hotels greatest asset is the staff who made us feel very welcome.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MLW119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your recent kind review and especially for highlighting the staff at the hotel. We are glad you had a great stay and were made to feel welcome. Our Team do try hard and it is nice when that is recognised and appreciated. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

After reading some negative reviews for this hotel, we were not sure what to expect on our arrival.
The welcome we received was fantastic and very genuine.The hotel ouzes charm and whilst some of the communual areas could do with some updating,the rooms are clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast was plentifull with good quality ingredients. The staff at this hotel are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and are extremely pet friendly.
How anyone can give negative feedback about this hotel amazes me,
Cant wait to return,,, That you all very much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve112dpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we do try hard, within the certain restrictions that we have, to ensure that all guests leave with a smile on their face and happy memories. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
3.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,371 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
830 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethybridge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range: $80 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nethybridge Hotel hotel is a splendid Victorian building nestled in the Cairngorm Mountains. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, hairdryer, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel benefits from a lift to all floors. WiFi is free in all Public Areas as well as in Superior Room and all rooms when booking direct with the hotel. Guests arriving by car can take advantage of the free onsite car park. The beautiful gardens are the ideal place to relax in. The games room is available whatever the weather. The Abernethy Restaurant specialises in Scottish dishes using fresh produce. There is a selection of fine wines available to accompany each meal. The bar and lounge has a bar snack menu and a selection of Scottish whiskies. The nearby River Spey is filled with salmon making it a perfect location for angling enthusiasts. The Cairngorn Mountains are often snow covered making skiing possible. The Strathspey Steam Railway is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing