We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nethybridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly but tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Although the Nethy Bridge Hotel is in despaerate need of some TLC it makes up for this with its character and atmosphere. Robert and his team do a wonderful job of making you feel welcome, the open fires in the reception rooms are inviting and the location cannot be faulted.
We visited with friends, joining a big group for 3 nights over the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality. However there needs to be a much greater emphasis on the standard of cleanliness in the rooms and some of the fixtures and fittings are in need of some urgent attention, especially the hot water supply.
For breakfast there was plenty of choice and evening meals were of a good standard, everything hot and all served in a pleasant manner.
All in all the hotel fitted all our needs and at a budget but has the potential to be much improved with a little effort and financial investment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heatherandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    189
    90
    57
    48
See reviews for
109
222
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed as part of a large group first impression is of a tired building. On booking in there was a welcoming fire and the staff were friendly helpful and pleasant. On checking the room it was a bit tight for a twin but everything was clean and tidy not everything is perfect but its not the most expensive hotel in the world. We had 3 course meal each evening and found the food to be of good quality nothing particularly outstanding hot and tasty with a good selection. Between this and breakfast I found the bed to be comfortable and the room was warm. In the morning there was also a good selection of cereals fruit breads and cooked items.
Good hotel on a budget the manager Robert is a hoot and certainly adds to the character.

Room Tip: Front facing room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigAl1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had a wonderful Easter at Nethybridge. Food as always fantastic. Entertainment every evening. Met some really nice people of all ages who all mixed well.
Roaring fires in reception are and sitting room. Rooms lovely and warm and beds very comfortable.
A few changes since our last visit. Public toilets have been beautifully refurbished, as has The Revack suite.
Staff are fabulous. Mention must go to Kelly, Kay, Paul, Daniel and Javier as well as all the housekeeping staff who are just the most decent hardworking people we have ever come across.
How they keep a smile on their face when dealing with some hard to please customers is beyond me. They deserve a medal.

I have business in Inverness this coming week and rather stay at a hotel in Inverness I am staying at nethybridge and commuting to Inverness as I know I will be well looked after and feel safe.
Thank you again to Robert and the team for a wonderful Easter and we are booked for the Highland Games in August.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and treat yourself to a club room with a view of the beautiful Countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittenface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed in the hotel with our grand child in the family room and dog on the 1st floor for our Easter break, Ideal if a trifle small given that it was 2 rooms adjoined by a small arch.....probably more to do with us bringing everything except the kitchen sink. We used to come here on a regular basis many years ago (for the November tinsel and turkey promotions). 10 years on and nothing has changed with mein host Robert still in good voice welcoming the largely elderly clientele to the evening dinner. The large railway style hotel (although don't know if there was ever a station at nNethy Bridge) is ideal for touring the Cairngorms and Moray Firth but just as important for us, walking the dog in the various nearby forest walks. The room was clean (as usual), staff were friendly as usual, grub was excellent (as usual)....and the egg hunt fantastic as our grandson "found" about 20+ cream eggs in the nearby grounds...as usual the break was excellent value

Room Tip: only one small lift so choose a ground floor room if you're not very fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxxxxEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Welcoming fire burning in reception and very comfortable lounge.
Room very comfortable , clean and in keeping with hotel. Lovely en-suite.
Would not hesitate to return here.
Thank you Nethybridge !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely traditional hotel in quiet location. Comfortable rooms, in good decorative order. Staff are friendly and helpful. For food there is a restaurant or bar snacks (still proper meals just served in the bar). Food was excellent quality and served very quickly, you may want to ask them to slow down if you prefer a short break between courses. Would recommend and will stay again if in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the best bargain we have ever had. Hotel staff was excellent. Food plentiful and good.
We stayed 5 days and in March, weather was cold but hotel was warm and inviting.
Spent every day touring the area. would visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethybridge Hotel

Property: Nethybridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nethybridge Hotel hotel is a splendid Victorian building nestled in the Cairngorm Mountains. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, hairdryer, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel benefits from a lift to all floors. WiFi is free in all Public Areas as well as in Superior Room and all rooms when booking direct with the hotel. Guests arriving by car can take advantage of the free onsite car park. The beautiful gardens are the ideal place to relax in. The games room is available whatever the weather. The Abernethy Restaurant specialises in Scottish dishes using fresh produce. There is a selection of fine wines available to accompany each meal. The bar and lounge has a bar snack menu and a selection of Scottish whiskies. The nearby River Spey is filled with salmon making it a perfect location for angling enthusiasts. The Cairngorn Mountains are often snow covered making skiing possible. The Strathspey Steam Railway is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing