We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent digs yet again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nethy Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abernethy Bunkhouses
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent digs yet again!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The station is my idea of a great hostel: a rustic quality, basic amenities, triple bunks (which the kids love!), buckets of character and its proximity to some of the most scenic bits of the country . Richard and Patricia are brilliant hosts and he never fails to greet our group leaders (with usually 14-16 high school pupils in tow) with a dram.
Thanks again.
We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phatstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much! We always enjoy visits from our returning guests and it is great for us that you should take the time to write this review. Thanks - see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

As part of a training / social weekend we travelled to Nethy Bridge, with 72 members of our athletics club from Friday 10 to Sunday 12 May 2013.There were 62 children in the group aged between 9-15 years and a mixture of both boys and girls. We booked both Nethy House and and the Station House in light of our large numbers. From start to finish the experience was excellent and very easy. Patricia was always available to answer questions and post suggestions and solutions prior to the trip and as our numbers fluctuated due to additions/cancellations this was all handled in a relaxed and unfussy manner which certainly helped my stress levels. On arrival Richard and Patricia were always accessible and available whilst still allowing us the freedom to do our stuff unhindered.The kids loved the accommodation, everything from some of the quirky rooms to the three tier bunks, Both buildings were spotless and all in all the accommodation, the location and the excellent hosting skills of Patricia and Richard went a long way to ensuring that the weekend was an excellent success.Needless to say everyone has been asking when we are going back which perhaps sums it all up! I cant recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GARY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Wow, Gary B, thanks! I think you may have been wearing your rose-coloured specs - but then we try to make our service to our customers overcome any problems that such old buildings may throw up! It seems we managed it with your group and that gives us a huge boost.
As always, a receptive and communicative customer such as you will always get the best out of us and so I shall look forward to your return.
I was terrified about the 2 of us dealing with the huge number you brought with no staff to back us up - but with your help and organisation - it worked - so we should thank you, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Perfect.
A group of 15 Staggers on a trip to the highlands via Edinburgh.

We arrived at Nethy Station to Cairngorm Gold on tap. Cairngorm brewery were a pleasure to deal with and we ordered a keg of Stag too (Stag was my favourite - a really tasty beer)
We had stopped in on the Glenfiddich distillery prior to arrival for a free tour which was fantastic and left us well stocked with Whiskey (much to Richard's delight)

Richard was a perfect host and even gave our stag ('victim') a small firework display on the last night.Which was a complete surprise and very well received.

The station is basic but practical and functional with decent kitchen facilities and two large tables to gather around. four showers across gents and ladies and triple decker bunk beds (vertigo sufferers beware!) The rooms are laid out at one end of the station and there is even an outside log cabin (shed).

We took an 8 seater taxi on two trips into Grantown for a pre-booked meal at Sylhet. There was a slight delay for our table but the food was delicious and well received. The local butchers AG Mustard is definitely worth a visit too! We also phoned a local Chinese that put together a group meal for us that was incredibly well priced.

We spent a day at Lecht which was perfect for a large group of skiers and snow boarders of mixed abilities (and varying blood-alcohol levels). The button lifts are pretty harsh but the resort was perfect for us and thanks again to Richard for suggesting it.

Richard and Patricia were attentive and very helpful and their local knowledge and relationships with local businesses are testament to their personalities.

I would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hi
Thanks so much for taking the time to send a review.
We really do appreciate it as we know that after a trip you are all returning to busy lives.
The thing that really cheers us is that you got good service from the various businesses that you dealt with.

We shall look forward to seeing you back again - it doesn't have to be a stag weekend!
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Really well organised, the food was delicious, the people were lovely, quality treatment. I would definitely go back, and highly recommend it to anyone on a big weekend with their mates. TOP NOTCH NETHY

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are basic, simple and try to make no promises that we cannot keep to. Glad you liked the grub - there were a lot of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My best man arranged my stag do, including the accommodation. I was very pleasantly surprised. This was the perfect base for us. It is large, and when I say that, I mean massive. It had everything to keep a group of wild, immature guys entertained for the weekend. The pool table, sound system, bar with functioning optics, fusbal table, were brilliant. Large areas to play drinking games. Great kitchen area for cooking for large groups. The rooms were exactly what we needed, nothing fancy but clean and tidy. Richard was an absolute gentleman and a pleasure to meet. The champagne provided was a very nice touch and much appreciated. Even managed to get him to join our drinking games. All in all, this was the perfect base for a stag do or for any form of large group get together. Look after the cow, we managed to get it into the house which we were told was a first. Thanks again to Richard, a brilliant weekend forever remembered, albeit a little hazy!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Wow! Thanks for that. I am sure that there will be a number of people who are not surprised that you managed to 'force' Richard into joining in your drinking games! We love our stag parties and were amused by the cow being invited to join.

If anyone is reading this please remember that this description is of the House, and not the Station, which is equally popular but not so massive and doesn't have the same facilities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

As a group from work we've used the Abernethy Bunkhouse 4 times, given that our original intention was to explore all the different places of Scotland, the fact that we've ended up coming back (and have even booked again for next year) says an awful lot about both the place and the owners.
The two key discriminators for this place are its affordability, for a few quid more they will cook your group a good hearty meal and best of all it has its own bar (with beer pumps !), which you get to run yourself (they will order you in beer barrells). Not only that there is table footballl, darts and a pool table to keep everybody happy.
So for group, looking for good, cheap/value for money (bunkhouse type) accomodation with your own wee pub thrown in it is great fun.
The hosts, Richard and Patricia have been quite superb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickieDickie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Aw, thanks Trickie Dickie! If I knew who you were I would respond personally, but we are always grateful to people for taking time to put up a review.
I do like to point out that the bard, pool table etc. are in Abernethy Bunkhouses, Nethy House, the bigger one, but the food and beer pumps are available in both properties.
I shall look forward to welcoming you all back, and remember that you can reach so much of Scotland in a day - why go anywhere else? There is always plenty to explore in the Cairngorms National Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed in Nethy House with a group of 18- year-old students. They simply loved it - especially because of our great hosts Richard and Patricia. They turned this stay into an experience that none of us will forget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks Patricia. It is always easier to look after happy well led groups! We enjoyed it, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
0.1 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Fraoch Lodge
Fraoch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abernethy Bunkhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abernethy Bunkhouses

Property: Abernethy Bunkhouses
Address: Station Road, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abernethy Bunkhouses 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two bunkhouses in the Cairngorms National Park offering a budget alternative to renting a castle or lodge. Exclusive Use only but you will only pay for the beds that you fill (subject to a minimum!)You can book any length of time and it is perfect place for that family get-together, student trip, scout activity week, reunion weekend, stag or hen weekend. There are so many activities nearby – come and see for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abernethy Bunkhouses Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing